We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for families...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Save Saved
You added Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Nathrop
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not for families...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

While eating in the restaurant a couple saw our kids and say "eww" --they kindly said our kids were well behaved, but when they go out they do not like to sit next to kids. Overpriced compared to Glenwood for families. This is not really a family sport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am disappointed to hear that you did not find value in your stay with us. The unfortunate comment of your fellow guest is not a reflection of our attitude toward families and children. We have made a conscience effort to provide areas on the resort suited to all types of guests. Our Spa & Club is the only facility that does not permit children. Many families enjoy the creekside pools and in the summer months, the waterside is extremely popular.

Thank you for your feedback,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    147
    72
    45
    29
See reviews for
183
174
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I have made a few trips there and always enjoy ourselves. The beds are wonderful, on the last trip we discovered that we do VERY well in king sized beds ! We stay on the hillside.
Enjoy the improvements they have made, and continue to make. Pathway from hillside past tennis courts and down to the spa is great, redone posts around main pool are beautiful to look at. Steam room controls need to be out-smarted, but I am sure this will be done soon, until then, exercise your wits ! (I set thermostat to highest setting, seemed to help.) Reading lights in beds (of the politically correct type) caused me to see colors (red and green above and below the black lines in the crossword puzzle I was doing) so next time I will bring a couple of incandescent bulbs. My wife slipped on some ice walking down the path, so grounds-folk might consider some measures there ... until then, watch your step. Overall very relaxing place, very accommodating front desk, house-keeping and spa staff. Thank you, and keep it up !

Room Tip: If ice machine noise bothers you, ask for a room away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Mt Princeton Resort has it all in one beautiful package.Clean,friendly,spacious and most of all the views are breathtaking.Gods gift to us all.The mineral hot springs are so rejuvenating.Thank you Mt.Princeton

Room Tip: They are all good it just depends on your ability to walk or not
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We love Mt Princeton Resort! They are one of the few nice places in Colorado (within day-trip from Denver) that have pet-friendly rooms, and the resort is fantastic. When you stay at the resort, you get access to their new spa/hot springs pool area which features a really nice, new spa building (Steam, Sauna, locker rooms, spa treatment rooms, juice/snack bar, etc). The 3 hot springs pools are very quiet and relaxing (>16 yrs only, allowed), warm regular pool (laps, etc) that is covered in winter). The onsite restaurant is fantastic (though you'll need to check hours for meal seatings and plan accordingly). Great nearby hiking, Ghost town up the hill to visit, outdoor activities. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: we pay a little more for a "Cliffside" room (rather than "Hillside"), as they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Three of us rented a cliffside room on a Thursday night. The room was spacious and comfortable. However, it got very hot at night. Would recommend keeping the heater off. The views are spectacular, especially if you are from the east coast and not accustomed to the mountain peaks and grand vistas. The hot springs and the way the resort provides opportunities to partake are outstanding. Had a lovely meal accompanied with excellent beer from a local brewer. The chicken may have been the freshest and tastiest I have ever had. The spa was wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Had a one night stay here in Sept. 2013 with a friend and we enjoyed it. Dinner at their restaurant was wonderful -- best salmon I've ever had! Enjoyed the pools, the spa and the mountain views. Cliffside room was nice, not great. Resort layout is a little odd; there was a bit of a hike between the cliffside rooms and the main part of the resort. I was excited about doing a hot spring soak in the natural creek but that wasn't great as the pockets of warm water on the edge weren't very deep. I stayed in a few minutes and emerged with gravels in my swim trunks! It's much better just to use the man-made in-ground soaking tubs. Had an awesome massage in the spa. Found the staff to be fine/average overall. Booked a guided horseback ride on a neighboring ranch, which I enjoyed. There's a waterfall hiking trail nearby (which has since experienced an avalanche), although I didn't have time to check it out. Everything at the resort is clean and well-maintained and it's a pretty place. I'm glad we went there but feel no need to revisit should I make it back to Colorado.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Three friends and I rented a Cliffside room for s single night and had two days (and one night ) of fun! We drove over from Summit County early one morning and soaked in the beautiful hot springs pool--the relaxation pool for overnight guests only--and then had a quick lunch by the pool while waiting for our room to be ready at the 3 pm check-in time. Great panini sandwiches! Back to the pools, sauna and steam room for more soaking and then back to our room for Happy Hour with goodies we brought from home. Then, back to the pools for one last soak before our slumber party. The next morning we had a light breakfast and headed to the pools for more soaking. We checked out of our room at 11, but stuck around to enjoy the amenities. The ladies' locker room had all we needed for a shower and spiffing up before we went to the main lodge for a good lunch--try the Reuben--it's excellent! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Cliffside rooms are great, although it's a 5 minute or so walk to the pools. The view is excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel
Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236
Location: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Nathrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.