We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in Morrison?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Prague

Cafe Prague
209 Bear Creek Ave, Morrison, CO 80465
+1 303-697-9722
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Prague is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Morrison
Cuisines: American, European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Morrison, Colorado
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Morrison?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Morrison is an escape-from-Denver town more known for its bars and grills than fine dining. But, Cafe Prague changes that paradigm with a cosy atmosphere, good service and a menu featuring Eastern European cuisine. It is also pricy ... which is the reason this Morrison resident only visits every year or so. However, we are never disappointed.

On this visit three of us ordered goulash, beef stroganoff and seafood newberg. The menu hasn't changed much over the years but there are specials ... the newberg being one of them. Accompanying the entrees was the choice of cream-of-mushroom soup or Cesar salad ... both good choices although the Cesar dressing had no anchovies. We compromised on a bottle of New Zealand Pinot Noir. There was a nice variety of rolls served with the appetizers. I had the newberg, and although it lacked the expected puff pastry topping, it was absolutely exquisite. It was accompanied by orzo pasta which I found an interesting and welcome departure from rice. Desert offerings were limited, but very nice. I opted for mango sorbet (that really tasted like mangos) and expresso coffee which was the perfect finish.

Service was European-attentive ... meaning no pressure to finish, but someone always around to help.

This is a specialty restaurant ... you don't want to visit if Eastern European isn't your goal. But what they do they do exceptionally well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    14
    4
    0
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Littleton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fraud INDEED!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Wanting to have a fun Morrison experience, we received the worst service ever last week. Our male server was cold, aloof, and clearly not interested in our dining experience. I am a server!!! I make my living serving people in a restaurant. So the fact that I left NO tip was a big deal. Only because I read the other reviews, did I learn that I was not the only victim of bad service. AND because of prior reviews, did I check my bank statement to learn that I was illegally charged a tip......funny the menu states that groups of 5 or more are charged 18%...Why was a group of 2 charged 20%??????? I clearly put a zero in the tip line. OUTRAGEOUS! Having read the other reviews, looks like contacting the owner will be to no avail! Sorry stain on the town of Morrison who relies on the locals... SHAME SHAME!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomas S, Owner at Cafe Prague, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
As an owner of café Prague, I need to respond to the reviews accusing us of fraud, calling us thieves. Shame on you. Show me the proof!!!!!!! How long did it take you to realize you were very wrong? I wish you had paid more attention to your bank agreement rules. Yes, if you are paying with the debit card, your bank will hold exactly 20% of your bill for a few days. But Café Prague have nothing to do with that. Did you get your money back from your bank? I am sure you did, since I have never heard anything from any of you again. An apology would be nice. Tomas Stibral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fraud”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Not only did we receive terrible service. Examples: Burnt steak no appolgy; never brought out bread until our entre; forgot our wine; had to grab the hostess to get our bill; took 55 mins to get our entres; also the owner yelled at us

Also the day after eating their I looked at my bank account and they had charged more then what I signed for. I'm having to dispute it with my credit card company!

I would not recommend this place to anyone

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomas S, Owner at Cafe Prague, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
As an owner of café Prague, I need to respond to the reviews accusing us of fraud, calling us thieves. Shame on you. Show me the proof!!!!!!! How long did it take you to realize you were very wrong? I wish you had paid more attention to your bank agreement rules. Yes, if you are paying with the debit card, your bank will hold exactly 20% of your bill for a few days. But Café Prague have nothing to do with that. Did you get your money back from your bank? I am sure you did, since I have never heard anything from any of you again. An apology would be nice. Tomas Stibral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver,colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A COUNTRY SURPRISE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food was terriffic. The service was even better. Authentic eastern European food. Reservation really a must. Cafe Prague is small. Almost European seating. Try the Chicken Corden Blue

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Prices, Great Service and Great Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

If you're looking for for something different in your dining experience besides the typical noisy din and less than attentive service of franchise restaurants, Cafe Prague is the place to go. From the moment you walk in, you are personally greeted by the owner and honestly welcomed to their place of business. The staff is professional and attentive without being pesky. Cafe Prague specializes in Eastern European (Czech/German) food. The food is eye-appealing, delicious and of sufficient quantity. You will leave pleasantly filled. We have tried the Schnitzels (veal, pork and chicken). All are excellent. Roast pork and dumplings with a wonderful brown sauce is excellent. Most dishes are served with sauerkraut and a tasty red cabbage (try it before you turn up your nose, you may be surprised!). The Beef Goulash and the Meat Loaf are definitely worth a try. A nice wine list and bar service complement your meal. Parking is across the street and complimentary. An "on the house" surprise awaits you at the end of your meal. By the way, plan ahead and bring cash or have a plan as they do NOT split the check. Overall , a wonderful dining experience. Reservations are definitely recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Prague also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.