We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Save Saved
You added Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Nathrop
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

For our 12 year anniversary, I though Mt. Princeton would be a wonderful place to stay. I originally booked a Hillside room a few days before arriving. Upon arrival we were checked in by a rather surly front desk attendant. We arrived at the room and after trying to make the best of it decided the the room was not remotely worth $143 per night. The Hillside Rooms are similar to a strip motel from the 1960's. Although there are upgraded linens and a rather modern sink fixture, the room was pathetic. Hideous furniture, peeling plaster walls, drapes that do not shut completely, and stained carpet. We headed back to the lodge (where you check in) and told another attendant, who was a very polite and apologetic blonde girl, that the room was unacceptable. She asked us to wait a few minutes and came back to let us know that she was able to upgrade us to a cabin, which is the only reason that I am rating the property a "2". Out of all of the resort staff we encountered, this young woman, the bartender, and the two attedants at the spa (more on this later) were the only individuals who were polite and customer service oriented. The cabin was certainly a nice upgrade with a gas fireplace and a small kitchen area with anything you would need to fix a meal. Instead of eating at the resort we went into Buena Vista and had dinner at one of the many local restaurants.

After spending Saturday exploring the local area and having dinner in Salida, we headed back to the resort and were looking forward to a nice quiet evening in the relaxation pool. We headed down to the pool around 9pm expecting it to be relatively quiet and RELAXING. Yep, you guessed it, not so much. The Spa area is absolutely beautiful with comfortable chairs, a place to get a drink, and the locker rooms are very nice. The two desk attendants were polite and welcoming. The pool water was comfortable but this was not a quiet area as advertised. Between the 14-18 year olds and the college kids who thought it was appropriate to drink beer and do hand stands underwater, it became very loud, very quickly. We waited it out thinking they would head over to the hot tubs after a bit, but unfortunately that didn't happen. As we were leaving one of the attendants asked if we had enjoyed our "soak." I made a comment that it wasn't nearly as quiet as I expected and it was crappy the let the kids take over. His comment was there had been a wedding earlier and they were just relaxing. We weren't the only adults (between 35-55) who left as the college kids and teenagers were beginning to get loud and obnoxious.

When we checked out this morning we weren't asked how our stay was, did we have a nice time, or any other number of pleasantries one is typically asked by hotel staff. Instead they processed our card and handed us the receipt. I normally don't take the time to write reviews, but the website may lead you to believe that this is a 4-star resort with wonderful service and amenities. It's not. Truly a disappointment and as an event/conference planner I will never recommend this "resort" to anyone. Instead get yourself a decent room at either the Holiday Inn or Hampton Inn in Salida and get day passes to the Salida Hot Springs. You'll be much happier and save a few bucks as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    147
    72
    45
    29
See reviews for
183
174
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed in a two-bedroom, 2-bath + loft cabin with friends (6 adults in total). The views are terrific. When you stay at one of the cabins, you get unlimited use of the standard pools, river area, as well as the newer pool (under the dome in winter) and 3 cascading pools. I believe there is also a pool for kids with a slide up on the hillside that is only open in summer. The facility is upgrading a lot of the area with new walkways and lighting. The pools and spa have already been upgraded and look great. The place has gotten more expensive (to pay for all these nice upgrades, I think) but we enjoyed our stay. Though our cabin would have slept more people, we are glad we didn't have more than 6 with only 2 bathrooms. The loft is huge! Beds were comfy with big comforters. The kitchen does not have an oven, which we knew in advance and worked around.

Room Tip: We were in cabin 15 - above the pools and spa but an easy walk on the walkways (they were adding mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittredge, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We did not stay at the resort but just visited for the day and purchased the $15 pass. We didn't see any reason to purchase the full spa pass for $35 as we got the full hot spring experience with the pools and river pool access. Don't forget to bring your own towels!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I helped my daughter arrange her wedding with Mt Princeton's event coordinator Zelma. She was excellent, helped us customize the menu, suggested things like lemonade for the kids which was a hit, offered discounts on cabins, referred a great florist (Rancho Verde Flowers), helped us through the rehearsal, set everything up beautifully...she's just great.

