We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING ROOMS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Canyon Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Black Canyon Motel to your Saves list
Black Canyon Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 East Main, Montrose, CO 81401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Montrose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING ROOMS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I found this place while traveling thru colorado, it came up on my gps when i was looking for a hotel for the night. I called several places in town and they were all about $5.00-$25.00 more than the Black Canyon. When i arrived the man at the front desk was very polite and friendly. He got me checked in really fast, so i went to the room and when I opened the door i couldnt belive what i got for under $50.00. This room was excellent!!! 2 queen size beds in there own part of the room (not just side by side) with a whirlpool bath tub, a huge wash room with 2 seperate sinks and mirrors, a giant flat screen tv, and a window view overlooking the mountains. I would stay at this hotel again!! Now there are other hotels in town but i dont think you will find a bigger room with that kind of view anywhere around there.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs....the view is amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    90
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
46
79
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Haven
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The first thing I encountered was a barely plowed parking lot. The second thing I encountered was a check-in clerk with almost no personality. The third thing I encountered was a room where the heat was not turned on. Why can't the heat be turned on when the hotel management knows your coming? I called about one hour before arriving. Breakfast? Well, not much. The only good thing is that the prices were posted on the internet unlike the other who had "Call" prices.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I do business a lot in Montrose and wouldn't even consider another hotel. Clean, great location, comfortable beds a huge plus, and great service many many things to do close by. I stayed there usually a week at a time and have had zero issiues. Thanks John :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was truly pleasantly surprised with the accommodations. I stayed there in October with my dog. All the great comments in the reviews are accurate, and I am booking another stay in January. Need I say more? I loved this place!

Room Tip: There is a "dog relief" area between and behind the two buildings. If you have a dog, let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The rooms are very clean! Also, very comfortable - nice bed. All of the essential needs - microwave, coffee, etc.

One of the most comfortable and reasonably priced motels we've stayed in.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Good food selection with the Breakfast.

Room Tip: Either the King size or Queen is an excellent choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

When I opted for a room at the Black Canyon Motel I guessed I would have gotten a good accomodation according to the Tripadvisor reviews I had previously checked. My experience proved this motel to be even better, to be one of the few deserving the top rate. For a very competitive rate I was given a large clean room, actually a suite composed of two rooms, the first one furnished with a double bed, the second one with two single beds. Fridge, microwave and a coffee maker were included, always a plus to me. The double bed where I slept in was comfortable and the wi fi connection worked well. In the morning, amazingly for this price range, was even offered a good and varied breakfast. Adding that the motel is located close to downtown and the managers are kind, polite and professional I feel like saying the Black Canyon Motel is one of the best deals you can get in Montrose. For sure my motel when I'll return to town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is motel is a surprise. It looks old (it is) but once inside your room it looks brand new. Clean, comfortable beds, clean bathroom, nice shower and an excellent value. The lobby is spartan but unless you are accustomed to sleeping in motel lobbies that will not detract from your stay. TV has good reception and free WiFi is fast. Basically, you get a 4 star room for a 2 star price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Motel

Address: 1605 East Main, Montrose, CO 81401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Montrose
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Canyon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Western Slope of the Rocky Mountains, the Black Canyon Motel offers newly renovated rooms with the comforts of home. All rooms come with WIFI accessibility, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker for guest use. We offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast every morning which includes a variety of cereals, pastries, waffles, fresh fruit, and more. Located minutes away from Black Canyon National Park. At the Black Canyon Motel our guests are family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Black Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Montrose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Canyon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.