We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great front desk help, quiet room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matterhorn Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Matterhorn Motel to your Saves list
Matterhorn Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Sixth Ave, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Ouray
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great front desk help, quiet room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Great front desk help, quiet room. The fan in the room helped to move the air around. Lots of parking, no problems. We enjoyed staying here for one night. The town was full of people for a jeep rally. When we went to the visitor information center, they told us that almost everything in town was full but they called The Matterhorn Motel and there were a couple of rooms still available. We were able to look at them and decided that they would do, nothing fancy but nice and clean. We were especially surprised at how quiet it was during the night since the whole town was full. We would definitely stay here again. For a modest price motel, the stay was fine.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    11
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
21
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Co
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I saw the room and left. It was probably built in the early 1900's but the outside looks okay.
Really nice lady at the front desk.
But when I looked in the room, there was no vent fan or anything. If you want to have any air in the room, you have to open the front window and the curtains and sit there waiting to cool off.
Don't let anyone kid you, it gets warm in Ouray in the summer. All they had was a small fan on the table. It was hot when we walked in.

The room is small, old looking, depressing.
The mattress was hard, thin and very cheap. Not comfortable to lay on at all.

We decided to spend another $30 and stay in the Comfort Inn where they have air conditioning, a nice comfortable bed and a much nicer room in general.
Sorry to have to say this about this hotel, but we just could not bring ourselves to stay here. Would have dampened the vacation to an otherwise beautiful town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick D, Public Relations Manager at Matterhorn Motel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi! I'm sorry you had a negative experience with the Matterhorn in the past, but I have great news! Since January of this year, the motel has gone under new ownership and has been completely redone on the inside! The rooms are now completely modernized, offering air conditioning, pillow-top mattresses, flat screen TVs, and a variety of other great things! Hopefully you'd be wiling to reconsider staying with us in the future, and you can experience all of the great new things the Matterhorn can now provide you with in the beautiful town of Ouray!

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Hi, don't know what happened in '09 but this summer this place was great. We were camping and got rained out (two nights of heavy rain was all my tent could take). We tried a number of hotels and being unwilling to spend $200+ for one night, ended up here. The people were great. They clearly live there. The rooms were very clean and nice and my OCD germ fearing husband was even happy. The location was good -- right down town. The next morning I went to dry out our camping stuff and so we were kind of late getting out of the room. The owner was very nice -- no rush she said. So we got out about an hour late. The cleaning ladies were also sweet about it. I offered to let them start on the room and we would wait in the car but no, that was not a problem. No rush. We had coffee in the room and a fridge (for all our camping food). The Ice was free for our cooler. Lovely location -- no musicians here for our trip although lots of motorcycles. Everyone was nice and we will go back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Pros:
The woman at the counter was polite, professional and helpful. The view is amazing. The place was very clean and the price was affordable for those traveling on the cheap.
Cons:
This place needs to be renovated. The beds and furniture are '70's vintage. There is no air conditioning in the rooms and the lack of ventilation is stifling on a hot summer night. There are no power outlets on most of the walls to plug in the inadequate 8" fan supplied in every room as sort of an afterthought. Guests are not allowed to use the pool after 9PM. There was no wifi. The old beat down TV's got three or four channels, none of them movie channels. There was a huge hump in the middle of the mattress and we seriously discussed sleeping on the floor after hours of tossing & turning, but opted just to pack our things and leave.

This is my first truly negative review on TripAdvisor, and I realize that the Matterhorn is a small business probably just trying to get by. However, my stay there was terrible and will likely be repeated over and over by other unsuspecting guests unless the management takes the negative feedback to heart and makes some changes.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick D, Public Relations Manager at Matterhorn Motel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi, I represent the Matterhorn Motel and I am sorry to see that you had a negative experience when you stayed at this establishment. I am glad to inform you that the Motel has recently changed ownership this January and has been completely redone on the inside since then! The beds we offer are now luxurious pillow-top mattresses (and our guests tell us that they are spectacular), there is now air conditioning in every room, large flat screen TVs in every room (with more than three channels), and free high speed wifi. We even now offer a free breakfast to every adult staying with us. Hopefully you'll reconsider staying with us next time you are in Ouray and can experience all of the comfort and luxury our rooms are now packed with!

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

After reading the reviews posted on Tripadvisor I decided to book a room at the Matterhorn which referenced new management and a good place to stay. The manager was very helpful for me but the motel itself was a cause for concern for me. First, missing window screens meant anyone could just step through my window. Second, the bannister on the outside of the stairs going to the second floor was extremely wobbly and the stairs and landing themselves seemed to bow when I stepped on them, maybe due to having carpet outside that gets wet and perhaps rotted the wood stairs. Third, the smoke dectector had no indication of a battery. Beyond the safety issues the old bed was super creaky every time I moved and as soon as I laid on it the fitted, bottom sheets kept comming off leaving me laying on a plastic undersheet. The room had been heavily sprayed with some sort of air freshener which I didn't find the least bit fresh. A super noisy fan was provided. There was no shampoo, nor hair dryer, a poorly working television and I felt like I had seriously overpaid to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

there were 19 of us traveling on motorcycles, we had 12 rooms for 2 nights. Everyone loved the place it was clean and a great location. basic motel for a good price. the best part was the staff. we have traveled together every year for the past 10 years and stay in many different hotels. It dont get no better as far as the staff goes, it was hard to leave as they all felt like friends after 2 days. they were so good to us that we decided to strip all the beds and bring the linen to there laundry area before we left. They were very grateful. This is 1st time we have ever done this. It was just something we wanted to do being they were so good to us. If you are in Ouray stay here

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

After reading the poor reviews, I was hesitant to stay here but only had a few choices. I was very happy with the motel and the service. The area is gorgeous and the room was clean and comfy overall (we were glad that we had our own pillows though, since theirs were quite hard). The pool was cold but the small spa was nice... we met nice people there who gave us some good tips on the area. The hotel staff seemed helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Matterhorn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Motel

Address: 201 Sixth Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#6 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Matterhorn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious motel set in the middle of the San Juan Mountains in the town of Ouray. We provide the most modern and comfortable rooms in the city of Ouray. Come and experience a sense of tranquility among beautiful scenes of nature in the cozy lodgings we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Matterhorn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Ouray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matterhorn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.