We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Canyon Motel

Save Saved
You added Black Canyon Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Canyon Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 East Main, Montrose, CO 81401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Montrose
Newport, South Wales
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Handy stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

Good service. Large clean room with good range of facilities. Shame we were only there for the one night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    73
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
34
65
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2006

After reading the previous reviews, even though they were written some time ago, we made reservations to stay at the Black Canyon Motel. When given the key to our room, I opened the door to a strange odor, looked up to see the fire alarm hanging by the wires and walked out of the room back to the front desk, where the kind gentleman accepted my decline to spend the night. I might add there were others checking in who decided to stay. Why? I don't know, but I would like to see their reviews posted here.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jk9855, Manager at Black Canyon Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2009
Our staff continues to strive to provide excellent service to our guests and a great place to stay the night while in Montrose. Although I am discouraged that a different room was not offered to our guest, I am pleased that our employee on duty did the right thing. In the last few years we have tried to continually add to our facility the amenities that are needed by our guests, and would like to welcome those who have not been here in a while to come by and see our progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2006

We stayed there in Nov. 05 for our visit to Black Canyon. The manager was very nice, helpful and very friendly. He offered us a lot of information about local activities, restaurants and area attractions. Reception area was very clean and nicely decorated in X-Mas theme. Fresh breakfast was served in the morning. All utensils were clean and sanitzed. Breakfast included fresh made waffles, assorted imported flavor teas (not Lipton or Tetley), different cereals, fresh fruit, granola bars, bagels, donuts, bread, OJ, milk, etc. High-Speed internet was also available and we made a good use of it. :-)

Room: We had a super clean, refreshing and spacious room. Toiletries included individually packed, Pantene brand shampoo, conditioner and Dove brand body wash as well as quality brand soap. Carpet, towels and bed sheets were absolutely clean. I think we had a fridge, micowave and coffee maker as well.

Our overall stay was extremely pleasant. Everything was simply superb!!!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2005

Great place. Low prices, CLEAN, TV, microwave and free internet. The beds were comfortable with nice pillows and sheets. Our room had a vauled ceiling with a dark wooden beam - it was really nice. Also - the bath tub was deep enough to take a bath. Would stay here again in a heart beat.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2004

The Black Canyon Inn was a great place for myself and my seven hunting buddies. We were treated verry well by the owners and all their staff. What I really liked was the black canyon Inn has parking for quad trailers. We would come in from hunting and never had to worry about parking our trailers. We brought in a lot of mud from the hills of Montrose, and was never hasseled in any way. I just wanted to say thanks for a wonderful week at the Black canyon Inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Motel

Address: 1605 East Main, Montrose, CO 81401
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montrose
#5 Family Hotel in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Canyon Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Western Slope of the Rocky Mountains, the Black Canyon Motel offers newly renovated rooms with the comforts of home. All rooms come with WIFI accessibility, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker for guest use. We offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast every morning which includes a variety of cereals, pastries, waffles, fresh fruit, and more. Located minutes away from Black Canyon National Park. At the Black Canyon Motel our guests are family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Black Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Montrose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Canyon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.