We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular scenery deserves a more spectacular resort.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Save Saved
You added Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Hot Springs Tickets
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Nathrop
Canon City, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular scenery deserves a more spectacular resort.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The location of Mt. Princeton Resort is one of the more spectacular sites in Colorado. The amenities associated with the outdoor offerings surrounding the hot spring waters and pools are beautifully laid out. The original old bath house is in need of repair and the entrance to it is quite dingy. The new bath house is very nice. It was late in the day when I toured the pools and the bathhouses. But, the fact that there were towels, robes and paper trash not yet picked up in the women's locker room, even though late in the day, was not acceptable. Just outside the locker room In the lobby three staffers were chatting at the concession bar. They were friendly, but not obviously engaged in tasks. (Maybe, picking up the locker room was not their job.)
Our cabin was clean, but sparse. The bed was good, the price was 179.00 for the ground level portion of the "condo/cabin", which I thought was high for that particular room. The restaurant was okay, but not outstanding. The pictures of the Main Lodge, are misleading. The building lacks the ambiance of a spacious mountain lodge with guest entrance, registration desk, bar and restaurant all crowded into limited space.
Overall the experience was okay. But we were most disappointed with the accommodations. We had expected the rooms to be more than one notch above fishing cabins.

Room Tip: The cabins are not worth the money. No sound barriers between floors. The Cliffrooms were the recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    169
    78
    48
    32
See reviews for
206
195
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
PA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The resort is nice, however, the lack of concern and caring from the employees makes me rethink booking. The first impression we had with the Front Office agent was nice, and pleasant. The next morning we went to breakfast and passed a lady that was looking for her dog. While sitting at breakfast we spotted the dog and my husband went to catch her. Upon doing so he asked the Front Office agent if she could make contact with its owner. The agent stated that my husband should just let the dog go, because it happens all of the time and it will be fine. WOW.... the second encounter, and most upsetting, came upon check out. We asked to have a letter mailed, and request it be send out that day, which was a Saturday. As of today, Thursday the recipient has not receive the letter. We called the resort and was told they track their mail and that it was in fact mailed. When questioning their tracking system the young man stated that they actually do not have one, and that he lied about it. WONDERFUL!! Not only were we lied to but now have to pay the consequences for trusting our mail would be sent out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am sorry your experience with staff was less than desirable. We have reviewed with them the importance of clear and accurate guest communication. While staff may be accustomed to the neighboring dog who wanders over, they must understand the situation from a guest's point of view.

With the resort being in such a remote location, mail service can take longer than expected. We do have a tracking system for lost item shipping, not regular mail. The agent misunderstood you and we have coached him on the proper way to correct these type of situations. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you for your feedback,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

While eating in the restaurant a couple saw our kids and say "eww" --they kindly said our kids were well behaved, but when they go out they do not like to sit next to kids. Overpriced compared to Glenwood for families. This is not really a family sport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am disappointed to hear that you did not find value in your stay with us. The unfortunate comment of your fellow guest is not a reflection of our attitude toward families and children. We have made a conscience effort to provide areas on the resort suited to all types of guests. Our Spa & Club is the only facility that does not permit children. Many families enjoy the creekside pools and in the summer months, the waterside is extremely popular.

Thank you for your feedback,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I have made a few trips there and always enjoy ourselves. The beds are wonderful, on the last trip we discovered that we do VERY well in king sized beds ! We stay on the hillside.
Enjoy the improvements they have made, and continue to make. Pathway from hillside past tennis courts and down to the spa is great, redone posts around main pool are beautiful to look at. Steam room controls need to be out-smarted, but I am sure this will be done soon, until then, exercise your wits ! (I set thermostat to highest setting, seemed to help.) Reading lights in beds (of the politically correct type) caused me to see colors (red and green above and below the black lines in the crossword puzzle I was doing) so next time I will bring a couple of incandescent bulbs. My wife slipped on some ice walking down the path, so grounds-folk might consider some measures there ... until then, watch your step. Overall very relaxing place, very accommodating front desk, house-keeping and spa staff. Thank you, and keep it up !

Room Tip: If ice machine noise bothers you, ask for a room away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Mt Princeton Resort has it all in one beautiful package.Clean,friendly,spacious and most of all the views are breathtaking.Gods gift to us all.The mineral hot springs are so rejuvenating.Thank you Mt.Princeton

Room Tip: They are all good it just depends on your ability to walk or not
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We love Mt Princeton Resort! They are one of the few nice places in Colorado (within day-trip from Denver) that have pet-friendly rooms, and the resort is fantastic. When you stay at the resort, you get access to their new spa/hot springs pool area which features a really nice, new spa building (Steam, Sauna, locker rooms, spa treatment rooms, juice/snack bar, etc). The 3 hot springs pools are very quiet and relaxing (>16 yrs only, allowed), warm regular pool (laps, etc) that is covered in winter). The onsite restaurant is fantastic (though you'll need to check hours for meal seatings and plan accordingly). Great nearby hiking, Ghost town up the hill to visit, outdoor activities. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: we pay a little more for a "Cliffside" room (rather than "Hillside"), as they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Three of us rented a cliffside room on a Thursday night. The room was spacious and comfortable. However, it got very hot at night. Would recommend keeping the heater off. The views are spectacular, especially if you are from the east coast and not accustomed to the mountain peaks and grand vistas. The hot springs and the way the resort provides opportunities to partake are outstanding. Had a lovely meal accompanied with excellent beer from a local brewer. The chicken may have been the freshest and tastiest I have ever had. The spa was wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Nathrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.