We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Canyon Motel

Save Saved
You added Black Canyon Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Canyon Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 East Main, Montrose, CO 81401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Montrose
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed here on our way to the East Coast. I selected this hotel because of the good reviews and the price. The outside of the hotel is a little run down but the room was very nice. Everything was clean and the micro and frig are a good plus at this price. The free breakfast was just okay. The selections were all carbs with the exception of a couple of apples. Overall, it is a good place if money is an issue.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    78
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
41
67
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Me and my boyfriend booked a room in Montrose town as we intended to look at the Black Canyon. We stayed in motels before, and were amaised with a spacious room and a big bathroom here! Frige and microwave in the room is a plus. Continental breakfast enclosed in the room rate is nice. A noisy AC maybe a point of dissatisfaction, but we were so tired that didn't hear it soon after we fell asleep. The most important for us was internet access, and we'd like to have more fast wi-fi. Anyway, in case of visiting Montrose again we'll book a room at the Black Canyon motel with no doubt!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burghausen
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This house is located ideal to start an excursion to the black Canyon of the Gunnison. And the price is absolutely ok, everything is a bit more lovely than in other motels- starting with the breakfast. They provide apple and banana, which we never saw in one of the other lodgings we had.We felt welcome and comfortable, so we would definitely stay ther

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights here. Nice place to stay. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Location of the motel is great. Easy to get in and out of. Very quiet. Beds are very comfortable. A/C worked really well. Each room has chair outside the room to sit and relax and enjoy the outdoors.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A group of 6 booked to stay for one night but enjoyed it so much, we all stayed another night. The room was very clean & tidy. Excellent shower, comfortable bed & pillows (very important to us). Staff were extremely friendly & helpful. Breakfast was good, adequate. The pool was clean & refreshing. If we ever pass this way again, we would surely stay here. Well recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We wer going to the South Rim, but the rain started so we tuned into this motel. The rates were good the pool looked good and the overall feeling was good. Far enough off the road for noise. Close enough to the liquor store and restaurants so we didn't need to use the cycle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

They went above and beyond for us. It was our anniversary weekend and we didn't want anything to ruin it. My husband is highly sensitive to things like scented laundry soap or fabric softners. They went out and bought new sheet sets and a blanket for the room. Also, when I called before we even arrived I asked a really weird request. Vinegar help absorb odors so asked if they would put a bowl of vinegar in the room just in case. It worked! My husband didn't get sick once the whole trip. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Motel

Address: 1605 East Main, Montrose, CO 81401
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Canyon Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Western Slope of the Rocky Mountains, the Black Canyon Motel offers newly renovated rooms with the comforts of home. All rooms come with WIFI accessibility, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker for guest use. We offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast every morning which includes a variety of cereals, pastries, waffles, fresh fruit, and more. Located minutes away from Black Canyon National Park. At the Black Canyon Motel our guests are family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Black Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Montrose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Canyon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.