We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as nice as billing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
El Dorado, KS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as nice as billing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The website and lobby area portray Mt. Princeton as an upscale resort, but the accommodations were not to that level. We stayed in a Hillside room. Though this is the least expensive room, it was still about $160 per night and was really no more than a typical 3-3.5 star hotel room. There is no inside entrance, rather, each room enters directly from the parking area. The beds and linens were nice with a small flat screen tv and a normal size tub/shower with an extended wide curtain. There was no wi-fi access, which was disappointing. My biggest problem with the accommodations was the lack of anything other than hot (and I mean very hot) water. I learned upon check-out that the hotel uses the hot springs for all of the water in the facility. A 110-degree soak is one thing, but a 110 degree shower each night/morning was no fun. There were two small (16-oz) bottles of water in the room at check-in, but they weren't replaced. Unless you know to ration this (or bring your own water in), you quickly end up with no water to drink, brush teeth, etc. There are some private homes in the same general area of the hotel, so there is certainly access to a regular water supply. Other than the obvious cost savings of not having to pay for water, I have no idea why Mt. Princeton has chosen not to offer this.

We didn't use the spa facilities or the adult pool, but spent time in the soaking pool (108-ish) and the exercise pool (96-98 degrees) on both days. Those pools were comfortable, but neither was very relaxing with a lot of kids running around and no supervision from the hotel staff. The "historic bathhouse" was nothing more than a check-in desk with two changing rooms. The men's changing room had a common shower area (4 shower heads - again, nothing but very hot water) with used towels laying everywhere.

All in all, if I was interested in a hot spring experience in the Buena Vista area I would consider returning to Mt. Princeton, but only on a daily usage rate. The lack of regular water combined with the cost of the room does not justify returning for the accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I cannot apologize enough that your time at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs did not meet your standards.

Over the past six years, our new ownership has been working diligently to upgrade the facilities in order to meet our guest’s needs. All of our hotel rooms have been completely remodeled and cabins added to the property.

I apologize that you were inconvenienced by the lack of wi-fi access in the rooms. We do offer free wi-fi access for guests in the main lobby of the lodge and at our new Spa & Club. Because of our rural area, it has been a challenge to provide internet access in the rooms and cabins. This is something that we are working on and hope to have completed within the year.

We do provide unlimited complimentary bottles of water for guests. Because Mt. Princeton is a family-friendly resort, we designed the Spa & Club to offer adult guests a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. This new addition to the resort offers a peaceful retreat to enjoy a relaxing soak, massage, or meal at the juice bar. It’s a shame you weren’t able to experience that area of property.

Once again, we apologize for your unsatisfactory stay. We hope you will decide to visit again and utilize our adult-only facilities. Thank you again for your feedback, and your business.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    204
    86
    53
    34
See reviews for
238
229
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for 1 night while on a trip to Colorado in the main lodge. The location was convenient for all pool and natural hot springs. The pools and natural hotsprings were worth the stop and experience. The hotel was average but clean. However, we called twice to have or television/cable fixed and they came but the problem was never resolved. One would have thought upon check out there may have been some sort of compensation but nothing... even when it was mentioned that we were surprised they didn't do anything for our inconvenience. On a plus note the bartender made a great margarita but their crab cakes lacked crab and had an abundance of filler.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Front Office Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. It is nice to know that you were pleased with our swimming/soaking facilities.

I apologize you had issues with the television which we were unable to resolve. We will be using your review as an example to our check-out agents to improve their sensitivity to guest comments.

We hope that you will return again and give Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort the opportunity to provide you with the service and experience you deserve.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were looking for a hot springs + pool experience after spending the day rafting. It was 4th of July weekend, so we weren't surprised to see the place crowded as we drove in. But the manicured grounds and upscale hotel lobby got our hopes up for something more civilized and enjoyable than we actually encountered at the pools. Perhaps they were understaffed that day, but for $22 per person -- not including towels, which are $2 more, and not including a locker, even, which is another $2 -- we expected more. The 'historic' poolhouse was messy and ill-equipped, with used towels lying all over the so-called locker room (really just a changing area like one you might find at a state beach). The floor was wet and sloppy and there were no hooks on the wall for clothes, both of which made changing a bit of an ordeal. The deck area near the lower pools also had used towels lying around, plus food wrappers etc., with no attendants or cleanup staff present that we could see. So we walked up the hill to the upper pool, which is newer and has a water slide that my kids enjoyed, and found that the locker rooms there were only slightly better -- wet floors, no hooks, and shower water that had only one temperature that day: blazingly hot. (The attendant was aware of this and said something about how it varies with the river flow.) The upper pool itself is large and well designed, but they could use someone walking around with one of those nets, because there was a little more grass and dead bugs than I'm used to seeing in outdoor pools. Simple things like a prominent, clearly labeled place to put your used towels would make a big difference here; I saw people just tossing them onto spare chairs and the lawn as they left. The staff are young and clueless about customer service; they just need better management and training. And the whole pool complex needs a fresh look at how people actually use the place and how it can improve.

