We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and very clean........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ouray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins
Save
You added Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins to your Saves list
1804 N Main, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Ouray
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay and very clean........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I am still in the middle of the reservation. Staying in cabin #1 for $50.00 a night. I have read some of the reviews and what do people expect for $50.00 in Ouray the Switzerland of America? The cabins have heat and electricity you can't bet the price. The shower and bathroom facility are immaculate, not a simple task with the turn over. You can walk to town (one mile) on the level path. The owners are friendly and business like just what you would expect. In the area for colors,fishing and hiking. You can see in the photo a huge brown trout caught on the Uncompahgre in Ridgway State Park on a 4x fly rod. I am a happy camper....

Room Tip: Cabin #1 or #8, but not guranteed until arrival. Treat them like you would want to be treated and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    20
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
27
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Looking for reasonably priced accommodations in the Ouray/Telluride area (which can be a challenge), we booked a Camping Cabin at Ouray Riverside Inn for $64 per night, plus $5 extra per night for our dog. From the property's website, it looked like the cabins were tucked beneath trees in a quiet setting along the Uncompaghre River. Photo angles can be deceiving! While our cabin did back to the river, its front porch faced the parking lot, as did most of the rest of the cabins that were packed tightly together facing the asphalt with cars and trucks moving in and out. I don't know why the cabins aren't positioned (with the exception of the large Black Bear Cabin) to face the river, rather than the parking lot and noise of the main highway just yards beyond.

The owners were friendly, the bathhouse clean, the cabin mattresses relatively comfortable and the heater was welcome on cold September nights, but we were glad we did not pay any more for these very basic accommodations. We had hoped at least for a woodsy setting, more of a 'camping' feel, but it was much more 'roadside motel.' That said, there is a nice 2-mile loop path along the river which is appealing if you are traveling with a dog. And if you are on a budget and don't want to mess with a tent, cookstove, etc., a simple cabin like this may be your best option in this high-priced area (though the surroundings are themselves worth every penny!)

Room Tip: If you are staying in a camping cabin, be sure to request one that backs to the river - they do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Their Jeeps are very well equiped, much better than any of the other rentals that we saw. They have lift kits, gnarly 33" tires and Detroit lockers in the rear all of which perfomed fantasticly on the trails. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which was very nice and great value. We made use of the hot tub, grill and fire pit. Very cool. The staff was very kind, helpful and knowledgeable about the area and everything there is to do and see. Special thanks to Angela!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We enjoy staying in the Imogene Cabin. Next to the river. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I had a family emergency (mother in car accident) come up so I tried to cancel the reservation. Their policy is to charge you for all the days EVEN IF THEY REBOOK the cabin. I talked with the desk person about this at length. Yes, even if they rebook the cabin they charge you. Think twice about making a reservation and giving them your credit card number.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Very nice, affordable, clean rooms. The 2 bedroom we stayed in was spacious and well equiped. The staff were very friendly, knowledgeable about the area, and willing to help make our time there a great one. The hot tub - firepit - grill area were all a nice touch.
Add all this to the ability to rent your Jeep right there on the property and you got a place worth coming back to again and again. Thanks Steve (Angela)!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed on the second floor at the lodge and had a nice clean room with a kitchen. Loved the hot tub and BBQ set up out back and the walking trail by the river. The jeeps that they rent there are awesome, not your standard jeep. The owners were very accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins

Address: 1804 N Main, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Ouray Riverside Inn And Cabins Hotel Ouray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.