We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaumont Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Beaumont Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 Main Street, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Ouray
Shawnee, Kansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011 via mobile

Have stayed at the Beaumont several times and I am always impressed with the staff and rooms. If you are looking for a well kept, great bed, no children or teenagers, no loud tv's, no running in the halls or slamming of doors then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    24
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
127
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I went with family to the Beaumont and we stayed in the Skylight Suite. The front desk manager showed us several rooms to help us decide and that was quite helpful since all the rooms are very different. It is a lovely hotel with a lot of history, but still a bit overpriced for what you get. The breakfast in the morning is also nice, but not super fancy - cereal, yogurt, fruit, breads, etc. It is centrally located, but so is every hotel in Ouray! If you are willing to spend the money, it is a unique place to stay with a lot of personality. Also a parking place is provided.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to see your room options. The front desk is happy to provide this service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Our stay at the Beaumont Hotel was outstanding! The hotel has been restored and decorated to perfection, and every detail has been considered. The craftsmanship of the restoration is impeccable – all this while still affording all the modern conveniences. The Ballroom was beautifully decorated and the Grand Staircase is gorgeous. The views, from every window, were breathtaking. The staff was friendly and helpful and the chef is amazing! Don’t miss the tour of the hotel – our tour guide works the front desk and one of the best parts of the tour was his obvious love for the hotel. This hotel is one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed. What a great value for the price – we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

WOW!!! The beauty of this hotel is beyond words. Every floor, every room is a new adventure to experience. The wall coverings and intricate ceilings are stunning. My favorite was the ceiling in the VooDoo Lounge. Amazing! The owners and staff were outstanding hosts and the staff were extremely friendly and gracious; always willing to help out or to share a story about a particular room's history. The completeness and attention to detail that went into the hotel's restoration is mind boggling. Its like stepping into another era when you walk through the front doors.
The dinners and lunch were delicious. Their chef, Charlie, is truly an artist. And the wine selection was absolutely superb.
The beds, heaven to sleep in.
All in all, one of the most romantic 3 day getaways my fiance and I have ever had.

Room Tip: Call them direct. What could be better or easier?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barataria, La
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

This is a beautifully restored hotel. It makes you feel like you are in another time. I was there to attend a wedding and the staircase presents a beautiful setting for such an event. The ballroom was a great place to celebrate the newly weds and enjoy family and friends. The food was always excellent. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The service was excellent! My needs were met before I ever had to ask. Next time I hope to stay longer and bring my husband along as the surroundings of the city and mountains were awesome. I walked to many of the local shops and never felt like I was treated like a stranger. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

The customer service was excellent. The original room I had a reservation for had water damage in it and they upgraded me to a better room....no questions asked. Very comfortable and cozy. Enjoyed the history of the town and the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask them about the off season rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stayed at the Beaumont in late April. From the moment I entered the hotel I felt swept back in time. Painstaking effort has been put into keeping the hotel as authentic as possible, while still giving you all the modern convieniences. From check in to check out, the staff at the hotel were super nice and very attentive. From the fresh towels and spa robes everyday to the delicious breakfast each morning to the breath taking view out of any window you choose, you feel spoiled. The owners are really nice, and took us on a tour of the hotel, giving its history and a lot of interesting facts about the restoration of the hotel. We had a fantastic time and plan on going back soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beaumont Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont Hotel & Spa

Address: 505 Main Street, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beaumont Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1886 at the height of the “Gold Boom,” this lovely old hotel is still known as the 'Flagship of the San Juans." Graciously appointed with sumptuous amenities, the boutique hotel has welcomed such famous guests as U.S. Presidents Theodore Roosevelt and Herbert Hoover, King Leopold of Belgium, Chipeta (widow of Ute Chief Ouray), French actress Sarah Bernhardt, American actress Angie Dickenson and (most recently) media megastar, Oprah Winfrey. Recent restorations modernized the entire structure to meet the needs and cares of today's traveler while preserving the property's historical grandeur.The historic Beaumont Hotel & Spa is the only luxury hotel in Ouray, Colorado. The setting is unique, the experience unforgettable. Guests are treated to modern amenities, including wireless high-speed internet, and outstanding personalized service paired with timeless old world ambience. Elegant, authentic decor, exquisite antiques, and custom-made furnishings combined with on-site dining, shopping, a luxurious spa and concierge services make this award-winning boutique hotel a delightful destination.Twelve elegantly furnished luxury rooms and suites, each uniquely furnished and decorated with reproductions and restorations of original hotel antiques. The hotel provides an elevator and reserved (heated) off-street parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Beaumont Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaumont Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.