We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When my sister visits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Arrow Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Red Arrow Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 East Main Street, Montrose, CO 81401-3811 (Formerly Best Western Red Arrow)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 off room rate
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Montrose
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montrose, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“When my sister visits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My sister comes to Montrose about every 4 months. She brings my other sister whom needs help with just about everything. She needs a room down stairs and bath tub with hand rails and a good size room. Best Western Redarrow has all of this and more. I just want to thank you and the staff for taking such good care of my family when they stay. This visit we plan on playing cards and board games next to pool. And away enjoy the breakfest together.

Room Tip: We need to park in front of the room because of handicap but there are patio and balcony rooms to on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    98
    25
    12
    6
See reviews for
84
130
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mendon, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Good location, clean, quiet. Exterior corridors, no elevator. Our King room was a nice size, large bathroom with a separate shower; however the toilet tipped if you didn't sit perfectly straight. The small refrigerator froze everything and we couldn't find any control to change anything--this was not good since I was carrying medication that needed refrigeration and could not be frozen. In this day of travel, we are carrying electronics (digital cameras, computers, cell phones, etc.) and the room doesn't have enough outlets and the ones that were there were difficult to reach. In addition, there was no safe in the room to secure any electronic valuable and the hotel safe was too small to hold a laptop or camera lens (only really big enough for jewelry). Did my laundry while we were here. Nice size room with space to work. However, it was the most expensive per washer and per dryer price of our entire 3 week trip. Breakfast was in a very nice room, standard hot and cold items, very adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMontrose, Manager at Red Arrow Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear M F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us feedback from your stay. We sincerely appreciate hearing what our guests think and use this valuable information to make improvements for future guests. Although it looks like you enjoyed many parts of your stay, there were some areas that could have been improved.

You bring up some very relevant critiques and we look forward to making some updates so perhaps your next stay will be even better.

Thank you for choosing us and we hope that you will again on your next visit through Montrose.

Sincerely,

Shelly F
General Manager
Best Western Red Arrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

The guy from May 8 from Great Britain must have been at another hotel, his review is far from what our group experienced here! Enjoyed our stay nice clean hotel just outside of town. Had a great breakfast there enjoyed the waffles and the wide variety of food they had. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Springs
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was the greatest Best Western on our 6,400 mile trip. Large room, very clean, great staff, super breakfast, beautiful location, and a super off-season price. Skip the pricey Choice hotels in town. Make this location your base for the exciting adventures surrounding Montrose, Colorado.

This is my new lodging location for western Colorado...

Room Tip: Get a ground-level room and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTROSE
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

For several years our company has used this hotel for people who visit our Montrose office. They always comment on how satisfied they are with the facilities and staff at Montrose Best Western. Any issues were corrected immediately in a friendly and professional manner.

Many use the exercise equipment and take advantage of the complimentary breakfast. They also appreciate the recreational amenities and some have brought their families to enjoy the centrally located pool and large grassed area that is part of the property. A quiet place to walk or play.

Bottom line; we have found the Best Western Red Arrow provides a pleasant stay and a good money value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

From the check-in with fresh baked cookies and a goodie bag of samples to our large spacious room with a second door that led to a large grassy area to walk the dog, this was such a warm, welcoming experience. Our only regret was that we will not be traveling this way again so that we can spend another night here. My husband bought a bottle of wine, but we had no corkscrew. However, Heather and her team looked high and low and found a corkscrew for our celebration. Breakfast was the best we have had on the road so far with everything from waffles to eggs to cereal to yogurt and fresh fruit. Nobody could leave the breakfast room and still be hungry. One of the best of the Best Westerns we have found so far.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMontrose, General Manager at Red Arrow Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear bardeg60.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay along with all the things we have to offer. It is always a treat when we receive such wonderful comments from our guests. I will proudly pass along your comments to my entire staff, as you have positively made my day. We do hope that someday you and your family will return to visit us again.

Thank you for making the Red Arrow such a noteworthy part of your trip!


Safe Travels,

S. Flynn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield. UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a standard roadside motel with very little to recommend it. We stayed one night and that was more than enough. The rooms are tired and not very clean, the blankets on our beds were filthy. There was a very unpleasant odour. The room upstairs, when the shower was in use, leaked a positive waterfall through the ceiling directly into the middle of our bathtub. When we told the staff member on duty about this he showed no interest whatsoever. Some joker rang our room twice in the middle of the night and apparently to other rooms as well. Breakfast was ok and a large lawned area was good for children and dogs, otherwise avoid.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMontrose, General Manager at Red Arrow Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear SKIers,

My heart sank when I read about your experience. I sincerely apologize for not providing you with a more positive stay. I can assure you that this is not typical of the service we provide here at the Best Western Red Arrow.

We are in the midst of some very excited renovations around property and I am terribly sorry that your maintenance issue slipped past us. The leak has been repaired and all housekeeping concerns addressed.

More disheartening, however, than the maintenance and housekeeping issue was the way we handled the situation when it was brought to our attention. We strive to deliver a clean and comfortable stay with superior service. To hear that you received less than that is a failure I take personally. I can assure you that I will speak to our front desk agents individually to guarantee that these mistakes are never repeated.

I am happy to hear that you did enjoy some aspects of your stay. We are proud of our breakfast and are looking forward to some new additions directly from our local farmers market. The acre of grass on property does allow us to cater to families and pets alike, not to mention anyone who chooses to stay in one of our balcony rooms overlooking our beautiful willow tree.

We are gearing up for a busy and exciting summer season and appreciate your feedback. It reminds us that for everything we do well, over 120 positive reviews on tripadvisor, we always have room to improve. Each and every guest experience is valuable to us. Without you we would not be here, so we hope to earn your business back.

Sincerely,

S. Flynn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Arrow Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Arrow Inn & Suites

Address: 1702 East Main Street, Montrose, CO 81401-3811 (Formerly Best Western Red Arrow)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Montrose
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montrose
#4 Family Hotel in Montrose
#4 Business Hotel in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Arrow Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Arrow Inn & Suites is your home base for exploration. Whether you are coming to Montrose to visit the Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park, fly fish our amazing rivers, or just passing through on business, rest assured the Red Arrow Inn & Suites has you covered. Stay with us and experience the difference of an independent, family run Inn that cares about the details. Our mission is to provide genuine, superior customer service in an ultra clean, comfortable and unique environment. We have recently set a goal to become the most Eco-friendly hotel in Montrose and are implementing new sustainable, Eco-friendly practices that help give back to the community in which we live. We offer much more than the basics - those little extras that make your stay even more comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you and becoming your home away from home in beautiful Montrose, Colorado. We know you will love being our guest as much as we will love having you as one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Red Arrow Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Montrose
Best Western Montrose
Montrose Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Arrow Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.