We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel! U can't beat the value at $65/night thru hotelcoupons.com!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Canyon Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Black Canyon Motel to your Saves list
Black Canyon Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 East Main, Montrose, CO 81401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Montrose
TABERNASH
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great motel! U can't beat the value at $65/night thru hotelcoupons.com!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Super value! Clean. Great outdoor pool & hot tub. Perfect. Owner is extremely friendly too. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    89
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
44
77
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night here, no complaints, large comfortable bed, clean room and good breakfast. Not too far out of the town centre so were able to walk in and enjoy the local pubs.

Would recommend if you need a stop over while travelling.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We had a nice stay here. Very convenient to Black Canyon NP. Clean room. Best blueberry muffins ever for breakfast.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We based this stay on TripAdvisor recommendation, looking for higher rankings, but lower prices and preferring to stay away from chain motels. This fit the bill and met our needs. We spent a little extra for the three queens room and made a good choice as their were two beds in a back room for our kids and one in the front for us. The kids also enjoyed the pool and we appreciated the amenities of fridge, micro and wifi. Breakfast the next morning was also good.

Exterior could use some refreshing so curb appeal isn't what it could be, but for an overnight or short term stay, this fits the bill.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My family went to visit family in Montrose and chose this hotel based upon reviews. However, my family encountered bugs in the room every night and the mgmt response was $20 off the total of a 3 night stay when each night was $110. Won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Reservations were made over the phone after looking at the reviews on tripadvisor. The woman with whom I spoke was very pleasant and gave me a choice of rooms. I chose the king room with the private balcony for $10.00 more. Pleasant check in and the room was upstairs on the very west end of the hotel. Parking was plentiful and easy access to stairs. The room was large and had a fridge, microwave and large TV. It is obvious that the management has taken steps to upgrade this hotel as the bathroom had a new shower and jacuzzi tub (small), new toilet and flooring. The entire room was very clean. The private balcony was large although looked out towards Hwy 50. It was too hot outside to use anyway and the air conditioner worked great. King bed very comfortable and had a great nights sleep. Overall, a great value!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We chose this place for it's location and honestly also for the good rate offered. It's great if you're planning to visit the Black Canyon NP, because it's right next to the road that will lead you to the NP. Actually, driving time to visitor's center is about 20 minutes. Motel has outside pool, the rooms look a bit worn-off. The promised deluxe continental breakfast means that in a small room with 4 tiny tables you can serve yourself from 2 jars of milk, some cereals and a coffee maker. I don't need some extra 4 courses breakfast but this was far from deluxe. On the other hand, the rate was really good and we spent here just some 10 hours total because we arrived from Canyonlands NP (Moab) had a sleep and continued to Black Canyon and then down the Million dollar highway (which was really spectacular!!!) to Mancos.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Motel

Address: 1605 East Main, Montrose, CO 81401
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Canyon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Western Slope of the Rocky Mountains, the Black Canyon Motel offers newly renovated rooms with the comforts of home. All rooms come with WIFI accessibility, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker for guest use. We offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast every morning which includes a variety of cereals, pastries, waffles, fresh fruit, and more. Located minutes away from Black Canyon National Park. At the Black Canyon Motel our guests are family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Montrose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Canyon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.