The pavillion where we had the wedding was all glass doors and windows with rustic wood interior, great views, the dj's and keyboard player's sound systems were great in there, the food was really, really good, much better than the last three wedding's banquet-style hotel food we've experienced. The staff was good, food and alcohol service was timely and attentive, they let me know when we needed to re-order wine, allowed me to leave the bar open an extra half hour...the guests liked the cabins a lot (I'd recommend them over the regular rooms), and the hot springs were a big hit.

The whole experience exceeded the highest hopes we had, for an elegant/rustic mountain wedding.

Room Tip: Get a cabin, they're really nice. Rooms are ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I spent my honeymoon at Mt. Princeton 30 years ago, so it's hard for me to review it without remembering how it used to be. The "new" Mt. Princeton is aspiring to be a top of the line spa experience for folks that spend the night. Maybe that attracts some prissy, picky folks, but for us the great view, comfortable beds, laid back, helpful staff, and natural hot springs pools down by the creek still make this an outstanding way to spend a few days. The new amenities are beautiful and functional. There are some free yoga and pilates classes and lots of pricey massages for those that want them.
It's good to know if you are not among the wealthy: you can go to the hot springs for the day and enjoy the natural pools for $12- $20, depending on your age and the day of the week. The pools with more selections on the other side of the creek and posher dressing rooms are available for free the day of your overnight stay and the day after. We always deduct this expense from our overnight rate and find it worth the stay to be all in one place. The bigger your family, the bigger the savings here.
The Cliffside rooms are huge and have an outdoor table and chairs along with fridge and microwave, so if you are down-homers like us, you can make yourself at home and skip the restaurant except when you really want to go. There are cabins for rent as well which are new and comfy. The lodge rooms are smaller but closer to the pools.
We love this place and hope it will not be spoiled by its new glitz and customers. No more flopping pool cover but it still has nice customers and staff and lots of natural, flowing hot water to sit and relax in.

Room Tip: You can drive over to the spa side and park if the weather makes walking less pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I attended a mid-size wedding at the Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort. The stay was a mixed bag. We checked in and the front desk Staff were wonderful. They were very professional and greeted us warmly. They answered all of our questions and then some. Check-in was quick and painless. Our room was available and it was what I had reserved. And at my request, the front desk clerk even made immediate dinner reservations at their restaurant for us later that night. The main office area is part of the Lodge and it was pretty busy with foot traffic. They have a limited bar and a very nice restaurant in the main building. We were advised at check-in that they are required to tell visitors about their water’s high fluoride content and one of the desk clerks suggested we stick with the bottled water (free in the rooms).

As part of the event I received a discount on my room and decided to get the "larger and more spacious" Cliffside Room (higher on the hill) with 2 queen beds. The cost of the daily rack rate was not worth the room itself, but it did include a daily pass for the hot springs (which will be discussed later). The room left a lot to be desired and had we stayed for longer than 2 nights it would have been a problem. It just wasn't nice for the amount of money we paid: One chair and a small table in the main room, a HD television that was too small for the room size, the bathroom was way too small, the room had 2 tiny trash cans, there was no decorations or mirrors on the main room walls and the room just felt “cheap” like another poster noted: a highway truck stop style room. On the positive, the room was spacious with a high ceiling and the beds were comfy. The linens were clean and they had a nice array of bathroom amenities (soaps, shampoo). We did have a Kuerig coffee maker, but the selection was limited and they only provided paper cups instead of real mugs. The room did have a small fridge. Again, pretty low rent for a facility that charges these kinds of rates. It was relatively quiet in the room, but the doors separating the connecting rooms did not fit well and you could hear the other room pretty easy. A good example of this being a Motel type facility, the room keys open a single deadbolt lock on the outside of the door and it was the only lock on the door. I saw three different people leave their keys in the outside door lock after they entered. The only way to see who is at the door is to open the door or open the small window next to the door to see who is calling.

Moving to the outside, the parking lot is dirt/crushed road base and was a bit muddy. We were tracking dirt and mud into the room as we came and went. The patio door opened onto a deck that had a beautiful view of the canyon and Mt. Princeton. You could look down into the valley and see the entire resort. The deck area is actually a set of tiered cement decks that are all connected to the other rooms. Each deck had a severly weathered and sun-beaten wood table with four cushioned chairs. A beautiful setting like this was made distasteful by all of the cigarette butts in the dirt area around the decks. It is obvious the rooms are non-smoking, but the decks were not. They needed some kind of receptacle. In order to take in any activites at the resort you had to drive down the hill (in nice weather you could walk, but it's a trek).

