We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Springs were neat - hotel and service lacked” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Hot Springs Tickets
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hot Springs were neat - hotel and service lacked”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for 1 night while on a trip to Colorado in the main lodge. The location was convenient for all pool and natural hot springs. The pools and natural hotsprings were worth the stop and experience. The hotel was average but clean. However, we called twice to have or television/cable fixed and they came but the problem was never resolved. One would have thought upon check out there may have been some sort of compensation but nothing... even when it was mentioned that we were surprised they didn't do anything for our inconvenience. On a plus note the bartender made a great margarita but their crab cakes lacked crab and had an abundance of filler.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Front Office Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. It is nice to know that you were pleased with our swimming/soaking facilities.

I apologize you had issues with the television which we were unable to resolve. We will be using your review as an example to our check-out agents to improve their sensitivity to guest comments.

We hope that you will return again and give Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort the opportunity to provide you with the service and experience you deserve.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    195
    85
    52
    34
See reviews for
229
217
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were looking for a hot springs + pool experience after spending the day rafting. It was 4th of July weekend, so we weren't surprised to see the place crowded as we drove in. But the manicured grounds and upscale hotel lobby got our hopes up for something more civilized and enjoyable than we actually encountered at the pools. Perhaps they were understaffed that day, but for $22 per person -- not including towels, which are $2 more, and not including a locker, even, which is another $2 -- we expected more. The 'historic' poolhouse was messy and ill-equipped, with used towels lying all over the so-called locker room (really just a changing area like one you might find at a state beach). The floor was wet and sloppy and there were no hooks on the wall for clothes, both of which made changing a bit of an ordeal. The deck area near the lower pools also had used towels lying around, plus food wrappers etc., with no attendants or cleanup staff present that we could see. So we walked up the hill to the upper pool, which is newer and has a water slide that my kids enjoyed, and found that the locker rooms there were only slightly better -- wet floors, no hooks, and shower water that had only one temperature that day: blazingly hot. (The attendant was aware of this and said something about how it varies with the river flow.) The upper pool itself is large and well designed, but they could use someone walking around with one of those nets, because there was a little more grass and dead bugs than I'm used to seeing in outdoor pools. Simple things like a prominent, clearly labeled place to put your used towels would make a big difference here; I saw people just tossing them onto spare chairs and the lawn as they left. The staff are young and clueless about customer service; they just need better management and training. And the whole pool complex needs a fresh look at how people actually use the place and how it can improve.

Room Tip: This review is just about the pool/hot springs complex; we didn't stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I want to first thank you for stopping in for a visit on your holiday weekend. I apologize that your time spent at the pools did not meet your standards. The resort handles a high volume of people, especially through the summer months and even more so during holiday weekends. This, however, is no excuse for the poor experience you had. During busy periods it can become a challenge for our staff to keep up with all the cleaning that we desire to take place at all times. I cannot be more apologetic.

Our Historic Bath House was originally built in the 1800’s and we are obligated to preserve the historic value when trying to remodel any portion of the building. We greatly appreciate your suggestions for better towel storage and will make sure to investigate further on how we can improve convenience for our guests.

What you describe in your review is by no means, a typical day spent at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs. It saddens me to hear that we dropped the ball. I can assure you that our staff and management will be even more diligent to insure that our guests do not leave feeling the way that you did.

Once again, we send our deepest apologies. We hope you will give Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort another chance to surpass your expectations sometime in the future.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Place gets sold out all the time. So why spend money on things like umbrellas for the pool aria or an easier access to the creek. Place is clean. Cliff side rooms are nice. Service in the hotel and restaurant is there but you have to ask for it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This resort is more YMCA family summer camp than a resort. It is a ok choice for a night or two passing through the area but probably not for a longer stay, unless you have tons of kids who are fine anywhere as long as there is a pool nearby. We stayed in a cliff side unit, which is the second most expensive room choice after the individual cabins. It was clean and large, nothing fancy, but comfortable and had an outdoor table and nice views. If you are a couple, I would suggest these units and not the inexpensive hillside units, which look like an old 1950's motel and tend to be jammed with families.

