We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint cottage like in a motel setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Affordable Inns

Affordable Inns
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Affordable Inns to your Saves list
Affordable Inns
1480 S. Townsend Ave, Montrose, CO 81401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Montrose B&B and Inns
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
“Quaint cottage like in a motel setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Evident that owners are trying. Checked in by a grandmother. Initial problem with air conditioner was quickly resolved. Room was clean and quaintly decorated. Bed was comfortable but oddly located next to air conditioner. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    2
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
12
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I came in for a funeral recently and a fame member recommended that we stay at the Affordable inns, great choice as it was a cozy , family oriented motel. The staff was more then generous with helping our stay be as comfy as possible. The lobby was brand new as the front desk clerk explained that they had a fire last year. Our room was freshly painted and smelled new. I highly recommend it to any traveller.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I read some of the other comments and was a little upset by them. I was let know upon checkin in the tent that the hotel was recovering from a fire eariler in the year, and was given the opprotunity to stay or not check in. I was impressed they were still in operation. I thought it was a unique way to handle what was clearly a rough situtation. The tents outside were beautiful, the pool was redone when I got there and was able to swim in it. Breadfast outside was very unique. The rooms were in semi good condition considering all the attention was going to getting the office rebuilt. I stayed two weeks and would go back if I needed to.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jody h, Owner at Affordable Inns, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your understanding as our proerty endured such a very hard year after the Arson fire. We really appreciate your comments and have taken them to heart. : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Our socks kept sticking to the carpet. The furniture was soiled and torn. The Wifi didn't work-couldn't get online at all. The bed was uncomfortable. People sat outside of their rooms in their robes on plastic chairs smoking at all hours. Still, the hosts were friendly. Paid twice what we paid for other rooms of much higher quality on this trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jody h, Owner at Affordable Inns, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for your response. I am very disheartened to hear that your stay was less than desireable. In 2011, we fell victim to an arson fire which impacted our business everyday during its long road to recovery. We appreciate your comments and will do our best to earn your business in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Depressing dump, and overpriced. Supposed to be a queen bed--was a double with a Queen headboard. Dirty q-tip on floor. No washcloth, no Kleenex in box. Of the three lamps, two were broken. Very small continental breakfast at 8 am, too little too late. Friendly desk hostess, but this place was bad.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jody h, Owner at Affordable Inns, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than desireable. As you know, our Corporation and Motel suffered a huge loss when we fell Victims of Arson in April of 2011. As a result of the fire, all areas of operation in our small company were impacted. We did our best everyday to meet the demands of our business, and we apologize if we fell short. We have since been in recovery mode, and both our Montrose and Grand Junction locations are once again in beautiful shape. Please come again- and see the great work we have done. Thank you for your comments, they are very appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

New Owners now has long term renters. DIRTY thin walls lose plaster in shower. I used to stay here when visiting friends in town and they had to many people. Over the Xmas Holiday it was a total mess. I moved once to a room with no coffee machine or alarm clock. I was told cant do any thing about it. It was not worth the CHEAP rate I paid

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jody h, Owner at Affordable Inns, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear of the terrible time you had while staying with us. Please know that we do value your opinion and appreciate your comments. We will continue to update, revitalize, and improve our property and our staff. Your comments have been well received, and we are working diligently everyday to re-earn your business. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Colorado
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

I booked a room which included the kitchenette, received a confirming e mail notice, bought groceries, loaded up and drove 400 miles to find out they had given this room to someone else. Offered nothing except a regular room at the same rate.
Affordable Inns lost my business forever!
To bad they don't understand the value of business clients. I had booked the room for a week stay with 2 guests and during the week Ianded a larger job which will require longer stays with more of my guys.

I was able to get better accomodations at a far better rate from another hotel which welcomes customers instead of dismissing them. I will now be giving my business to them.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jody h, Owner at Affordable Inns, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We have made many improvements to our property and are confident that if you ever do choose to return, that you would find that this property, along with its staff, shows the true pride of ownership. We are very sorry to hear of your terrible stay... and wanted you to know that we would love to prove our worthiness to you if ever given the chance. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Affordable Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affordable Inns

Address: 1480 S. Townsend Ave, Montrose, CO 81401
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Affordable Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Affordable Inns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.