We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spangler House B&B

Save Saved
You added Spangler House B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spangler House B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   520 2nd Street, PO Box 1498, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Ouray B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had planned to stay only one night in Ouray, but liked this B&B and the town so much that we decided to stay 2 nights. That gave us time to walk the circular trail in the hills around the town, and that proved to be a very interesting hike despite the fact that it was not all that well marked. The subsequent swim in the Ouray Hot Springs was delightful.
Our host Steven went out of his way to make our stay as rewarding as possible, and we loved his breakfasts. The open fridge with free water bottles and the like was a nice touch and very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    10
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
58
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I was at the Ouray Ice Fest and this was the last room available in town for the entire weekend without mixing up nights in different places. I normally don't stay in B&B much, but with most of the guests being skiers or also there for the Ice Fest it was easy to relate to the guests. Breakfast is normally at 8:30, but Steve will accommodate it to your schedule if you need to ski or climb so we had breakfast at 8 while I was there. That gave plenty of time to get the to the Ice Park for the start of activities there.

He was a creative cook, and I loved the breakfast. He worked around my food allergies. Very good. I had the Spangler Suite - the largest room in the house, with an additional sitting room with futon. That was handy for sitting with my laptop to use the free wireless while I wasn't at the Ice Park. The hot tub on the deck was fun to sit in while the snow fell. The kitchen is open and available with a fridge full of drinks and trays of snacks laid out. Parking is ample and right out the front door. Most of the businesses in town are two blocks away or less. Very easy foot access.

Minor things to keep in mind. The owners have a very small dog that seems to have the run of the place during the day. It's very clean and I didn't smell it at all, even when petting it. But some people with serious pet allergies might have issues.

Small children are generally not a good fit here, as the rooms are quite small and close and the walls are thin. If you want to bring children don't just book it at Expedia etc. Please call first.

Though I didn't use it, there's a gear closet in the basement to dry your ropes and skis etc. The house is a historic building, and there are lots of antiques. Don't just bring your wet boots and gear into the house to dry it. Please use the basement, which is locked up with the same key your room uses.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are really easy to get your gear into. If you're ice climbing or sk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have been meaning to visit Ouray all year and finally made it. We could not have chosen a better place to stay than at the Spangler House B&B. From the warm welcome at the front door by Steve our host, a comfortable and well appointed room, great travel tips in the area and a sumptuous breakfast (Steve is also a dab hand in the kitchen), and all at a very reasonable price. Heartily recommended.

Room Tip: We chose the cheaper smaller room and it was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just spent the night at Spangler B&B... My first thought from the outside was the location may be a little small, but looks are deceiving!!! Once Steve opened the front door, I was amazed by the spaciousness. Bottom line... I was extremely impressed!! Steve knew more about the local area than the visitor center, and the atmosphere and hospitality were amazing!!! I definitely plan on staying at Spangler B&B in the near future!! Thank you Steve and Jill!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

An excellent B&B run by very welcoming hosts. Delicious freshly prepared breakfasts and interesting converstation. Rooms very clean, comfortable and well preportioned especially the Oak Creek room which has spectacular mountain views from both windows.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We arrived at Spangler House and were greeted by Steve, the owner. He showed us around and made us feel very welcome. The home was excellent without any concern or problems. The Breakfast was very good as Steve made us Blueberry pancakes and sausage. We also had a nice serving of fruit and banana bread. Fresh organge juice and cranberry juice. There is a refrigerator which is filled with soft drinks and water. We stayed in a room with a queen bed which was very comfortable. We sat on the rear deck and enjoyed a glass of wine in a very quiet and peaceful setting.
The only fault with this B & B was that Jill (Steve's wife) never came out of her room until the next morning and didn't say more than "Hello" and then left. This seemed a little odd but the room, house, food and Steve were very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The B&B location is nice and it is an easy walk to town. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The hot tub our on the back deck is a great place to relax and unwind after a day of adventure in Ouray. Breakfast was good and the conversation around the table was pleasant. We didn't miss AC, because the nights were cool and comfortable with the windows open.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spangler House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spangler House B&B

Address: 520 2nd Street, PO Box 1498, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spangler House B&B 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet Bed and Breakfast located in the heart of Ouray, one block off of Main Street. We offer one suite with a king size bed, and five additional guest rooms with queen beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Spangler House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spangler House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.