Getting from the main office to the spa building and hot springs was tricky. In the morning, the wooden bridges had a thin layer of ice…..be careful. You had to enter the old historic spa building which allowed entry to the lap pool, the family pool and the river spots. In order to get to the Adult side or the new spa building, you had to navigate a semi-narrow path to the back side of the old building and take a set of stairs up and then a bridge over to the new building. That path isn’t too hard to maneuver during the daylight, but the three lights that were meant to light the path after dark were turned out or not turned on, making it a little frightening. A miss-step here and you drop about 10 feet into Chalk Creek and all its rocks.

The locker rooms were outstanding. A newly renovated facility with nice lockers, showers, steam and sauna were available for men and women. In addition, they had a uni-sex steam and sauna room just off the lobby. They had a nice juice bar that also served as a cocktail bar. Note: if you want a Bloody Mary from the juice bar, be aware they use their own mix at this bar and it is Cucumber based and pulpy (the main bar mixes it from scratch)…..I heard numerous guests commenting about this and they did not like it. In fact, one lady said the drink tasted “furry”. Again, the staff in the spa area was very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. The biggest problem with this area is that it reminded me of a Vegas Casino…NO CLOCKS. You had to ask at the desk if you wanted to know the time. Not sure why this is set-up like this, but it was a nuisance.

The hot springs are NOT hot mineral springs. In fact, most personal hot tubs are just as effective and probably have better sanitation. The Adult relaxation pool was still under the bubble because of winter, but the water was only in the low 90’s. Good for laps, but not for relaxing. The cascading pools (adult side) were enjoyable as the there are three temperature levels. However, because there is a lack of tables and chairs around the area, guests were having to drop their towels, robes and items on the grass and then tracked dirt and grass into the pools. One of the tubs had a light film floating on top of the water, there was dead grass floating in the water and the seats/walls had green grass/mold growing in spots. The water was just hot water…no chemicals or natural minerals. Except for the temperature (ranging from over 104 for the top pool down to the 90’s in the lower pool), there really was not any therapeutic value to the cascading pools. One of hte river pools did reach a temp of 118 the day prior to our arrival so it can be hit and miss.

We had a very nice dinner at the restaurant. I was worried to start with as the young lady that was acting as the hostess seemed to have an attitude and couldn’t crack a smile. Maybe it was her Euro-Russian upbringing, but she was matter of fact and didn’t cater to any light chit-chat or other pleasantries that most restaurants’ employ at the front of the house. While it did not affect what I was eating I later saw her drying water glasses and at the same time picking her nose. I thought it might be a one-time thing, but I saw her do it a second time (this time not while doing anything with dishes or food). It was just inappropriate. On the other hand, the chef surprised me. He/She put out a nice dinner. We started off with a crock of their French Onion Soup. The Chef used real Swiss cheese on top of a full piece of crouton. The crock was baked and the cheese was golden brown with a bit of crisp to it. The soup was hot with a lot of onions and a full rich beef broth. We had a full (small) loaf of fresh baked bread and a nice goat cheese salad (I recommend the Balsamic Vinegar dressing, though my wife liked the raspberry vinaigrette). I had Lamb (t-bones) and my wife had Prime Rib. A large quantity of food did not diminish one bit the excellent quality. Both meats were cooked to order. The sides (garlic mashed potatoes, baked potato and steamed asparagus) were nicely done. If you like Prime Rib the portion size was amazing. Once again, the staff (Joyce) was professional, friendly and met our needs during dinner. The staff worked well together assisting each other with duties of waiting on tables. They did have a limited bar selection (No Port or Dessert wines), but they do offer a nice selection of red and white wines, along with some of the basic spirits.

