We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jim & Linda's Wedding” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sundance Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sundance Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Sundance Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1865 Woodmoor Dr, Monument, CO 80132   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and SAVE!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monument
Saint Cloud, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Jim & Linda's Wedding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

When we first checked in quite disappointed in the location, condition of the property and the room itself. This is quite old and needs a lot of work. We were in Room 115, which did have an outside porch area and faced the pool. Our sliding door would not lock properly, thank heavens we had a large stick in the track.

There is a continental breakfast, wonderful coffee, however it was not replenished in a timely manner, could take over 20 minutes to get the staff to refill items.

The wedding was held at the facility and the staff did a wonderful job!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEO-on-the-go, Owner at Sundance Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I am glad to hear that the event was a big success, but sorry to hear that you did not get coffee in a timely manner. We have had issues with our sliding doors as they need to be upgraded. Hopefully we can get that done soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    33
    32
    27
    20
See reviews for
62
82
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great staff! Super friendly. In a great location when visiting the Air Force Academy. I have already booked my reservations for Graduation week...totally looking forward to it. Super pleased with the restaurant...great food!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEO-on-the-go, Owner at Sundance Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Make your plans early because we may already be sold out for Air Force Graduation. I am very pleased that you are coming back and that we lived up to your expectations. Indeed the food at Oakley's is wonderful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We just had our wedding here on 9/7/13 and it was amazing! It was a little frustrating originally as we went through 3 wedding planners; however, our last wedding planner (Renee), who I dealt with the most, was absolutely wonderful. She was very helpful in all of the planning and when I had questions. We had tons of friends and family stay here for the wedding and everyone raved that this was the best wedding they had ever been to. The food was great, the DJ (Springs Sounds, which is included in the venue) was amazing. Everyone raved about the DJ as he kept everyone involved! I loved the fact that all of the doors to the reception area open up to a large patio with tables. This way people could even stand out on the patio and still see what was happening inside and listen to the music. When we were originally looking for venues for our wedding, we chose Sundance Mountain Lodge because it seemed to be the best value, again, I loved the reception area and how it opened up to the patio area and I loved the fact that everyone could stay there and be together. We happen to have our rehearsal dinner there as well and that was awesome too. From the highway, this place looks like an average hotel; however, once you get inside, you would never know that this was just off the highway as it has the feel of a secluded mountain resort. The rooms are very nice, there is a creek running by some of the rooms and views of a pond. I could not have asked for a more perfect day or perfect place for my wedding!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEO-on-the-go, Owner at Sundance Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I am thrilled that your event went so well and that everyone could stay together for your event. It is a perfect location to do all of the events for the weekend: rehearsal, wedding ceremony, reception and after party and not have to bus guests around! I am glad you found that to be true. We have a wonderful and stable event staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san leandro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful stay there. Not fancy, fairly rustic, but that is it's charm! It's just off the highway a bit, but once inside, you are in a mountain lodge!
My room was clean, quiet, nicely decorated, and had a waterfall outside. The staff were al helpful and friendly. I didn't encounter any challenges, but I saw someone who did, and the manager, Jane, immediately went out of her way to see that he was happy.
This is a great place for a wedding, a reunion or other special event, the grounds are beautiful, with a view of Pike's Peak, and the location is so convenient! There is a pool and hot tub, and a great onsite restaurant with an awesome happy hour, good food and a nice wine selection with great prices.
I will definitely be back, and recommend it if you are looking for a Colorado Mountain experience just 50 miles from Denver!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEO-on-the-go, Owner at Sundance Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We do have some curb appeal issues, i must admit. But once people come in they really appreciate what we have done to the rooms, lobby and grounds. Thank you for taking the time to let others know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staff went way above and beyond. We were there for a wedding and service was great. Food was excellent. Nice casual atmosphere in the rest of the hotel. Great views. Rooms were very spacious and you could tell that they had been reworked recsently. Smores at night were a big hit out on the deck by the pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEO-on-the-go, Owner at Sundance Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I am glad you appreciate the decor and the setting we have created. I love having smores as an option as it really feels like Colorado! Thanks for the comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The promotional pictures on the internet tend to exaggerate. It is too close to the highway and needs to be isolated from the unattractive land and or property which is next to the hotel.

The main problems are that the t.v. s are old and the room service is poor. The staff had to be reminded twice to make the bed. We were compensated for this oversight . The breakfast was the ordinary complimentary.

They did have quite a crowd of people for two weddings and it must appeal to the locals.

Room Tip: Ask them if they have changed their room staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEO-on-the-go, Owner at Sundance Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your input, it helps us to improve our service to you as well as future guests. I'm proud to know our staff reacted to your dissatisfaction by giving a $20 per day discount for the period of your stay. I'll have my general manager look into the housekeeping issues you encountered, and I apologize for that.

The televisions are being replaced very soon; we are in the end process of these and other improvements right now. We truly are doing everything we can to improve our property and our commitment to our guests. We understand what people expect in a hotel and are working very hard to deliver just that. I appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I think this is the best lodge & hotel I ever stayed in from the service, to the location I really enjoyed myself I stayed there for 1 week and 2 days this was the cleanest, friendliest lodge I have ever stayed in. there was a great pool, Activities in the on house bar/restaurant which had amazing food and service I really enjoyed the live band. I have to say this was my best vacation I had in a long time thank you to the best staff in the world I have stayed in many hotels & lodges in my lifetime this by far the best around experience I have told everyone that tells me that they are planning a vacation they must stay there THANKS once again!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEO-on-the-go, Owner at Sundance Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sundance for your vacation! I love to hear good comments about our staff and about happy, relaxed guests. A quiet and reasonably priced vacation, can't beat that! Thanks for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundance Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Mountain Lodge

Address: 1865 Woodmoor Dr, Monument, CO 80132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Monument
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monument
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundance Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned, Sundance is a creative and scenic hotel with Colorado charm. Conveniently located on Interstate 25 just 15 minutes north of Colorado Springs. Pet friendly with walking trails and a pond we boast the fact that we are a "green" hotel.We also have wonderful meeting/event space and a friendly, locals' restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Sundance Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Mountain Hotel Monument

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundance Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.