We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go wrong.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Canyon Motel

Save Saved
You added Black Canyon Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Canyon Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 East Main, Montrose, CO 81401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Montrose
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I do business a lot in Montrose and wouldn't even consider another hotel. Clean, great location, comfortable beds a huge plus, and great service many many things to do close by. I stayed there usually a week at a time and have had zero issiues. Thanks John :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    78
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
41
67
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was truly pleasantly surprised with the accommodations. I stayed there in October with my dog. All the great comments in the reviews are accurate, and I am booking another stay in January. Need I say more? I loved this place!

Room Tip: There is a "dog relief" area between and behind the two buildings. If you have a dog, let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The rooms are very clean! Also, very comfortable - nice bed. All of the essential needs - microwave, coffee, etc.

One of the most comfortable and reasonably priced motels we've stayed in.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Good food selection with the Breakfast.

Room Tip: Either the King size or Queen is an excellent choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

When I opted for a room at the Black Canyon Motel I guessed I would have gotten a good accomodation according to the Tripadvisor reviews I had previously checked. My experience proved this motel to be even better, to be one of the few deserving the top rate. For a very competitive rate I was given a large clean room, actually a suite composed of two rooms, the first one furnished with a double bed, the second one with two single beds. Fridge, microwave and a coffee maker were included, always a plus to me. The double bed where I slept in was comfortable and the wi fi connection worked well. In the morning, amazingly for this price range, was even offered a good and varied breakfast. Adding that the motel is located close to downtown and the managers are kind, polite and professional I feel like saying the Black Canyon Motel is one of the best deals you can get in Montrose. For sure my motel when I'll return to town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is motel is a surprise. It looks old (it is) but once inside your room it looks brand new. Clean, comfortable beds, clean bathroom, nice shower and an excellent value. The lobby is spartan but unless you are accustomed to sleeping in motel lobbies that will not detract from your stay. TV has good reception and free WiFi is fast. Basically, you get a 4 star room for a 2 star price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Recently updated and very nice employees. I arrived about 9:30 at night and was welcomed with an open office door and a very friendly night clerk. The Continental breakfast was good but not elaborate and the morning desk clerk was as friendly as the night person. My only concern was the extra firm mattress but that seems to be the norm at budget priced motels. I had an end room which usually means a poor WiFi signal but it was very strong. The shower head was very nice.

Room Tip: The end rooms have an outside balcony that is very nice and unusual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very nice stay at the Black Canyon. Another older property that has been updated by the owners. Wifi, larger than average rooms and a plentiful breakfast (included) made for a very pleasant stay. Think about making a reservation - it was packed during our stay (Wednesday night) - to make sure you have a room.

Staff was attentive and friendly - I'll be back.

Room Tip: They do have some rooms with three beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Motel

Address: 1605 East Main, Montrose, CO 81401
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Canyon Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Western Slope of the Rocky Mountains, the Black Canyon Motel offers newly renovated rooms with the comforts of home. All rooms come with WIFI accessibility, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker for guest use. We offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast every morning which includes a variety of cereals, pastries, waffles, fresh fruit, and more. Located minutes away from Black Canyon National Park. At the Black Canyon Motel our guests are family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Black Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Montrose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Canyon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.