We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red arrow is really nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Arrow Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Red Arrow Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 East Main Street, Montrose, CO 81401-3811 (Formerly Best Western Red Arrow)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$10 off room rate
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Montrose
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Red arrow is really nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here on the 15th Sept. what a little gem had a great nights sleep in a giant bed. Their serve your self breakfast was excellent, you could make waffles or omelettes how you like and there were numerouse other offerings. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms were huge, with whirlpool bath,separate shower and film star vanity lights.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    98
    25
    13
    6
See reviews for
86
131
19
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amherst
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed here two nights. Large room, even larger bathroom. Clean and comfortable. Above average breakfast. Quiet. No interior corridors which is not a problem in warm weather. Only downside was that when we registered, not when we made the reservation, we were told that our room had a working Jacuzzi tub. It did have a Jacuzzi tub but it did not work. When we checked out the desk clerk said that it was not possible to make an adjustment to our bill. We think that there should have been an adjustment. But we would stay there again and we would recommend the motel to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Older motel in montrose but pretty clean. The price was right and the location was good, away from traffic. The host was very friendly and informative about where to eat and what to do. They had an above average breakfast with a large seating area. It was a very quiet motel with a large parking area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were expecting pretty much a cookie-cutter Best Western. We have no objection to those--we don't like bad surprises. However, this was even better. The back door to our room opened out to a beautiful restful lawn, with chairs to sit and enjoy the view. The breakfast was a full breakfast, including a make-your-own omelet station. Of course it was clean and the service was good. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Huge room, clean. Staff were courteous, although there was no crib available which was something of an anomaly in our travels. TV remote refused to work at first but TV just had to be turned off for 10 seconds and then it worked fine.

Excellent buffet style breakfast with make your own omelettes and waffles.

Good value at $109 + taxes

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this location because of its location to Black Canyon of the Gunnison. It is an older hotel, but it looks like it has been recently renovated. The rooms are huge, and they allow pets.

It had a yard to walk pets right behind our room with an acess via a rear door. They also have a great continental breakfast with eggs and sausage.

If you lookin up in the hotel cupon book, you can get the room for $79.99 as of August 2012. They were asking $140 a night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Best Western's reservation system overbooked this hotel the weekend we were here. We made our reservation about over 3 months before the time we stayed. That led to use getting a room that may not be used otherwise.
The room needed a portable a/c unit since the main a/c for this part of the building doesn't work. The unit did keep the room cool, but was loud and occasionally the vent hose fell out of the window. When that happened - which was only twice in two days - the room would heat up immediately.
The first room we got had a problem with the door locks. The maintenance man worked on it for over two hours and was not able to get it fixed. We were moved to another room due to a cancellation. The new room had the same a/c problem, so the portable a/c/ unit came with us.
The exhaust fan in the bathroom did not work, so there is no ventilation in there. This is a bad thing since we were positioned above smoking rooms. I thought the entire hotel was non-smoking. I found out that smoking is allowed in three of the rooms, and two of them were under ours. We kept the door closed to the bathroom to keep light out of the sleeping area. When I got up to use the bathroom in the middle of the night, it reeked of cigarette smoke. I quickly had to take our suitcase out of there so the clothes didn't get permeated with smoke.
One other thing that doesn't work are the phones in the room. I found that out when I tried to call the Front Desk at 0130 to inform them of the smoke stench. There was no dial tone.
The room was clean and the furniture is in excellent condition. The room came with a microwave and a refrigerator and both worked well.
The staff was very friendly.
Best Western's are always a gamble. Many are older properties (from the '50's and '60's) and are therefore difficult to keep up. This very well could be the last time I stay at a hotel in this chain.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Arrow Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Arrow Inn & Suites

Address: 1702 East Main Street, Montrose, CO 81401-3811 (Formerly Best Western Red Arrow)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Montrose
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montrose
#4 Family Hotel in Montrose
#4 Business Hotel in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Arrow Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Arrow Inn & Suites is your home base for exploration. Whether you are coming to Montrose to visit the Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park, fly fish our amazing rivers, or just passing through on business, rest assured the Red Arrow Inn & Suites has you covered. Stay with us and experience the difference of an independent, family run Inn that cares about the details. Our mission is to provide genuine, superior customer service in an ultra clean, comfortable and unique environment. We have recently set a goal to become the most Eco-friendly hotel in Montrose and are implementing new sustainable, Eco-friendly practices that help give back to the community in which we live. We offer much more than the basics - those little extras that make your stay even more comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you and becoming your home away from home in beautiful Montrose, Colorado. We know you will love being our guest as much as we will love having you as one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Red Arrow Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Montrose
Best Western Montrose
Montrose Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Arrow Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.