We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Best of the West"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Canyon Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Black Canyon Motel to your Saves list
Black Canyon Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 East Main, Montrose, CO 81401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Montrose
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Junction, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Best of the West"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was truly pleasantly surprised with the accommodations. I stayed there in October with my dog. All the great comments in the reviews are accurate, and I am booking another stay in January. Need I say more? I loved this place!

Room Tip: There is a "dog relief" area between and behind the two buildings. If you have a dog, let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    91
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
47
80
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The rooms are very clean! Also, very comfortable - nice bed. All of the essential needs - microwave, coffee, etc.

One of the most comfortable and reasonably priced motels we've stayed in.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Good food selection with the Breakfast.

Room Tip: Either the King size or Queen is an excellent choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

When I opted for a room at the Black Canyon Motel I guessed I would have gotten a good accomodation according to the Tripadvisor reviews I had previously checked. My experience proved this motel to be even better, to be one of the few deserving the top rate. For a very competitive rate I was given a large clean room, actually a suite composed of two rooms, the first one furnished with a double bed, the second one with two single beds. Fridge, microwave and a coffee maker were included, always a plus to me. The double bed where I slept in was comfortable and the wi fi connection worked well. In the morning, amazingly for this price range, was even offered a good and varied breakfast. Adding that the motel is located close to downtown and the managers are kind, polite and professional I feel like saying the Black Canyon Motel is one of the best deals you can get in Montrose. For sure my motel when I'll return to town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is motel is a surprise. It looks old (it is) but once inside your room it looks brand new. Clean, comfortable beds, clean bathroom, nice shower and an excellent value. The lobby is spartan but unless you are accustomed to sleeping in motel lobbies that will not detract from your stay. TV has good reception and free WiFi is fast. Basically, you get a 4 star room for a 2 star price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Recently updated and very nice employees. I arrived about 9:30 at night and was welcomed with an open office door and a very friendly night clerk. The Continental breakfast was good but not elaborate and the morning desk clerk was as friendly as the night person. My only concern was the extra firm mattress but that seems to be the norm at budget priced motels. I had an end room which usually means a poor WiFi signal but it was very strong. The shower head was very nice.

Room Tip: The end rooms have an outside balcony that is very nice and unusual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very nice stay at the Black Canyon. Another older property that has been updated by the owners. Wifi, larger than average rooms and a plentiful breakfast (included) made for a very pleasant stay. Think about making a reservation - it was packed during our stay (Wednesday night) - to make sure you have a room.

Staff was attentive and friendly - I'll be back.

Room Tip: They do have some rooms with three beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
248 hotel reviews
Reviews in 182 cities Reviews in 182 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

the room was large and very clean with in-room coffee, fridge, microwave and 60 cable channels. breakfast was excellent- oatmeal, cold cereal, pastries. good internet rate. relatively quiet at night.

the location was good- near a dollar store, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Black Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Motel

Address: 1605 East Main, Montrose, CO 81401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Montrose
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montrose
#6 Family Hotel in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Canyon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Western Slope of the Rocky Mountains, the Black Canyon Motel offers newly renovated rooms with the comforts of home. All rooms come with WIFI accessibility, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker for guest use. We offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast every morning which includes a variety of cereals, pastries, waffles, fresh fruit, and more. Located minutes away from Black Canyon National Park. At the Black Canyon Motel our guests are family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Black Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Montrose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Canyon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.