We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room and breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spangler House B&B

Save Saved
You added Spangler House B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spangler House B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   520 2nd Street, PO Box 1498, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Ouray B&B and Inns
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent room and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We arrived at Spangler House and were greeted by Steve, the owner. He showed us around and made us feel very welcome. The home was excellent without any concern or problems. The Breakfast was very good as Steve made us Blueberry pancakes and sausage. We also had a nice serving of fruit and banana bread. Fresh organge juice and cranberry juice. There is a refrigerator which is filled with soft drinks and water. We stayed in a room with a queen bed which was very comfortable. We sat on the rear deck and enjoyed a glass of wine in a very quiet and peaceful setting.
The only fault with this B & B was that Jill (Steve's wife) never came out of her room until the next morning and didn't say more than "Hello" and then left. This seemed a little odd but the room, house, food and Steve were very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    11
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
58
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Texas
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The B&B location is nice and it is an easy walk to town. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The hot tub our on the back deck is a great place to relax and unwind after a day of adventure in Ouray. Breakfast was good and the conversation around the table was pleasant. We didn't miss AC, because the nights were cool and comfortable with the windows open.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I had a great day stay here. It was short, unfortunately, but wonderfully relaxing and comfortable. The house was very well kept and clean and we slept very well in our comfortable bed and quiet room. We could walk to everything: hikes, shops and restaurants, which was wespecially nice after a very long day of driving to get there! Breakfast was delicious... Everything was quite perfect, really, and we hope to come back soon!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Wonderful way to celebrate our 30th anniversary in this charming bed & breakfast. Pleasant town and friendly people. Awesome & relaxing hot tub and wonderfully delicious breakfast. Absolutely would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and 12 year old son and I visited Ouray for the Fourth of July holiday. We had never stayed at a B&B as a family before and I was not sure how it would work out - needless to say it was an excellent holiday!
The hosts do an excellent job, the breakfasts were awesome and the place is SPOTLESS. I was really impressed with how nicely they kept everything. We felt welcome and very comfortable there. We stayed in the Dr Spangler suite which was perfect for our small family and our son was very happy too.
Ouray is a magical place. The Spangler House is a perfect spot for a relaxing holiday. I cannot say enough nice things about it and highly recommend it for couples or adults or families with tweens to young adult children (probably not the best for tiny kids but then again you know best how your family travels and can discuss this with the hosts). I hope we get to go back again someday because Ouray is amazing!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We recently stayed at the Spangler House B & b in Ouray and found our experience to be delightful. The large home was immaculately clean and the particular room we stayed in--Angel was bright and cheery with every amenity we could want. Our hosts were respectful of our time & space and yet when we engaged in conversation it was delightful. The morning breakfast by Steve is outstanding. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed one night at Spangler House and one night at China Clipper across the street due to availability. Would repeat at either. Both had great breakfast, friendly hosts and convenient location. The room at Spangler was a bit larger and a better view of the mountains. The China Clipper was more elaborately furnished.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spangler House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spangler House B&B

Address: 520 2nd Street, PO Box 1498, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spangler House B&B 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet Bed and Breakfast located in the heart of Ouray, one block off of Main Street. We offer one suite with a king size bed, and five additional guest rooms with queen beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Spangler House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spangler House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.