We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Vacation Should Be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bill Dvorak Rafting and Kayak Expeditions

Bill Dvorak Rafting and Kayak Expeditions
17921 U.S. Hwy 285, Nathrop, CO 81236
+1 800-824-3795
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Nathrop
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dvorak's is Colorado's 1st Licensed Outfitter. Est. 1969 Offering 1/2 to 8 day trips on 8 RIVERS to accommodate any family, group or individuals. Paddle & oar rafts, kayaking, stand up paddle boards and more. Professionally trained guides. Successfully combining high adventure with FUN. Everyone deserves a chance to experience "River Magic". DVK trips make it easy for you to enjoy the rafting adventures throughout the west. Excellent fresh food menus and special request diets considered. Camping/rental equipment is available. Custom Fishing | Specialty-photography - Bluegrass - Classical music Journeys - naturalist trips | Instructional Paddling School | Multi-sport; raft, bike, hike, zip-line, hot springs, lodging trips. OPEN DAILY May - September.
Nyack, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a Vacation Should Be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We just wrapped up the 6 day Dvorak Green River Rafting Expedition and it was the true meaning of vacation: Desolation Canyon is God's country where one rock formation or wildlife sighting is bested by the next. Here, you learn about it's storied past (including visits by Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid) and spot big horned sheep and wild stallions. In between, you raft or kayak down constant rapids and riffles that delight novices and advanced alike. We swam, had water fights (wars), rowed and screamed with delight. Each morn, we woke to hot coffee and
breakfast. Each lunch was set up in the shade of the cottonwoods on the beach. Each night, we had another awesome meal around the campfire. Bill Dvorak is a sage on the river. Calm and knowledgable. His guide team became part of our family (19 of us ranging from 6 to 72!). We all ranked this as a "pinch me, is this a dream vacation?"

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best rafting trip ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We've been on several different rafting trips & this one was by far the best. Derek, our trip guide, was extremely knowledgable & personable. This company is not like the other commercial rafting companies. It's by far better! I would highly recommend taking any of the trips offered. The staff is top notch and trained by the best!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun day on the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Even tho the river is lower this time of year, our guide did a great job of making it fun. He navigated us through come rapids and kept us entertained with stories and history the whole way. Thanks we had a great time.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“All around great day on the Arkansas River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

A group of us went rafting on the Arkansas River with Dvorak for our annual summer office outting and had the best time. Our guide was fantastic, very knowledgeable, answered all of our questions and made sure everyone was comfortable on and off the river. The safety kayaker was hilarious and made even the slow, flat water sections of the river exciting. We'll definitely choose Dvorak for future commercial trips.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“this is fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

My wife and i had the pleasure of a half day river rafting experience with Dvoraks. i must admit i was a bit uneasy about it all, but it turned out to be one of the most exhilarating and fun times we had on the entire trip! Dvoraks has all the gear you'll need and they teach you how to be on the river. they take care of everything The guides were experts and put us at ease. folks, this is a don't miss. Fun abounds!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill Dvorak Rafting and Kayak Expeditions also viewed

 

Been to Bill Dvorak Rafting and Kayak Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bill Dvorak Rafting and Kayak Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.