We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night cabin stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“2 night cabin stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in a 1 bedroom cabin by the stream. Very clean with nice furnishings and comfortable beds. No air conditioning, but not needed in the fresh cool mountain evenings. No Verizon cell reception at the resort. Driving 2 miles east our phones worked. The spa's relaxation pool needed cleaning. There were hundreds of dead bugs floating in the water (on both days of our visit ). There was what looked like black mold in several areas of the pool. I understand that minerals can cause this, but it seemed uninviting. Our dinner at the lodge restaurant was fabulous. Our appetizer was crab cakes and they were the best we had ever eaten. The salads were fresh and the main course of salmon was excellent. Made us think, "Why did we fix our own dinner the first night?" We took a drive to the ghost town of St. Elmo. Not worth our time as it was very small and uninteresting. Overall, would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    204
    86
    53
    34
See reviews for
238
229
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a destination primarily designed around the hot springs. The springs themselves are good however we only used the facilities in the new building (under 12 months old) and adjacent pool. The older part of the complex was a bit tired an uninviting so we definitely recommend using the new spa facilities which can only be used by the Hotel guests. This is probably the biggest reason for staying at the Hotel as opposed to a day visit.
The location is very pleasant with the surrounding mountain view but unless you pursue other activities such as cycling there doesn’t appear to be a lot to do in the immediate area.
We stayed 1 night in the hotel. The accommodation was disappointingly tired and the furnishings tatty. The TV didn’t work properly and there appeared to be very few channels on offer. The bathroom was spacious but very dated with poor lighting. There was a coffee machine and small fridge in the bathroom along with a rack for clothing which is not the ideal place to locate these items.
We had dinner in the restaurant which was crowded and seemed to be understaffed. We ordered cocktails which were so sour they were undrinkable. The barman did ask how they were and he did remake them (he explained he didn't have the correct ingredients the first time) and the second attempt was much better.
The food was average and the service slow so not a culinary destination. We feel the hotel should look to improve its restaurant and it would then be a reason to stay more than 1 night.
This resort is located in a nice setting with poor accommodation and facilities by US standards (which are normally high). It is fine for a one night stay to break up a trip but we wouldn’t have stayed longer. Here's hoping that management will now look to upgrade their rooms and restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We are repeat customers at the resort. We enjoy the pools, the accommodations, the spa, the scenery and most of all that our cell phones don't work in the area. It's a rare privilege to be able to tune out the outside world and actually relax. The beds are fabulous and we always ask to stay in a creek side cabin so we fall asleep listening to the stream outside our window. The staff has always been helpful and accommodating and the juice bar at the spa/adult pool makes fabulous smoothies. It's truly one of our favorite summer weekend.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money to reserve a cabin creek side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had an incredible first visit to the Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort. A group of 8 of us rented a 2 bedroom plus loft cabin, and it was the perfect weekend! The cabin was spacious and clean, and fit us all perfectly. The beds were incredibly comfortable, the views were great off both the front and back porches, and it was an easy walk to the hot springs. We were a bit disappointed when we came to find that the cabin did not have an oven - the description read "complete kitchen" which we figured included an oven, so we brought enchiladas to cook for the group. After speaking with the manager on duty and expressing our disappointment, the staff found a way to cook our enchiladas for us, which was incredibly nice of them! The hot springs were just lovely - so relaxing. Especially the Chalk Creek hot springs. We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

After a day trip up to St. Elmo, we stopped at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort for a late lunch. What a treat! The gracious host seated us on the deck overlooking the perfectly manicured lawn with a view of Mt. Princeton. It may seem like a small thing, but we loved the ice tea! The French Dip sandwich was especially good, and my companion enjoyed her salad. Our server did a good job (but shouldn't all servers at a mountain resort be able to identify the peaks out the restaurant window?). After lunch we walked around the resort. The gardens were lush and very well-kept. We peeked in the new cabins and thought they looked plain, but clean and nicely appointed. The adult spa was inviting. Our quick stop made me want to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Gary the Host helped me recover money that I had dropped out of my running shorts ! Thank you for your honesty.. Great hot springs! The pools were awesome and the rivere is great. The kids love the slide and there was plenty to the whole family to enjoy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We loved the hot springs in the stream, and the pools were absolutely amazing! The people were extremely friendly and helpful. Michael made us the best paninis we have ever had in the juice bar. This will be one of our "Go To" places from this point forward and recommend it for everyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236
Location: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.