My wife and I enjoyed a couple’s massage at the spa. We were warmly greeted and the massage was nice. The price was fair. After being greeted and given instructions we changed in our appropriate dressing rooms and went into the massage area. While this was supposed to be quiet, it did get a little loud at times, but it did not distract from the massage. Ron and Sharon did the massages and were very professional and talked with each of us prior to beginning to get the best approach to making our massage relaxing and helpful. If you have the money (and why are you going to a resort if you don’t) I would urge you to splurge and get a single or couples massage. They did the best they could to pamper us, but seemed to lack some of the niceities you see at the bigger spas. For example, a glass of wine as part of the price while waiting would have been nice.

The wedding was held in the main center. It was a nice facility. There were glass sliding/folding style doors along both sides that made the room seem bigger, brighter and more airy. The staff had set-up the ceremony facing southwest towards the mountain range and except for the blazing sun shining through the windows above the Bride and Groom the view was beautiful. Upon completion of the ceremony, the staff moved the tables and chairs to accommodate the dinner. Again, everyone worked in unison and made this transition very smooth and fast. The chairs had been moved from the ceremony seating area to under the tables creating a dance floor.

Dinner was buffet style. The staff preceded the buffet with individual salads and bread to the tables. They were attentive to water and iced tea needs. The bar staff did a good job of keeping up with the various rushes. Once the buffet started, it was a prime rib/roast beef style beef, chicken with Marsala Sauce, garlic mashed potatoes and your choice of green beans or asparagus. The vegetarians in the group had their own fare, but were a little disappointed….it was a vegetable stuffed puff pastry. The serving staff would not allow them to get just mashed potatoes, green beans or asparagus as “they had their own vegetarian meal at the end of the buffet line”. For a buffet style meal, the food was tasty and at the appropriate temperatures. The only staff issue was the same restaurant hostess. Just not a good personality for working with the public or she was just having a bad weekend. One of our guests made a comment “hello or similar gesture” to her and she flashed a fake smile/smirk, shrugged and continued on her way.

Cabins: Part of the family stayed in one of the large family cabins. This was very, very nice. It was like a small house. They were able to rent out the “condo” downstairs and their whole family was able to stay with them. The rooms were nice, the kitchen area was spacious. It was cozy. I would recommend staying in the cabins if you have the means.

We attended a Sunday Bruch at the restaurant. It was probably my least enjoyable part of the weekend. They had to locate a bartender to make a couple Bloody Mary’s and Mimosas. The omelet chef did not have the right equipment or wasn’t using it correctly, as it was taking way too long to make an omelet. It was tasty once we got it, but just took too long. The selection was limited, but it is a small brunch: Eggs, bacon, sausage, pre-packaged cinnamon and cherry rolls, potatoes, biscuits and gravy and bagels/muffins. Limited fruits and cereals. They were able to seat us all together (large crowd) and once again, Joyce was all over it, getting us taken care of, drinks, refills, etc. Kudos to Joyce.

At checkout there were no surprises on the bill.

A few notes: If you are getting low on gas as you get near teh resort, fill up in Buena Vista or Jonson’s Village. You will save about 80 cents a gallon. St. Elmo in the Spring (and Winter) is a ghost town in more ways than one…..everything is pad-locked and the only activity is the snow mobiles hitting the trails. The streets were muddy and there was still a couple feet of snow. It’s a beautiful drive up there, but that’s all you get, a drive. Bring a little pocket cash as they do NOT have an ATM machine on site. The Hot Springs are open to the public (by way of purchasing a day pass, so you do get a little of the town crowd on the weekend). Don’t forget your camera.

In closing, overall it was nice, but not a 4 or 5-Star Resort setting. If you are budget minded then this may be a good choice. If you are looking for high end pampering, Hot Sulpher Springs or something with a therapeutic value besides a nice hot soak, then there are other places in Colorado that offer better choices (but you will pay for those).

Room Tip: Cliffside Rooms are not worth the cost if you want nice. Cabins are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in the Cliffside rooms which were average (not luxurious or bare bones) but large, clean, and in good condition. The property was attractive with the exception of a row of old rooms up on the hillside which appeared to be under renovation. The lodge and the pools were great -- a nice facility. We visited in early spring during the week and it was quiet, relaxing, and pleasant. An excellent value and I plan to return. This is near a lot of good hiking trails so would be a wonderful finale to a backpacking trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel
Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236
Location: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Nathrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.