We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next time we're in Ouray, we will want to stay at Secret Garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ouray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Secret Garden
Save
You added Secret Garden to your Saves list
101 6 Ave., PO Box 862, Ouray, CO 81427-0862   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Ouray B&B and Inns
1 review
“Next time we're in Ouray, we will want to stay at Secret Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Secret Garden while on a hiking trip in the Ouray area during September. Best of all was Sara who was wonderfully hospitable and flexible with us. We felt as if we were with family. The accomodations were comfortable. The location was convenient. The area is beyond description; beautiful and spectacular are a couple of words that come to mind. It is a hiker's paradise. This is the place we will want to stay on any future trips to the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    6
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
45
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

Plan to include a stay at Secret Garden when you're visiting the western slope. The intimate, beautifully-appointed inn is easy to locate on a quiet side street in Ouray. Park your car and walk to shops and restaurants. Sara Sharpe, the owner, is most gracious and is also a fabulous cook!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

This is a very comfortable bed and breakfast nestled in the beautiful town of Ouray. The white picket fence and arched trellis are almost as welcoming as the hostess. The breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

From the moment you walk thru the arbor gate and into the garden to the front door, you feel at home at Sara's B&B. The location is very private and quiet, yet only a block off Ouray's main street. It is very convenient to walk to restaurants and shopping or even to sights like Cascade Falls in town. Sara goes to great lengths to make you feel comfortable and at ease. She provides a wealth of knowledge of the area and is a charming host. The rooms are comfortable and airy with a Victorian charm. Sara's breakfasts are a gourmet delight. Each morning she provided a great new and generous entree for breakfast. We stayed 3 nights and felt we had made a great new friendship by the time we left. Can't wait to visit our 'friend' Sara again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neidetcher
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

I was married at The Secret Garden 3 years ago. Living in Denver, I really needed someone who was familiar with the area and familiar with weddings. Sara was wonderful very attentive, flexible, and had a lot of knowledge about Ouray. Everything was beautiful.
My family stayed at the Secret Garden on a recent trip through Ouray. Sara easily and graciously accommodated some additional family members who did not have a reservation. The grounds are beautiful, perfect for photographs. Sara is a lovely hostess and wonderful to talk with. Breakfast was delicious. I would highly recommend the Secret Garden for as a wedding location or for a weekend get away.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

Sara is a grecious and friendly host and serves a gourmet breakfast. Her rooms are clean and beds are very comfortable. It was a wonderful place to make 'home base' while we explore beautiful Ouray or just sat in the garden and relaxed. We were within walking distance of all the 4th of july celebrations, but rooms were quiet. We will be bringing more family soon and hope to also treat our small staff for a retreat this winter.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

We live 2 hours from this beautiful town of Ouray and went there for a relaxing retreat. We so enjoyed finding this B& B. It is tucked away with a beautiful garden. Walking distance to downtown, the hot spings hotel and quiet walks by a river. We had a lovely breakfast as the owner is a long time cheif. The rooms were clean, sunny and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden

Address: 101 6 Ave., PO Box 862, Ouray, CO 81427-0862
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sounds of songbirds and gurgling brooks greet you in the morning at Secret Garden, even though we are only two blocks from charming Main Street. Enjoy your custom breakfast, prepared by an experienced caterer, in your room, the dining room, or in our lushly-planted gardens. Relax in our hot tub under the stars. Reserve our entire property for your wedding, reunion, corporate meeting, or any other special event. Sorry, no pets. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.