We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Canyon Motel

Save Saved
You added Black Canyon Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Black Canyon Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 East Main, Montrose, CO 81401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Montrose
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at the Black Canyon for a week while I was on business. Rates were outstanding. Very clean hotel. I had absolutely no problems.
Beds are very comfy, the help very friendly. I'll be back in Montrose and staying there for sure.
Thank you for a great stay, I love it when I have no issues staying for a week.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    65
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
29
56
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mena, AR
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Stayed here 1 night during business travel and was pleasantly surprised at the good quality for the low price. If you are in this area and need a place to stay, don't fear staying here. We arrived late and found that our windows were open. If I had been traveling alone this would have made me uncomfortable. The owner was pleasant although it was difficult communicating over the phone about our late arrival due possibly to language differences?

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs is less exposed especially in the summer if you want to open the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed here based on TripAdvisor reviews while we hiked in Black Canyon National Park. It lived up to all our expectations. Large, very clean rooms with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. They even gave me a discounted price for the entire stay based on a welcome center coupon I found. Close enough to main street to walk. Would HIGHLY recommend to anyone staying in the area. Best value during our entire Rockies National Park road trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Black Canyon Motel lived up to all the great reviews by tripadvisor patrons. The bedroom & bathrooms were clean & comfortable. Very quiet & perfect location on Main Street in Montrose. Spacious breakfast area with wonderful waffles, juice, tea, coffee, bagels, rolls, & cereals. It is the best value for for best price. It was my first stay & I would definitely recommend the Black Canyon Hotel to everyone.
Very friendly & helpful personnel in office. A true family owned facility, do try it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

After a long day's ride on our Harleys we ended up at the Black Canyon Motel, very basic, well maintained and well placed and priced. A recommedation form me, any time!

Room Tip: Request remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Great price, spotless facility, comfortable rooms all close to Black Canyon NP, Ridgway, and other Western Colorado favorites. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is a clean and for us it was a quiet motel. The room is quiet small, the motel is definitely dated. Its a small, old motel but if you just need a place to sleep it was fine. You won't find any extras here other than a good included breakfast the next morning. It met our needs and we'd stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Motel

Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Montrose
Black Canyon Hotel
Address: 1605 East Main, Montrose, CO 81401
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Canyon Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Western Slope of the Rocky Mountains, the Black Canyon Motel offers newly renovated rooms with the comforts of home. All rooms come with WIFI accessibility, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker for guest use. We offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast every morning which includes a variety of cereals, pastries, waffles, fresh fruit, and more. Located minutes away from Black Canyon National Park. At the Black Canyon Motel our guests are family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Black Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Canyon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.