We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More aptly named "Victorian Motel"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ouray Victorian Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ouray Victorian Inn to your Saves list
Ouray Victorian Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Third Ave, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Ouray
Tuba City
1 review
“More aptly named "Victorian Motel"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

I found this place using an online search for pet friendly lodging. The reviews seemed positive online. When we drove up I derided myself for not being more discriminating when I was doing my online searching. It was a motel (which is obvious now that I look back on the photos). The room was dark, with old blankets and bed spread, and thin walls. Otherwise, it was fine for a motel. The only motivation I have to actually write a review was the egg incident. The breakfast is an inexpensive continental breakfast which we partook of more due to convenience rather than hunger. There was an egg cooking machine available, in which you could boil a raw egg. The hostess was clearly annoyed at having to give instructions again and again at how to correctly use this machine (obviously oblivious to the ridiculousness of customers having to cook their own eggs!- never experienced that before) But I did figure the machine out and cooked my own eggs, and since they were done 15 minutes later, I took them with me and ate them during our 8 mile hike--delicious! The next day I did this again, but left to do something in my room and returned and they were already done (oops). The hostess had the eggs and chastized me, telling me they provided only food for breakfast, not for lunch. Many thoughts ran through my mind like "I would have eaten them for breakfast if I did not have to wait for them to be cooked" or " Do you want to add 45 cents to my room charge?" but I said " Do you want me to put them back?" She said no, but wasn't sure that she made her point, so as I was walking out of the breakfast room, she yelled after me, "we only serve breakfast, not lunch!" Good thing she didn't find the five Eggos that I had stuffed in my pockets! (joke)
In short I will chose to find my pet friendly lodging (and eggs) in another place next time I come to Ouray.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVIJan, Owner at Ouray Victorian Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
We’re sorry this guest was unhappy with her stay, but we are a little confused. This is a motel and we think it is clear from the photos and the description on our web site that the Victorian Inn is most definitely a motel (and proud to be one) and not a bed & breakfast as this guest appeared to be expecting. We also are surprised by the comment on dark rooms as the rooms face south but we understand that everyone has a different perspective.

We serve a buffet continental breakfast as a convenience to our guests for consumption on our premises. As part of our free breakfast we offer do-it-yourself fresh eggs instead of premade scrambled eggs. The vast majority of our guests really enjoy having real hot eggs cooked as the way they like. We are sorry this guest felt inconvenienced at having to wait a few minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    78
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
94
136
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010 via mobile

The bathroom is CLEAN! Rooms are very nice. There's no AC, but who needs it when the evenings are so wonderfully cool. Hotel is right be the creek and it was wonderful to hear the water. Very soothing. We'll be back this way again and will definately stay here. Also, check out the San Juan Scenic Jeep Tour company - excellent tour over Bear Pass and Iomogene. Worth every penny!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Located near downtown, Ouray we were booked into a second floor room with beautiful mountain views. The room had two comfortable queen beds, a flat screen TV, desk and other amenities. The back window of the room faced a stream, so we could hear the soothing sounds of water running when we left the window open. The room was immaculate and the hotel is very well maintained. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and slept very well. In the morning we went down to the free breakfast room and had our choice of lots of different foods. I had hot tea, orange juice, oatmeal and two boiled eggs. My partner had cereal with milk, english muffins and an egg. It was a really nice breakfast spread. The Ouray Victorian Inn is an excellent value and a great place to stay. We will definitely come back! This old west style town is a lot of fun to visit; shop and dine in. The mountains surrounding the town make for a very scenic experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diboll
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Our stay at the Victorian Inn was great. The hotel was very nice and clean and a short walk to various points of interest including shopping and eating. We made this our base location and traveled to other area towns during the week. There is no a/c but it is not needed. We slept with the windows open every night and were quite comfortable. The pillows on the bed were better than my pillows at home. Most hotel pillows are flat but these were great. The owners and staff were very friendly and accomodating. We will definitely stay here again if we make another trip to Ouray. It's the best bang for your buck.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

The scenery, the quiet (Quiet Hours posted..... how quaint), no blaring big screen TV in breakfast room and who needs air conditioning when you have front and back windows all add up to a most wonderful experience.
Clean room and warmly welcomed. I'd suggest this hotel to anyone in a heart beat!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I have traveled around the world and have never stayed at a nicer place. Jan, the owner, is responsive to your needs and very friendly, she really made us feel at home. Highly recommended to other travelers.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We are previous hotel owners. We found the Victorian to be nice and clean. That is our first priority with any hotel. Beyond that, Jan, the owner, was at the desk when we arrived. She was very helpful and professional. We liked the fact that Roscoe, the hotel dog, was sleeping in a chair behind the desk. We have a dog who loved hotel guests too, so it is nice to see. Outside our room was a mountain stream that gave us a wonderful sound all night. It was cool outside, but we left the window open just to hear the stream. The two hot tubs are nice. There was another group of adults at one of the hot tubs and my family with two girls 7 & 10 were comfortable using the other and not having to be part of their group. Breakfast was a nice change from traditional hotel continental breakfast. The egg cooker things were great. You just take as many eggs as you want, put them in a cooker with some water and in a few minutes you had REAL cooked eggs and you could make them whatever hardness you wanted, very nice touch. Jan visited with us again in the morning and we shared some hotelier stories that were fun to hear and tell. Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ouray Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouray Victorian Inn

Address: 50 Third Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ouray
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ouray Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ouray Victorian Inn is a small family run hotel, where you will be welcomed as guests and treated like family. Our size and style lets us provide each guest with personal attention and the level of service that they desire. In the summer Jeepers, Hikers, Bikers, and Photographers choose the Victorian Inn for its central location and spectacular views. In the winter, Ice Climbers from all over the world call the Inn home because we are the closest hotel to the Ouray Ice Park. We invite you to join us for what ever reason draws you to beautiful Ouray, known as the Switzerland of America. Our lovely river side hotel offers clean, well-appointed rooms, family suites and meeting facilities, with spectacular views of southwest Colorado’s San Juan Mountains.While at the Victorian Inn hotel, enjoy a hot hotel breakfast each morning; relax in our comfortable chairs, soak in our outdoor spas while taking in our amazing views, and watch the children enjoy our play equipment. Let the sounds of the river lull you to sleep. The Ouray Victorian Inn has designated dog-friendly rooms and is 100% non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ouray Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ouray Victorian Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ouray Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.