We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Relaxing Hot Springs with View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Hot Springs Tickets
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Relaxing Hot Springs with View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed 4 nights. We had at the spa resturant and the main resturant. Service was wonderful and food presentation great. Quantity was large portions, more than was needed. I am already wanting to go back.

Room Tip: Cabins by water. #3 and 5 are my favorite. This is not the area you would want to be in if you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you had a nice time. Hope to see you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    193
    84
    51
    34
See reviews for
227
214
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in a Cliffside room and it was good. The room was large and clean with a patio that had a fantastic view. The spa and relaxation pool (open to just overnight guests) was uncrowded and looked new. The old bath house and its pool looked funky and packed. The resort is in a very picturesque part of Colorado and the drive down on route 285 is very special. Didn't eat at the restaurant it was very busy and loud on Sunday morning.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is such a pleasure to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. We greatly appreciate your feedback and your business. We hope to see you back sometime in the future, please be sure to introduce yourself to a member of our management team.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Overall the updated hotel is fantastic. Don't waste your time eating at the restaurant, as the food and service is horrible. Service staff is generally rough and pretty discourteous. Slow waitstaff, untrained bartenders, gruff cleaning staff, unattenyuve front desk personnel... Basically they need to hire new people. Wedding was beautiful though!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I used to frequent Mt. Princeton for a 1-2 hour soak. We arrived a few days ago to see that property was recently updated. Their website stated $15 for a pass. When we arrived the unfriendly staff asked for $23 and would not honor the prices shown on the website. Will not be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

For our 12 year anniversary, I though Mt. Princeton would be a wonderful place to stay. I originally booked a Hillside room a few days before arriving. Upon arrival we were checked in by a rather surly front desk attendant. We arrived at the room and after trying to make the best of it decided the the room was not remotely worth $143 per night. The Hillside Rooms are similar to a strip motel from the 1960's. Although there are upgraded linens and a rather modern sink fixture, the room was pathetic. Hideous furniture, peeling plaster walls, drapes that do not shut completely, and stained carpet. We headed back to the lodge (where you check in) and told another attendant, who was a very polite and apologetic blonde girl, that the room was unacceptable. She asked us to wait a few minutes and came back to let us know that she was able to upgrade us to a cabin, which is the only reason that I am rating the property a "2". Out of all of the resort staff we encountered, this young woman, the bartender, and the two attedants at the spa (more on this later) were the only individuals who were polite and customer service oriented. The cabin was certainly a nice upgrade with a gas fireplace and a small kitchen area with anything you would need to fix a meal. Instead of eating at the resort we went into Buena Vista and had dinner at one of the many local restaurants.

After spending Saturday exploring the local area and having dinner in Salida, we headed back to the resort and were looking forward to a nice quiet evening in the relaxation pool. We headed down to the pool around 9pm expecting it to be relatively quiet and RELAXING. Yep, you guessed it, not so much. The Spa area is absolutely beautiful with comfortable chairs, a place to get a drink, and the locker rooms are very nice. The two desk attendants were polite and welcoming. The pool water was comfortable but this was not a quiet area as advertised. Between the 14-18 year olds and the college kids who thought it was appropriate to drink beer and do hand stands underwater, it became very loud, very quickly. We waited it out thinking they would head over to the hot tubs after a bit, but unfortunately that didn't happen. As we were leaving one of the attendants asked if we had enjoyed our "soak." I made a comment that it wasn't nearly as quiet as I expected and it was crappy the let the kids take over. His comment was there had been a wedding earlier and they were just relaxing. We weren't the only adults (between 35-55) who left as the college kids and teenagers were beginning to get loud and obnoxious.

When we checked out this morning we weren't asked how our stay was, did we have a nice time, or any other number of pleasantries one is typically asked by hotel staff. Instead they processed our card and handed us the receipt. I normally don't take the time to write reviews, but the website may lead you to believe that this is a 4-star resort with wonderful service and amenities. It's not. Truly a disappointment and as an event/conference planner I will never recommend this "resort" to anyone. Instead get yourself a decent room at either the Holiday Inn or Hampton Inn in Salida and get day passes to the Salida Hot Springs. You'll be much happier and save a few bucks as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed in a two-bedroom, 2-bath + loft cabin with friends (6 adults in total). The views are terrific. When you stay at one of the cabins, you get unlimited use of the standard pools, river area, as well as the newer pool (under the dome in winter) and 3 cascading pools. I believe there is also a pool for kids with a slide up on the hillside that is only open in summer. The facility is upgrading a lot of the area with new walkways and lighting. The pools and spa have already been upgraded and look great. The place has gotten more expensive (to pay for all these nice upgrades, I think) but we enjoyed our stay. Though our cabin would have slept more people, we are glad we didn't have more than 6 with only 2 bathrooms. The loft is huge! Beds were comfy with big comforters. The kitchen does not have an oven, which we knew in advance and worked around.

Room Tip: We were in cabin 15 - above the pools and spa but an easy walk on the walkways (they were adding mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittredge, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We did not stay at the resort but just visited for the day and purchased the $15 pass. We didn't see any reason to purchase the full spa pass for $35 as we got the full hot spring experience with the pools and river pool access. Don't forget to bring your own towels!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.