We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, food & hot springs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Certificate of Excellence
Placencia, Belize
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay, food & hot springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We love Mt Princeton Resort! They are one of the few nice places in Colorado (within day-trip from Denver) that have pet-friendly rooms, and the resort is fantastic. When you stay at the resort, you get access to their new spa/hot springs pool area which features a really nice, new spa building (Steam, Sauna, locker rooms, spa treatment rooms, juice/snack bar, etc). The 3 hot springs pools are very quiet and relaxing (>16 yrs only, allowed), warm regular pool (laps, etc) that is covered in winter). The onsite restaurant is fantastic (though you'll need to check hours for meal seatings and plan accordingly). Great nearby hiking, Ghost town up the hill to visit, outdoor activities. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: we pay a little more for a "Cliffside" room (rather than "Hillside"), as they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelizeBeach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Three of us rented a cliffside room on a Thursday night. The room was spacious and comfortable. However, it got very hot at night. Would recommend keeping the heater off. The views are spectacular, especially if you are from the east coast and not accustomed to the mountain peaks and grand vistas. The hot springs and the way the resort provides opportunities to partake are outstanding. Had a lovely meal accompanied with excellent beer from a local brewer. The chicken may have been the freshest and tastiest I have ever had. The spa was wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Had a one night stay here in Sept. 2013 with a friend and we enjoyed it. Dinner at their restaurant was wonderful -- best salmon I've ever had! Enjoyed the pools, the spa and the mountain views. Cliffside room was nice, not great. Resort layout is a little odd; there was a bit of a hike between the cliffside rooms and the main part of the resort. I was excited about doing a hot spring soak in the natural creek but that wasn't great as the pockets of warm water on the edge weren't very deep. I stayed in a few minutes and emerged with gravels in my swim trunks! It's much better just to use the man-made in-ground soaking tubs. Had an awesome massage in the spa. Found the staff to be fine/average overall. Booked a guided horseback ride on a neighboring ranch, which I enjoyed. There's a waterfall hiking trail nearby (which has since experienced an avalanche), although I didn't have time to check it out. Everything at the resort is clean and well-maintained and it's a pretty place. I'm glad we went there but feel no need to revisit should I make it back to Colorado.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank TimWeav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Three friends and I rented a Cliffside room for s single night and had two days (and one night ) of fun! We drove over from Summit County early one morning and soaked in the beautiful hot springs pool--the relaxation pool for overnight guests only--and then had a quick lunch by the pool while waiting for our room to be ready at the 3 pm check-in time. Great panini sandwiches! Back to the pools, sauna and steam room for more soaking and then back to our room for Happy Hour with goodies we brought from home. Then, back to the pools for one last soak before our slumber party. The next morning we had a light breakfast and headed to the pools for more soaking. We checked out of our room at 11, but stuck around to enjoy the amenities. The ladies' locker room had all we needed for a shower and spiffing up before we went to the main lodge for a good lunch--try the Reuben--it's excellent! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Cliffside rooms are great, although it's a 5 minute or so walk to the pools. The view is excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Go and enjoy this great hot springs. Be prepared to pay a premium if you want to experience the hot tubs and pools they picture in their advertising because they aren't included in the general admision pool area unfortunately. Regardless, the general admin pool area is nice and nicer still is sitting in the river area which provides a perfect mix of hot and cold water that is just cool to experience. It would be nice if the owners would install more stairs into the pools to provide more easy in and out options if needed.

Room Tip: You must pay a premium to gain access to the upper end pools and dining areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahiti33Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Mt Princeton to celebrate our 60 birthday that are within a week of each other. It was our first stay, and what most attracted us to it was the fact we travel with our dog and it's a pet friendly resort. We stayed in the Hillside rooms, which were great, although the bathrooms were a bit on the small side, but the room was extremely comfortable and clean. Our TV wasn't working, and we called the front desk, and the technician was there in no more than 5 minutes to sort us out. Great service! And the hot springs were just wonderful. The spa was clean and the locker rooms look like they have just been updated. Oh and if you have to check out of your room, you can get a locker for $1, and stay the rest of the day if you like. They have spinners to dry your bathing suit and warm, fluffy towels to dry off, and hairdryers!

The on site restaurant really needs some attention. A resort of this calibre needs to have a restaurant to match. For example--I know a green salad is a green salad. They pride themselves on sourcing locally, but this one came straight out of the bag. It must have been prepped beforehand, so it was a little on the wilty side. I ordered my favorite-bleu cheese dressing. I was served what appeared to be watered down vinegrette with a couple of bleu cheese crumbles in it. This is just not acceptable, especially at these prices. On the up side, the crab cakes were just wonderful! Do visit the juice bar...they make some fantastic concoctions over there!

All in all, I recommend Mt Princeton highly-but next time I think we'll drive into Buena Vista and support the local restaurants.

Room Tip: Book the Cliffside room--you get a patio off your room. The views there are outstanding, so it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It was a last minute idea to take a few days of our trip to find a hot springs resort and we were extremely satisfied with Mount Princeton! We stayed in the Cliff Cabin rooms, which on the outside look like a motel but inside was a huge room with vaulted ceilings, fridge, microwave, and best of all, a patio overlooking the resort and the amazing view of the mountains. The springs were HOT! but comfy, the resort had a sauna and steamroom, full access to showers and spa services. My only complaint was they did not have all spa services available during the week while we were there. Oh, and the price was right - 2nd night half price! I love off-season!

Room Tip: Cliff cabins were out of the way but have a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniLatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort. Please keep an eye on the website, as we will be running off-season specials throughout the winter months. It would be great to have you back for a visit sometime in the very near future.

Again, we thank you for your feedback as well as your business.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nathrop
16.6 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
#1 of 4 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
14.3 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
8.0 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 7 in Buena Vista
5.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
7.8 mi away
Pinon Court Cabins
Pinon Court Cabins
#3 of 4 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing