We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black Canyon Motel, Montrose, CO” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Canyon Motel

Save Saved
You added Black Canyon Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Black Canyon Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 East Main, Montrose, CO 81401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Montrose
COLORADO SPRINGS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Black Canyon Motel, Montrose, CO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times. The motel was remodeled just a few years ago, so it is still quite clean and comfortable.

The rooms are of average size for a motel of this type, and have refrigerators and microwaves. The lighting is a bit low with the curtains drawn, but more than sufficient with the curtains open a bit. The bathrooms are somewhat small, but still sufficient. The only area that is just not quite large enough is the breakfast area. The parking lot was refinished during the remodeling so it is still smooth and there are enough spaces that you can usually park close to your room.

Overall, the motel represents a very good value for the price of the rooms.

It is located on Main Street in Montrose, about a half mile from the older section of downtown, where there are numerous stores and eating establishments, with many more on North and South Townsend Avenue.

Room Tip: Not much choice here, rooms all face pretty much South, toward Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    65
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
29
56
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel was fine, clean and tidy. Owners are interested in keeping a good motel and provided a nice breakfast too. Plenty of variety at this place. Pool was good for the kids.
Plenty of space in the hotel room too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I liked the end of town it was in, just a few miles from the Black Canyon of the Gunnison. It was clean, and people was nice. Did hear some noise from the highway but did not bother me . There was places to eat close by without having to drive to them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Clean and well priced but loud. Could hear neighbors tv so well that I could understand the words. Woken at 6am by footsteps from above. Not a restful night. Nice folks, good location but I'd go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed here on our way to the East Coast. I selected this hotel because of the good reviews and the price. The outside of the hotel is a little run down but the room was very nice. Everything was clean and the micro and frig are a good plus at this price. The free breakfast was just okay. The selections were all carbs with the exception of a couple of apples. Overall, it is a good place if money is an issue.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Me and my boyfriend booked a room in Montrose town as we intended to look at the Black Canyon. We stayed in motels before, and were amaised with a spacious room and a big bathroom here! Frige and microwave in the room is a plus. Continental breakfast enclosed in the room rate is nice. A noisy AC maybe a point of dissatisfaction, but we were so tired that didn't hear it soon after we fell asleep. The most important for us was internet access, and we'd like to have more fast wi-fi. Anyway, in case of visiting Montrose again we'll book a room at the Black Canyon motel with no doubt!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burghausen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This house is located ideal to start an excursion to the black Canyon of the Gunnison. And the price is absolutely ok, everything is a bit more lovely than in other motels- starting with the breakfast. They provide apple and banana, which we never saw in one of the other lodgings we had.We felt welcome and comfortable, so we would definitely stay ther

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Motel

Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Montrose
Black Canyon Hotel
Address: 1605 East Main, Montrose, CO 81401
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Canyon Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Western Slope of the Rocky Mountains, the Black Canyon Motel offers newly renovated rooms with the comforts of home. All rooms come with WIFI accessibility, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker for guest use. We offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast every morning which includes a variety of cereals, pastries, waffles, fresh fruit, and more. Located minutes away from Black Canyon National Park. At the Black Canyon Motel our guests are family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Black Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Canyon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.