We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Forest Restaurant

Black Forest Restaurant
24 Big Springs Drive, Nederland, CO 80466
303-279-2333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 21 Restaurants in Nederland
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Bossier City, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food and great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited Black Forest Inn while on vacation. Like a reviewer said, it was very old school but that is what I loved about it. We had just got back from hiking at the Rocky Mountain National Park but felt welcomed. Our waiters made sure we had a great visit. They even made up a child's plate for my five year old of the foods she liked. Everyone enjoyed their food at dinner and the desserts were great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    17
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great German food in a Small Colorado Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Wow! You are missing out if you don't go to this restaurant! The food was authentic, the beer good and the atmosphere perfect. The owners serve you in this family run restaurant. This is a perfect place for a wedding or other event. The town of Nederland is so cute too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Very Old School, But Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very old school, stuffy and dated. Traditional German fare, a bit heavy as compared to recent trends toward lighter, fresh, and local (nothing trendy at all about this place). But the food and service was excellent, and their German Apple Strudel dessert is to die for.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Charming German restaurant in the mountains.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

The food was a little pricey. For two adults and two kids, it was over $100 with tip. However, the service was exceptional. The waiters went above and beyond to ensure our kids had something they liked. The bratwurst was delicious. Also loved the potato pancakes with homemade applesauce. For desert, the brandy ice cream is wonderful!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Great Food & Great Services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I made a day trip to Nederland and had lunch at the Black Forest Restaurant. First of all, Nederland was a beautiful & peaceful small town, about 1 hr drive from Denver Metro area, and the Black Forest Restaurant was the best dining place to enjoy the nice mountain resort ambience. When we went to another German restaurant in Arvada, someone recommended us this Black Forest Restaurant is the best German restaurant, so we tried. The dining room for lunch was bright, spacious , and even for lunch, the food & coffee were served in nice dinnerware. The owner, Bill was born in Germany, so, we expected the food must be authentic German food. The lunch was around $12, well prepared, generous serving, great value, and great service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Forest Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Black Forest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Forest Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.