We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, perfect location, nice people.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Forest Restaurant

Black Forest Restaurant
24 Big Springs Drive, Nederland, CO 80466
303-279-2333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Nederland
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
King City, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great food, perfect location, nice people.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have actually driven to Nederland from our home over a 3 day weekend to eat at the Black Forest Restaurant. It's a trip of about 675 miles and well worth it. We've followed the restaurant from Black Hawk, CO to Nederland. Their specialty is wild game and fowl. Snow goose, pheasant, and duck are available, but they have the best Elk Filet I have ever had. My fiancee says their Sauerbraten is exceptional, her favorite. Great Schnitzels, steaks, and chops are also wonderful fare. The service is a little slow, but forgivable when you look out the expansive windows at the scenery. Perfect.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    21
    14
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service is Oh So SLOW”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Do not be in a rush when you come here. The service was painfully slow. The food was nothing special about the food -I had the Weiner schnitzel best part was the potatoes, my husband had the goulash the noodles where the best part. I left hungry and disapointed. Only redeeming feature was that room was bright and the water fall relaxing. Lots of other nicer restaurants close by.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Top Contributor
467 reviews 467 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service, dated decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

When I first entered this place, I thought: dear God, this looks like my great aunt's house -- well kept and neat, but completely outdated. However... Our server was fantastic - so professional, friendly and warm! The food? Excellent! Fork-tender sauerbraten, delicious sides, scrumptious deserts. My biggest complaint besides the 30 year old decor is the pricing. Both meals and wine carry a steep price tag relative to value.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere and good food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stopped in for a bite to eat while on a mountain ride, and had a mixed American and German lunch. Reuben sandwich was good as well as the Fresh Fish Catch of the Day, which is sautéed. Chicken salad and BLT were OK. The apple strudle with vanilla ice cream was excellent! The waiter was charming and helpful. The atmosphere is really relaxing with the waterfall and live plants among interesting tables and decor. Nice afternoon break.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stopped in around 1:30 pm for a late lunch. After initial uncertainty that any of the staff had even noticed we were there (the sign said "wait to be seated" but three staff members walked past us without even making eye contact), we had a great meal with plenty of attention from the staff. The older gentlemen were particularly charming, making a show of carving my friend's roasted chicken at the table, and engaging in funny banter. The lemonade was great - freshly squeezed, and not too tart. I also had the Bratwurst plate, which was AWESOME. I LOVE sauerkraut, and theirs was first-rate. I enjoyed the food more than Helga's in Aurora, which was previously the best German restaurant I've found in the U.S. The dining room was really neat as well - lots of light, and a forest-like atmosphere with lots of plants and natural wood.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Forest Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Black Forest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Forest Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.