We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value - great rooms and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Canyon Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Black Canyon Motel to your Saves list
Black Canyon Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 East Main, Montrose, CO 81401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Montrose
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent value - great rooms and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very nice stay at the Black Canyon. Another older property that has been updated by the owners. Wifi, larger than average rooms and a plentiful breakfast (included) made for a very pleasant stay. Think about making a reservation - it was packed during our stay (Wednesday night) - to make sure you have a room.

Staff was attentive and friendly - I'll be back.

Room Tip: They do have some rooms with three beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    96
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
49
89
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
257 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

the room was large and very clean with in-room coffee, fridge, microwave and 60 cable channels. breakfast was excellent- oatmeal, cold cereal, pastries. good internet rate. relatively quiet at night.

the location was good- near a dollar store, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Black Canyon Motel is not a fancy motel but very clean. I was impressed. It was the first road trip trying to take our dogs with us. We paid only $10 a night extra for both of them. I was wondering if we would get a room that smelled like animals but absolutely not. They have a small breakfast everying morning, more of a continental breakfast. There are bagels, rolls, waffles and cereals. The orange juice and coffee was weak.

All in all, we had a great stay and we love visiting Montrose and family that live there.

Schrahs

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great little motel on the outskirts of Montrose and within walking distance of a good restaurant the Red Barn, clean rooms, and very functional aircon. Neat and tidy establishment and very reasonable room rates.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Can only confirm what most reviewers said - a very good choice, especially if you want to explore the Black Canyon. Clean, friendly, reasonably quiet (even though it is on highway 50), well priced. Good breakfast too, and the owner is very attentive and accommodating. We came down very late for breakfast the one morning - he would just leave things there for us, brought fresh coffee out etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant Butte, New Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Visiting Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park? If you choose this motel, you won't be disappointed. I can't add much more than what has already been said by other reviewers except to say that their comments are correct to my knowledge. My wife and I stayed in #101, down at the west end. The room had a second door that led out to a little patio with a picnic table; very handy. I found the desk clerk very friendly and chatty and welcoming. We slept well and enjoyed our one night stay. This is a great value and its location is convenient for visitors to the park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TABERNASH
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

John, the owner is so friendly & accommodating. Great outdoor pool & hot tub. Plus a little play area for kids. Simple continental breakfast with bagels, donuts, waffles. & cereals.Rooms r clean & comfy! My family & I plan on returning soon!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
0.1 mi away
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Montrose
Hampton Inn Montrose
#4 of 11 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stay Wise Inn - Montrose
Stay Wise Inn - Montrose
#7 of 11 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 11 in Montrose
3.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Montrose
Super 8 Montrose
#2 of 11 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Montrose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Motel

Address: 1605 East Main, Montrose, CO 81401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montrose
#6 Family Hotel in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Canyon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Western Slope of the Rocky Mountains, the Black Canyon Motel offers newly renovated rooms with the comforts of home. All rooms come with WIFI accessibility, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker for guest use. We offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast every morning which includes a variety of cereals, pastries, waffles, fresh fruit, and more. Located minutes away from Black Canyon National Park. At the Black Canyon Motel our guests are family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Black Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Montrose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Canyon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.