Room Tip: This review is just about the pool/hot springs complex; we didn't stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I want to first thank you for stopping in for a visit on your holiday weekend. I apologize that your time spent at the pools did not meet your standards. The resort handles a high volume of people, especially through the summer months and even more so during holiday weekends. This, however, is no excuse for the poor experience you had. During busy periods it can become a challenge for our staff to keep up with all the cleaning that we desire to take place at all times. I cannot be more apologetic.

Our Historic Bath House was originally built in the 1800’s and we are obligated to preserve the historic value when trying to remodel any portion of the building. We greatly appreciate your suggestions for better towel storage and will make sure to investigate further on how we can improve convenience for our guests.

What you describe in your review is by no means, a typical day spent at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs. It saddens me to hear that we dropped the ball. I can assure you that our staff and management will be even more diligent to insure that our guests do not leave feeling the way that you did.

Once again, we send our deepest apologies. We hope you will give Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort another chance to surpass your expectations sometime in the future.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Place gets sold out all the time. So why spend money on things like umbrellas for the pool aria or an easier access to the creek. Place is clean. Cliff side rooms are nice. Service in the hotel and restaurant is there but you have to ask for it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This resort is more YMCA family summer camp than a resort. It is a ok choice for a night or two passing through the area but probably not for a longer stay, unless you have tons of kids who are fine anywhere as long as there is a pool nearby. We stayed in a cliff side unit, which is the second most expensive room choice after the individual cabins. It was clean and large, nothing fancy, but comfortable and had an outdoor table and nice views. If you are a couple, I would suggest these units and not the inexpensive hillside units, which look like an old 1950's motel and tend to be jammed with families.

The resort is very spread out and you have to take the car to get around for the most part. The hillside units are near the family pool, but all other pools are a drive down and then also have a 50 step climb down the hill once you drive to the parking lot near the pools. There is an adults only relaxation pool but that requires walking though the original bathhouse, around the back of the building (narrow dirt pathway next to the creek below), up metal stairs at the back of the bathhouse, across a foot bridge built over the creek, and then you are there at the adults pool and club! No issue for fit people, but if you are coming to the hot springs because you feel it will be helpful for physical ailments, accessibility to the pools, except again the family pool with tons of kids and a water slide, is a issue to consider. The hot springs are not mineral springs, as are the ones in Pagosa Springs or Ouray, but there are enjoyable and would have been more so if the air temperature had not been 94 as it was when we were there.

There is only restaurant and because of Trip Advisor reviews about poor service and high prices, we brought food in from Salida and used the microwave and refrigerator in our unit. You can drive into Buena Vista for meals, but it is a 30 min round trip drive. So, I suggest bringing in food to eat and make sure you rent a unit with some cooking or reheating possibilities.
There is a country store on the property but not a good choice for meal items unless you want chips or frozen ice cream treats.

Again, this resort is an acceptable choice if passing though for a night or two, as we were on our way back from Durango to Denver, but I would have been disappointed if I had planned this as a vacation destination. The resort is always packed in the summer, and you should make reservations months in advance.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My friends were married at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort recently, in fact I helped with many of the arrangements during the weekend and had a chance to interact with (read: ask for emergency help from) several staff members at the resort. In every case, the staff went the extra mile to help us out. I really cannot exaggerate the care with which many people there helped us. We did not go to the pools, I cannot comment on those, but the rooms were very pleasant and clean, and did I mention the amazing staff? 8-) Anyway, we were very impressed, and plan to come back later this summer for a quiet weekend of soaking and hiking.

Room Tip: Cliffside and hillside rooms are a significant distance away, and significantly uphill, plan to driv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This property didn't quite live up to its website. Rather than a luxury resort it seemed like a nice campground with spacious, fairly clean rustic feeling rooms. We were a bit disappointed that we needed to get in our car and drive from our room to the hot springs pool/front desk and restaurant. The pools were very nice and the creek was freezing. The staff was good. No cell service and the television had to be re booted upon arrival. Having said that if you want to get far away from it all and want to be near the geographical center of the Rocky Mountains then this is a great choice. Near many outdoor activities including horseback riding and white water rafting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236
Location: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.