We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B in beautiful town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spangler House B&B

Save Saved
You added Spangler House B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spangler House B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   520 2nd Street, PO Box 1498, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Ouray B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B in beautiful town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I had a great day stay here. It was short, unfortunately, but wonderfully relaxing and comfortable. The house was very well kept and clean and we slept very well in our comfortable bed and quiet room. We could walk to everything: hikes, shops and restaurants, which was wespecially nice after a very long day of driving to get there! Breakfast was delicious... Everything was quite perfect, really, and we hope to come back soon!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    11
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
62
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Wonderful way to celebrate our 30th anniversary in this charming bed & breakfast. Pleasant town and friendly people. Awesome & relaxing hot tub and wonderfully delicious breakfast. Absolutely would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and 12 year old son and I visited Ouray for the Fourth of July holiday. We had never stayed at a B&B as a family before and I was not sure how it would work out - needless to say it was an excellent holiday!
The hosts do an excellent job, the breakfasts were awesome and the place is SPOTLESS. I was really impressed with how nicely they kept everything. We felt welcome and very comfortable there. We stayed in the Dr Spangler suite which was perfect for our small family and our son was very happy too.
Ouray is a magical place. The Spangler House is a perfect spot for a relaxing holiday. I cannot say enough nice things about it and highly recommend it for couples or adults or families with tweens to young adult children (probably not the best for tiny kids but then again you know best how your family travels and can discuss this with the hosts). I hope we get to go back again someday because Ouray is amazing!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We recently stayed at the Spangler House B & b in Ouray and found our experience to be delightful. The large home was immaculately clean and the particular room we stayed in--Angel was bright and cheery with every amenity we could want. Our hosts were respectful of our time & space and yet when we engaged in conversation it was delightful. The morning breakfast by Steve is outstanding. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed one night at Spangler House and one night at China Clipper across the street due to availability. Would repeat at either. Both had great breakfast, friendly hosts and convenient location. The room at Spangler was a bit larger and a better view of the mountains. The China Clipper was more elaborately furnished.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I absolutely loved Spangler House. The couple that runs it are the perfect B&B family. They stay out of your way but at the same time offer to assist you in any way they can. The B&B was very generously accommodated with tons of free snacks and drinks available, a hot tub for use and a nice, cozy common area. And the moment we had some plumbing problems in our room, the owners quickly came and saved the day for us.

The location is great, right in the heart of Ouray. The breakfast was filling and delicious. Really one of the best B&Bs I've ever encountered. Perfect for a couple's getaway.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerton, Arkansas
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Spangler House makes you feel like you are in your own home. It's on a quieter street within walking distance from downtown Ouray- with views of the mountains and close to the creek and a great location for exploring the area. They offer snacks, water and soft drinks, in-room coffee/tea throughout your stay. The delicious homemade breakfast in the morning was exceptional. We had a wonderful time exploring Ouray, enjoying a night-time visit to the hot tub, and wonderful breezes while we slept.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spangler House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spangler House B&B

Address: 520 2nd Street, PO Box 1498, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spangler House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet Bed and Breakfast located in the heart of Ouray, one block off of Main Street. We offer one suite with a king size bed, and five additional guest rooms with queen beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Spangler House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spangler House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.