We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hooray for Ouray.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spangler House B&B

Save Saved
You added Spangler House B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spangler House B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   520 2nd Street, PO Box 1498, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Ouray B&B and Inns
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hooray for Ouray.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have been meaning to visit Ouray all year and finally made it. We could not have chosen a better place to stay than at the Spangler House B&B. From the warm welcome at the front door by Steve our host, a comfortable and well appointed room, great travel tips in the area and a sumptuous breakfast (Steve is also a dab hand in the kitchen), and all at a very reasonable price. Heartily recommended.

Room Tip: We chose the cheaper smaller room and it was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    11
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
59
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just spent the night at Spangler B&B... My first thought from the outside was the location may be a little small, but looks are deceiving!!! Once Steve opened the front door, I was amazed by the spaciousness. Bottom line... I was extremely impressed!! Steve knew more about the local area than the visitor center, and the atmosphere and hospitality were amazing!!! I definitely plan on staying at Spangler B&B in the near future!! Thank you Steve and Jill!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

An excellent B&B run by very welcoming hosts. Delicious freshly prepared breakfasts and interesting converstation. Rooms very clean, comfortable and well preportioned especially the Oak Creek room which has spectacular mountain views from both windows.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We arrived at Spangler House and were greeted by Steve, the owner. He showed us around and made us feel very welcome. The home was excellent without any concern or problems. The Breakfast was very good as Steve made us Blueberry pancakes and sausage. We also had a nice serving of fruit and banana bread. Fresh organge juice and cranberry juice. There is a refrigerator which is filled with soft drinks and water. We stayed in a room with a queen bed which was very comfortable. We sat on the rear deck and enjoyed a glass of wine in a very quiet and peaceful setting.
The only fault with this B & B was that Jill (Steve's wife) never came out of her room until the next morning and didn't say more than "Hello" and then left. This seemed a little odd but the room, house, food and Steve were very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The B&B location is nice and it is an easy walk to town. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The hot tub our on the back deck is a great place to relax and unwind after a day of adventure in Ouray. Breakfast was good and the conversation around the table was pleasant. We didn't miss AC, because the nights were cool and comfortable with the windows open.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I had a great day stay here. It was short, unfortunately, but wonderfully relaxing and comfortable. The house was very well kept and clean and we slept very well in our comfortable bed and quiet room. We could walk to everything: hikes, shops and restaurants, which was wespecially nice after a very long day of driving to get there! Breakfast was delicious... Everything was quite perfect, really, and we hope to come back soon!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Wonderful way to celebrate our 30th anniversary in this charming bed & breakfast. Pleasant town and friendly people. Awesome & relaxing hot tub and wonderfully delicious breakfast. Absolutely would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spangler House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spangler House B&B

Address: 520 2nd Street, PO Box 1498, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spangler House B&B 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet Bed and Breakfast located in the heart of Ouray, one block off of Main Street. We offer one suite with a king size bed, and five additional guest rooms with queen beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Spangler House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spangler House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.