The resort is very spread out and you have to take the car to get around for the most part. The hillside units are near the family pool, but all other pools are a drive down and then also have a 50 step climb down the hill once you drive to the parking lot near the pools. There is an adults only relaxation pool but that requires walking though the original bathhouse, around the back of the building (narrow dirt pathway next to the creek below), up metal stairs at the back of the bathhouse, across a foot bridge built over the creek, and then you are there at the adults pool and club! No issue for fit people, but if you are coming to the hot springs because you feel it will be helpful for physical ailments, accessibility to the pools, except again the family pool with tons of kids and a water slide, is a issue to consider. The hot springs are not mineral springs, as are the ones in Pagosa Springs or Ouray, but there are enjoyable and would have been more so if the air temperature had not been 94 as it was when we were there.

There is only restaurant and because of Trip Advisor reviews about poor service and high prices, we brought food in from Salida and used the microwave and refrigerator in our unit. You can drive into Buena Vista for meals, but it is a 30 min round trip drive. So, I suggest bringing in food to eat and make sure you rent a unit with some cooking or reheating possibilities.
There is a country store on the property but not a good choice for meal items unless you want chips or frozen ice cream treats.

Again, this resort is an acceptable choice if passing though for a night or two, as we were on our way back from Durango to Denver, but I would have been disappointed if I had planned this as a vacation destination. The resort is always packed in the summer, and you should make reservations months in advance.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My friends were married at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort recently, in fact I helped with many of the arrangements during the weekend and had a chance to interact with (read: ask for emergency help from) several staff members at the resort. In every case, the staff went the extra mile to help us out. I really cannot exaggerate the care with which many people there helped us. We did not go to the pools, I cannot comment on those, but the rooms were very pleasant and clean, and did I mention the amazing staff? 8-) Anyway, we were very impressed, and plan to come back later this summer for a quiet weekend of soaking and hiking.

Room Tip: Cliffside and hillside rooms are a significant distance away, and significantly uphill, plan to driv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This property didn't quite live up to its website. Rather than a luxury resort it seemed like a nice campground with spacious, fairly clean rustic feeling rooms. We were a bit disappointed that we needed to get in our car and drive from our room to the hot springs pool/front desk and restaurant. The pools were very nice and the creek was freezing. The staff was good. No cell service and the television had to be re booted upon arrival. Having said that if you want to get far away from it all and want to be near the geographical center of the Rocky Mountains then this is a great choice. Near many outdoor activities including horseback riding and white water rafting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here to attend the wedding of a friend and enjoyed our time at the resort. The numerous pools and leisure options gave us ample ways to spend free time. However, to come on our own in the future is not likely.
The drive to Mt. Princeton from Denver is scenic, but very long. And don't speed on the way there--the cops are thick! :-)
Others here have mentioned the Cliffside rooms; we concur--they were probably not worth the additional charge, as these hotel rooms placed us significantly farther away from any of the resort's leisure options (we had to drive to everything we did at the resort). Though the views of the resort/valley below were nice, they did not justify the additional cost. Choose the hillside room option and save the extra costs, as well as gas in your car!
The housekeeping crew seemed disorganized as to whether our room needed servicing on their "lists"; we simplified things for them by asking for just towels and garbage service. That was not a problem.
The restaurant was also problematic for us (as others have reported). Getting a chicken breast "to go" order took 45 minutes. Maybe this is nitpicky, but ordering an entrée from the kids' menu should offer a vegetable option other than butter-fried onions, peppers, and zucchini. I don't know many *adults* who would eat that mix as a side dish, let alone kids. Many others in our party regularly experienced extremely long wait times (45+ mins.) in the restaurant as well. Most nights, we preferred to drive to town and support the local restaurants and then have leftovers the next day.
The pools were awesome! The hot pools are really hot! The waterslide was a blast and there are tennis and basketball courts on site for you as well.
Bottom line, if there is a compelling reason for you to come to Mt. Princeton (i.e. the hot pools), then you may want to check it out. Like I said, we enjoyed our time there. But determine if the value proposition is in your favor before you decide to come on your own.

Room Tip: Choose hillside hotel rooms over Cliffside, unless you are willing to pay more and be farther away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.