We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The healing hot springs water in six different locations all in 16 degree F” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort - Bath House & Hot Springs

Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort - Bath House & Hot Springs
15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236
888-395-7799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 Attractions in Nathrop
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers, Mountains, Amusement
Activities: Viewing foliage
Attraction details
beavercreek, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The healing hot springs water in six different locations all in 16 degree F”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The three chain shings that cascade one from the other with the first area coming ring from the hot spring at 107 degrees F then the second pool in 103 to luke warm and the thrid cascade pool in cooler. Wine in hand in a paper cup and snow falling all around you with big puffy flakes with all was well from the healing water. Then into the high pressure buble swimming pool feed with spring water laps and sitting on lounge chairs as the ceiling dripped with condesation from the bubble top no wind to be had. After a full day the stream room in the locker room was the icing on the cake best $35 dollar I have spent for a day of relaxation. Let alone the spa and treatment center. We will return form more pampering.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    99
    31
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Just got back from a day at the hot springs and feel great. It is very relaxing; a great place to unwind. Located a few miles from Buena Vista with wonderful mountain views and you soak.
Mount Princeton Hot Spring Resort has come a long way over the years. The hot springs has added a new spa area to the resort a couple of year ago. It is very nice and the pools are therapeutic & enjoyable. We have seen deer and hummingbirds while soaking at times.
The relaxation pool is enclosed in a tent in Winter. The temp is perfect. There are still the original large hot pool and lap pool next to the "historic bathhouse" and the river pools. In the new spa are across the river there are now a large relaxation pool, 3 small soaking pools of varying temperatures and a lodge which includes a café, sauna and 3 stream rooms, locker rooms and spa. The spa offers massages, facials, nails , etc. for additional fees. The lodge building is a nice comfortable place to relax and also has a fitness room in the basement and classes. The spa side is for 16 and up only.
The river pools are a draw for families and are fun to try out in warmer months with secure footwear. Sometimes in Spring they are closed if the river is too high. Children should be kept close for their safety,
The resort offers lodging in the lodge, new cabins, and across the road in new cabins , the older Hillside rooms and Cliffside rooms. We have tried them all and the Cliffside rooms are our favorite. All the rooms are older but recently redone and have great views from their shared patio. Overnight guests have full access to all pools and spa. The resort also has a water slide in Summer , a restaurant and wedding facilities. They offer a help planning local activities like horseback rides, snowmobiling, etc.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Yes we were happy with our visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I were given a gift certificate for two (2) nights lodging (including) the spa at Mt. Princeton. We were there on a beautiful robins egg, blue sky day with seasonable temperatures. We had visited 18 years ago, ownership has invested, from the looks of it, substantial dollars in many upgrades, the pools and meals were very lovely, it exceeded our expectations. Gary, our luncheon host was a welcome reprieve from the relaxing nature of Mt Princeton.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort collins
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A "Must Do" for visitors to Salida/Buena Vista”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Located sort of halfway between Salida and BV, it is a scenic drive past the Chalk Cliffs to the hot springs. The walk down the hill from the parking lot may be difficult for those who have trouble ambulating, as the steps get slick. The entrance into the main building where day guests pay and get towels has always struck me as odd. The door is small and the passageway really narrow. Lockers cost extra and they are constructed in such a way that one cannot use their own lock, but must use the key which they provide- so no short cuts there, unless you want to carry your belongings with you, which is perfectly acceptable.
There are only two main pools, both good-sized, both man-made (cement). The first is nice and hot, and the second is more like nice warm bath water. The hot pool is wonderful. I am 6' 1' and I can just keep my mouth above water while standing on tip toes. The temperature is perfect in this pool. It is exactly what you want after skiing powder all day at Monarch! I get goose bumps remembering floating on my back in this pool, arms outstretched, watching the twilight fade and the moon get bright, after skiing at Monarch.
The pool that is less warm is great for kids. They can have typical kid pool fun in there and not get too hot or bored. It is also good to cool back down in- or swim laps, as there is a dedicated lap lane.
The appeal of the "pools" by the river is something of a mystery to me. For day guests, there are only these little, shallow, hot puddles. It is difficult to submerse your body. The water is really hot.
You sort of sit in the hot puddle for a few minutes while your hair starts to freeze and your upper body cools and gets goose bumps. True, it is fun for the kids to scamper around on the river rocks, and it is nice to be next to the river, but it's not long before you're high-tailin' it back up to the man-made pools.
We have never stayed at the resort.
I hear the summer waterslides are more fun than Christmas for six year-olds.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Bring river shoes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The service in the restaurant was glacially slow. The layout of the resort is strange; seemed to spend a lot of time walking from place to place across a metal bridge spanning the river.

Most of the on site lodging is much too far away to walk to and fro with a wet bathing suit in the winter. Driving from the pathway from the parking lot to the hot springs check in is what we did, but be warned that the walkway can be treacherous.

The older locker rooms are really pretty dingy. The newer ones are actually very nice, but are adults only. Wife and I chose to split duty and take turns using the newer locker rooms. Kind of a pain in the neck.

Why then, the relatively good rating? The answer is that any halfway decent hot springs deserves a good rating. All the above is ancillary to the main point: The pools and water are very good.

What elevates Mount Princeton to the realm of the sublime is the private river access. Just below the main pools, some of the hot spring water mixes with stream flow. The experience of sitting in a mountain stream in winter, in a heated natural pool, is unparalleled.

My kids clambered up and down the stream. Cold outside, yes, but sunny. Anytime they got cold, they dipped into a pool of hot water for awhile. Us adults languorously sat under the pines up to our necks in hot water (tempered just so by however much cooling stream water we desired) and watched them scamper about -- everyone perfectly content.

To take advantage of this amenity, you really need two things: some river shoes and also a good sense of balance walking on wet rocks through a moving stream.

Spa treatments were good and reasonably priced I thought. Deep pressure massage combined with the relaxing hot water soak was pretty darn nice.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort - Bath House & Hot Springs also viewed

 

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort - Bath House & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort - Bath House & Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.