We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff, large room, good breakfast but a bit out of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Montrose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Montrose to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Montrose
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1391 South Townsend Ave., Montrose, CO 81401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Montrose
Margate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff, large room, good breakfast but a bit out of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Tried to check in at 11.30 am but room not ready. However receptionist offered to allocate room which met our requirements as soon as one became available. Returned around 3pm and, true to her word, we were checked in immediately. Big room with fridge and efficient a/c. Bedding good quality. Hotel is at least 20 minutes walk to restaurants in town and 30 minutes to chilis in the opposite direction. Seeing the hotel van parked outside most of the time we were a bit surprised not to have been offered a lift (as most hotels in the franchise would normally have done) having said this we were very happy to have stayed

Room Tip: Away from elevator quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    16
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
12
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Ms. Fox, according to reviews, you once again exceeded expectations. We were 50 seniors traveling with Coffee Break Tours, "Trains Across The Colorado Rockies". Ms. Fox came onboard of our motorcoach to welcome us and briefly help us acquaint ourselves with the hotel. She remained available with other staff to direct us to the elevators, answer any questions, etc. They took care of our luggage expeditiously. Well, what can I say, THIS IS AN EXCELLENT PLACE. EXCELLENT STAFF. GREAT FOOD. Ms. Fox arranged with our tour owner/guide to have a cookout outdoors, but a private dining room for inclement weather. We used both. We had chicken terriyaki, hamburgers and brats with all the fixings. Everything was hot and fresh. Ms. Fox and her staff stayed at the serving table to make sure we had everything we needed and then some. There was a cash bar for those who partake with reasonable prices. There was potato salad, chips, desserts etc. HOW VERY NICE! And it was nice to stay at the hotel after a wonderful but tiring day touring. Our breakfast, again, hot and fresh with plenty of staff helping out. Staff kept refilling plates and cleaning each tables as it became available and sweeping the floor constantly. Don't know how they did it! We had sausage, biscuits, eggs scrambled and hard boiled, yogurt, cereal, bread, English muffins, bagels, muffins, bagels, milk, coffee, tea and juices. LOVED IT. Hope to be back here! There should be more Ms. Foxes at hotels. Then life on the road would be fantastic! THANKS EVERYONE!

Room Tip: we stayed in rm. 209 and it was clean, quiet, and everything worked very well. Good bedding and air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, NM
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros: We were welcomed by a nice, helpful staff. We were upgraded to a king suite with two sink areas. Good breakfast.
Cons: Poor water pressure in the shower. No towel rack near the second sink. The business center didn't seem well cared for. The printer needed ink, then the second computer wouldn't print at all.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontroseGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montrose, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking your time to write us review and thank your suggestion in regards of the towel rack for the second sink, we also appreciate very much the heads up on the "issues" you encountered at the business center.
We are very sorry we did not identify that the business center was lower in ink as we always have a new cartridge available for immediate replacement. Next time if you encounter any problems, please do not hesitate in talk about it with a front desk agent or any team member you see, we are here to serve you and to help you have the best experience possible.
We hope to see you again next time you visit our colorful Colorado.
Thank you for your feedback and your business.
Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had all kinds of problems on our trip but when we got here to this hotel, everything melted away! Rooms were great, staff were super nice and the facilities were wonderful. Can't say enough good stuff.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontroseGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montrose, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking you time to write us a review. We feel very pleased that your stay with us made all the stress "melt" away, and that you were able to relax and have a good time. We appreciate your very kind words to our team and our property, and would love to hear any suggestions you may have to help us improve our service to you.
Again, thank you for your feedback and your business.
Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just the average Holiday Inn. Clean, comfortable, and up to date. It's the staff though that make it worth ones time to stay. They are so welcoming and hospitable. Everyone I encountered was friendly and cheerful, especially the gal running the Breakfast.

She honestly was going above and beyond and did a wonderful job. She literally checked on every table seeing if she could get them anything and clearing empty plates from guests. She was consistently changing out the food trays replacing them with fresh ones. She was just doing such a great job.

I think the staff here really do a job providing top customer service and it shows they care.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontroseGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montrose, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking your yime to share your experience with us. We are so appreciative of your wonderful words to our team members. They really make a difference and the level of commitment and caring they deliver is genuine.
We are very happy to hear that you experienced their hospitality first hand.
If there is anything we could have done better, please do not hesitate in contacting us, we love to hear from our guests.
We are looking forward to see you again next time you visit our beautiful Montrose.
Thank you for your feedback and your business.
Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Check in was very fast and the staff very helpful and friendly. The room was as described and clean and odor free. The TV quality and choice of programing good, comfortable bed, and clean bathroom. The breakfast next morning was very good also. We will stay here the next time we are in Montrose.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontroseGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montrose, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking your time to lt us know about your experience and for considering us a "great choice", we are commited to offer the best service possible and we are pleased that you found everything up to your standards.
If you have any suggestion that would help us to serve you better do not hesitate to reach out ,we love to hear from loyal guests like you.
We are looking forward to see you next time you visit our beautiful Montrose.
Thank you for your feedback and your business.
Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was an okay size for one (or a couple) nights. Beds were really comfortable. I always get excited if there is a bathtub to soak in. Loved it when we saw "soft" and "firm" embroidered on pillowcases. Unfortunately all the pillows were the same - equally soft with no support. When I shared this with manager she immediately took action. As a vegan there wasn't a huge choice at the breakfast - it was great that they did have oatmeal, raisins and walnuts, as well as apples and bananas. Hubby found the choice superb - Greek and regular yogurt, cheese omelettes, variety of bagels, English muffins, station to make pancakes. Various pastries including freshly baked cinnamon rolls, to mention but a few. Truly a place we would stay at if in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontroseGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montrose, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking your time to write us a review, and for the heads up in regards to the pillows, we are sorry for not taking action before, but we are pleased that you were satisfied with the outcome, and that you and your husband enjoyed the breakfast selection, IHG is commited to introduce more healthy options every day, and if you have any suggestions regarding it it will be our pleasure to pass it on to corporation, they will love to hear it!
We hope you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful Black Canyon and the Mesa Verde National Park, and we are looking forward to see you again next time you visit our area.
Thank you for your feedback and your business.
Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Montrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Montrose

Address: 1391 South Townsend Ave., Montrose, CO 81401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Montrose
#3 Business Hotel in Montrose
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Montrose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Montrose, Colorado offers Newly Renovated Clean and comfortable luxury located in the heart of Montrose offering the most complete services and amenities for the business and leisure traveler. Seven meeting rooms for conference and banquets for up to 450 people. Business suites are available. Packages available including golf, romance, and many others. Each room has its own iron, board, hair dryer and coffeemaker. Free Airport shuttle available. 15 minutes from the breathtaking Black Canyon National Park, and the gateway to Southwest Colorado and Telluride. Newly renovated business center, pool, hot tub, and airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Montrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Montrose - Townsend Hotel Montrose
Holiday Inn Montrose
Montrose Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Montrose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.