We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot water and hot views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Save Saved
You added Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Hot Springs Tickets
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Nathrop
Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hot water and hot views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Go and enjoy this great hot springs. Be prepared to pay a premium if you want to experience the hot tubs and pools they picture in their advertising because they aren't included in the general admision pool area unfortunately. Regardless, the general admin pool area is nice and nicer still is sitting in the river area which provides a perfect mix of hot and cold water that is just cool to experience. It would be nice if the owners would install more stairs into the pools to provide more easy in and out options if needed.

Room Tip: You must pay a premium to gain access to the upper end pools and dining areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    173
    81
    49
    32
See reviews for
214
199
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Mt Princeton to celebrate our 60 birthday that are within a week of each other. It was our first stay, and what most attracted us to it was the fact we travel with our dog and it's a pet friendly resort. We stayed in the Hillside rooms, which were great, although the bathrooms were a bit on the small side, but the room was extremely comfortable and clean. Our TV wasn't working, and we called the front desk, and the technician was there in no more than 5 minutes to sort us out. Great service! And the hot springs were just wonderful. The spa was clean and the locker rooms look like they have just been updated. Oh and if you have to check out of your room, you can get a locker for $1, and stay the rest of the day if you like. They have spinners to dry your bathing suit and warm, fluffy towels to dry off, and hairdryers!

The on site restaurant really needs some attention. A resort of this calibre needs to have a restaurant to match. For example--I know a green salad is a green salad. They pride themselves on sourcing locally, but this one came straight out of the bag. It must have been prepped beforehand, so it was a little on the wilty side. I ordered my favorite-bleu cheese dressing. I was served what appeared to be watered down vinegrette with a couple of bleu cheese crumbles in it. This is just not acceptable, especially at these prices. On the up side, the crab cakes were just wonderful! Do visit the juice bar...they make some fantastic concoctions over there!

All in all, I recommend Mt Princeton highly-but next time I think we'll drive into Buena Vista and support the local restaurants.

Room Tip: Book the Cliffside room--you get a patio off your room. The views there are outstanding, so it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It was a last minute idea to take a few days of our trip to find a hot springs resort and we were extremely satisfied with Mount Princeton! We stayed in the Cliff Cabin rooms, which on the outside look like a motel but inside was a huge room with vaulted ceilings, fridge, microwave, and best of all, a patio overlooking the resort and the amazing view of the mountains. The springs were HOT! but comfy, the resort had a sauna and steamroom, full access to showers and spa services. My only complaint was they did not have all spa services available during the week while we were there. Oh, and the price was right - 2nd night half price! I love off-season!

Room Tip: Cliff cabins were out of the way but have a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort. Please keep an eye on the website, as we will be running off-season specials throughout the winter months. It would be great to have you back for a visit sometime in the very near future.

Again, we thank you for your feedback as well as your business.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramah, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

It was sooo relaxing and the rooms were o.k. The resteraunt isn't that wonderful, but for a quick bite the spa building has great Panini's. It's better in the winter months because there are NO CHILDREN THERE. We think that it should be an adult only place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cliffside rooms, and it is quieter up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. Our Spa and Club is open to all over-night guests that are above the age of sixteen. This is the adult only area of the resort and the policy is in place year round. We do allow an exceptions for guests to accompany their children to the Juice Bar for meals, but not to use the pools or locker rooms here.

We would love to have you experience the resort during the spring time or summer months if you have not done so already. Thank you again.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I am rating the ROOM ONLY…I am sure the area you stay Lodge, Hillside, Cliffside, or Cabin will affect your opinion of this resort. The only place available when we made reservations was on the Hillside. The 1950’s style strip motel is the first impression I had when I saw the resort lodging. The lodging was a 5 minute drive from the resort/spa area and not convenient unless you only travel there once a day and spend the day. The room was small and not incredible comfortable, but adequate. There was a queen size bed and a twin bed in our room. There was no desk (or workstation) or even any chairs in the room, additionally, there was not even any pictures on the wall. The bathroom (shower and toilet area) was small and felt confining. The sink area contained the coffee maker (A Keurig – nice touch) and the fridge. The water coming out of the faucets was only hot water, I could not get any cold water to work, and the shower I had to take was a bit uncomfortably hot. The bed had a very firm mattress and made for an uncomfortable night sleep for myself and my spouse. The flat-panel TV was a pain in the neck to program the satellite receiver, but worked fine after it was set up.

Room Tip: A stay in the lodge saves you from having to walk or drive to the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your feedback. Our Hillside rooms are our most economical accommodation here at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort. They are a bit more basic compared to the rest of the lodging options however, they have been completely renovated. We apologize that this room did not meet your standards.

We are very grateful for your business and would like to invite you back to stay in one of our Lodge rooms, or perhaps a condo cabin. These accommodations are closest to the pools. For a weekend stay, we recommend booking a month in advance.

Please be sure to introduce yourself to a member of our management team the next time you are in the area. We would love the opportunity to meet you.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamosa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary and used the property as a base camp to climb two 14ers. It felt like cheating! Hotel was nice and clean, grounds well maintained, restaurant cooked a perfect salmon dish and staff was pleasant and helpful. Only big disappointment was relatively short pool hours. Our experience at other hot springs is lodging guests have 24hr access to the pools. By the time we returned from a climb, cleaned up, and ate, we had maybe an hour to soak.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback. It is nice to hear that you found the accommodations at the resort suitable.

I apologize for the inconvenience that was caused by our pool and hot springs hours. Due to the depth of our pools, with guest safety as our number one priority, our management team does not feel comfortable allowing guests to have twenty-four access to the pools and spa. Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort is located in a very rural area. If an incident or accident were to occur in late hours of the night it would take longer than desirable for emergency staff to arrive on scene. We are sorry that soaking in the hot springs did not fit well into your busy schedule while visiting, but please understand that the resort’s hours of operation exist to keep you and the rest of our guests safe.

It so wonderful that you took advantage of this area’s beautiful surroundings; and were able to climb two of the 14,000 foot peaks that are so close to the resort. We are happy that we were able to provide a convenient place for you to spend your off time while partaking in such fantastic adventures.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo West, Colorado, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

On October 12, 2013, my daughter was married in a beautiful meadow, next to a bubbling brook at Mt Princeton Hot Springs Resort! In the background were the towering chalk cliffs of Mt Princeton. The reception took place in a beautiful building called the pavilion. This building has 360 degree views with accordion doors on all sides, wood beamed ceilings, and stone pillars. The setting was breathtaking! More importantly, the staff was phenomenal! They waited on our guests with a smile and genuine desire to help. The food was outstanding! All of our guests raved about the food and service at Mt. Princeton. There are basically three types of accommodations - cabins, lodge rooms, and motel style rooms. All rooms are very nice with all the things you would expect to find in a hotel. The cabins are all new, clean, and fun. The bathrooms in the cabins are brand new and clean. You will find granite countertops in the kitchen, matching furniture, and a gas log stove. Additionally, each cabin has separate heating systems in the main room and the bedrooms.

The spa is wonderful. Beautiful, warm pools that are available to guests really made the stay fun.

Book early! The word is out on Mt Princeton! I booked my daughter's wedding 1 1/2 years in advance! It was worth the wait! We all had a wonderful time !

Room Tip: The cabins seem expensive, but they are so fun! The have efficiency kitchens with everything you ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kindly worded review. We are so happy to hear that your friends and family had such a great experience at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort for your daughter’s wedding. We are very pleased that we are able to help create memories that will last a lifetime.

We hope that you will come back to visit sometime in the near future and celebrate such a beautiful union!

Best Wishes to you and the Newlyweds,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Nathrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.