We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place, edgy owner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ouray Victorian Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ouray Victorian Inn to your Saves list
Ouray Victorian Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Third Ave, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Ouray
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent place, edgy owner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Decent place in beautiful Ouray. Rooms are large although dated. Owner comes across edgy and sometimes rude Not sure it is intentional but something she should work on to attract repeat customers. Decent value for the money, near trails and downtown

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    78
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
94
136
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glencoe, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My family and I stayed at this lovely family owned Inn. Very comfortable and lovely setting. The breakfast was an added bonus and we enjoyed the hot tubs. It is an easy walk to town in order to enjoy a meal. I would recommend the Ouray Victorian Inn to anyone heading to Ouray!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on the first floor. Close to the hot tubs and breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My family and always stay at the Victorian Inn. With a family, I suggest reserving the Family Suite. The suites have a balcony with the sound of the river all night. As others have said, the towels are fluffy and the location is great. You can walk anywhere in Ouray from there. There are several trail heads within a short walking distance too. Parking has never been a problem either.

Room Tip: If you have a family, I suggest a "Family Suite". It is a divided room, with a private bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I just spent a week at the Ouray Vicorian Inn. It was perfectly delightful. The owners, Jan and Brian, are friendly, gracious and responsive. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well appointed. The bed was comfortable, the television and wifi completely up to date. If you're in the Ouray area you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We sat in the car looking at two motels opposite each other and primarily chose this one due to the lovely bright colours it was painted - white and blue. It just looked cheerful. We paid $82 plus tax in June for a room with 2 queen beds, it was spacious and nicely furnished, a cut above the usual hotel look. The bed was comfortable and new towels were lovely, free wifi in the room.

The free breakfast was held in a nice, bright breakfast room. A slight negative was that you had to cook your own eggs which looked a little complicated, no one bothered while we were there. Perhaps providing hard boiled eggs or scrambled eggs would be better.

The hotel is a 5-10 min walk into town where the restaurants are - the hotel is at the end of the town area, down a side street. It's about 15 mins walk from the hotel to Box Canyon Falls. We would stay there again if visiting the area.

Room Tip: We had a room on the upper floor which is away from the noise and fumes of the cars parked below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Came to Ouray just for the weekend and stayed here for two nights. I really only spent time at my room to sleep and while the room was large - the beds were only doubles. The air-conditioning was great, the towels were fluffy, and the location wasn't bad. The breakfast had plenty of options and the staff was helpful. However, if you're looking for somewhere where you can sleep well and where it's relaxing consider another place. The walls are paper thin, so if your neighbors above you are up late you'll hear every single thing they do!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second level - maybe that was my mistake as I could hear everything happening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We enjoyed our stay, it is clean and recently updated. The staff (Jan the owner) was very helpful and pleasant to work with and helps you set up tours, etc. The hotel is on the river which we enjoyed the sound but the view is a power plant. It is within walking distance to the restaurants, shops and "taverns". The views of the mountains are incredible!!

Room Tip: Has two hot tubs and playground. Breakfast had a good variety, fresh and tasty. They have many retu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ouray Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouray Victorian Inn

Address: 50 Third Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ouray
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ouray Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ouray Victorian Inn is a small family run hotel, where you will be welcomed as guests and treated like family. Our size and style lets us provide each guest with personal attention and the level of service that they desire. In the summer Jeepers, Hikers, Bikers, and Photographers choose the Victorian Inn for its central location and spectacular views. In the winter, Ice Climbers from all over the world call the Inn home because we are the closest hotel to the Ouray Ice Park. We invite you to join us for what ever reason draws you to beautiful Ouray, known as the Switzerland of America. Our lovely river side hotel offers clean, well-appointed rooms, family suites and meeting facilities, with spectacular views of southwest Colorado’s San Juan Mountains.While at the Victorian Inn hotel, enjoy a hot hotel breakfast each morning; relax in our comfortable chairs, soak in our outdoor spas while taking in our amazing views, and watch the children enjoy our play equipment. Let the sounds of the river lull you to sleep. The Ouray Victorian Inn has designated dog-friendly rooms and is 100% non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ouray Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ouray Victorian Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ouray Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.