We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Grand Junction.... is in Montrose. Just perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Montrose

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Montrose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Montrose
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1980 N Townsend Ave, Montrose, CO 81401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early-Save up to 15%
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Montrose
Cortez, Colorado
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Grand Junction.... is in Montrose. Just perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I know my title doesn't make much sense.... If you had stayed in the Grand Junction Hotels that I have, it would make perfect sense; because they were all pretty bad.

The Hampton Inn Montrose is worth the 52 extra miles... especially if you don't need to stay in GJ.

For a start the hotel is PERFECT for access to the airport... literally walking distance.

The hotel is one of a handful of "Hometown Hiltons"... the rooms are 20% smaller than a typical Hampton Inn, and the property has a "smaller footprint"... but smaller doesn't mean less comfort, not at all.

The updated rooms were cozy and stylish... had showers instead of bathtubs and queen beds instead of kings, there was a flat screen TV and modern solid furniture.

The pool was perfect, although a bit short for actual laps.

The hot tub was a dream... it was hot, and had jets that worked (something Grand Junction hotels don't seem to have in their "hot tubs" is working jets)

The room was very clean, and they had bacon on the buffet.

My AAA rate of $87 was totally worth it.

This is one of the better hotels in Western Colorado.... and no hokey "dead animal" decor either.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoninnmontrose, General Manager at Hampton Inn Montrose, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking you time to post a review.

Our Team takes pride on going the extra "smile" to ensure that our guests have a great stay in our beautiful Montrose, CO
It is always great to hear that you will be willing to drive the extra miles to stay with us and that we are delivering the service you expected. Thank you for your kind words, about our property and our staff, we really appreciated.

Please do not hesitate in contact us if you have any suggestions that will help us improve the guest experience.

"We love having you here"

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    49
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
52
51
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012


A good place to stay on a visit to this area of Colorado or a visit to the Black Canyon Natl Park. A typical Hampton Inn in many ways but an exceptional staff does a lot of little things to make your stay more welcoming and enjoyable. Very clean rooms and a good breakfast are two pluses here. Bottom Line: no negatives here!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoninnmontrose, General Manager at Hampton Inn Montrose, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for posting a review and for your kind words for our team.
The staff here really does make a difference, they never hesitate in going the extra mile ( or the extra smile) to help make your stay as pleasant as possible. I'm really glad you had the opportunity to experience it.
I also hope that you enjoyed the Montrose area and the Black Canyon ( it is a beauty isn't it?).
Please feel free to contact us if you have any suggestions or questions. We love having you here!

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, TN
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Hampton Inn in Montrose for visiting the Black Canyon of the Gunnison. It was a good base for the park. The hotel was very clean, the room quiet and the king sized bed was comfortable. Breakfast was a typicaly Hampton Inn breakfast with several choices including fresh fruit. There were cookies in the afternoon as well. We made use of the guest laundry which was very convenient. The hotel is next to the airport but there wasn't a problem with airplane noise. No view from the hotel-our room looked out on dumpsters. Hotel price seemed a little high-we payed about $150 per night in September, but would return as we had no issues.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoninnmontrose, General Manager at Hampton Inn Montrose, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write a review we really appreciate it.
We are very happy to hear that you had a good stay and hope that you enjoyed the beatiful Black Canyon National Park.
We are very lucky that even in a location so close from the airport ( walking distance), we barely hear any noise, airport related.
Please do not hesitate in contact us if you have any questions or suggestions regarding our property and service. There is always room for improvement!

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I chose this hotel for a business stay because I like to make sure that I get a few things - clean/comfortable room & bed, wifi, hot breakfast, etc. Well, I did get those but there were a few things I was not happy about regarding this hotel - Pillows (about as uncomfortable as anything I've ever tried to sleep on) & Noise (I could here not just every sound in the hall way and upstairs but also the running water/sewer through the pipes inside the walls from people taking showers above me). Not the worst stay ever but when you pay extra, these can be extremely annoying! The location is also on the extreme north end of town when everything else in town is at the far south end. Probably wouldn't spend the extra $ to stay here again! Good cookies at the front desk though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoninnmontrose, General Manager at Hampton Inn Montrose, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to post a review, we really appreciate the feedback.
Per Hampton Standards we have two feather pillows and two firm pillows in each bed, I'm really sorry neither pillow type fit your needs. I'll forward your concerns to Hilton Corporate as they are always willing to hear guest feedback regarding their product and guest satisfaction.
We always suggest that guests that are more sensitive to the building noises to request the upper floor, if you are an Hilton Honors member that can be put on your profile and every time you stay at any Hilton Property, your preferences will be taken into account when rooms are been assigned, if you are not a Hilton Honors member just mention your preferences at reservation time and your preferences will be taken into account as well.

Again, thank you for your feedback and your business.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is above average Hampton Inn primarily because of its staff. The front desk welcomed me as HHonors member and there was a welcome letter also in the room. They really seem to appreciate loyalty of their guests. The hotel is well maintained with very clean rooms and public areas. The room size is decent and everything was in a perfect working condition. The breakfast was OK ... similar to other Hampton Inns.
There are two reasons why I rate this hotel only as "very good". First, there was no fridge in the room which is quite unusual in Hamptonn Inns, second, the internet access is very slow. Other than that I can only recommend it for a stay in Montrose.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoninnmontrose, General Manager at Hampton Inn Montrose, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. You are right, we really appreciate the loyalty of our guests and we thrive on earning it every day! I would like to use this opportunity to address the very fair comments you made regarding room amenities and internet speed.
Due to our hotel size (Hometown model) we do not have microwave and refrigerators in the rooms, but we can put then into the rooms upon request and free of charge, I’m really sorry we fail to inform you about that. Our internet speed is also been addressed as we are upgrading our broadband, perhaps next time you visit our "corner" of the world you will be able to experience it!
Please do not hesitate in contact me if you have any questions, concerns, ideas and/or suggestions, anything that can help us improve our service to you and make your next stay at the beautiful Montrose, CO feel more like home.

Thank you again for your feedback and Business!

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is amazing. We are Hilton Honors members so when we booked in there was a welcome letter in our room with our name on it and sticky notes on the bed stating that the bedding, including comforter was fresh and clean. The room also smelled very clean! The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel has fresh coffee available 24hours a day, breakfast included with your stay and fresh hot cookies when you check in! The breakfast is everything you can imagine including french toast sticks for the kids, fresh fruit, cereal, eggs, yougurt, sausage, bages, toast and danish. Everything about this hotel including the price is just perfect. I would definitely recommed it if you are staying in Montrose.

Room Tip: every room in this hotel is a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoninnmontrose, General Manager at Hampton Inn Montrose, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write a review, we really appreciated the kind words and we are happy to hear that you had a good time at our property and we hope that you had a good time at the Montrose Golf Courses as well!
Please do not hesitate in contact us if you have any sugestions on how to improve our services to you, we would love to see you again next time you hit the "links" on our beautiful Montrose, CO.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I am in Montrose monthly and have found this to be a very nice place to stay, good service and clean rooms. The snag is that one of the reasons that I stay at Hamptons when I travel is the breakfast. My visit this week and three weeks ago were the same at breakfast. There is a nice, shiny stainless steel chafing dish with tempting signs telling you about the tasty omelets, hardwood smoked bacon, scrambled eggs and other hearty foundations for a busy day. And on both visits they were empty. Three weeks ago, I was in a bit of a hurry, so I had toast and left. But this week, I stuck around to watch. I arrived at 7:00 straight up, and by the time I left at 7:26, no one even looked inside, not once, except for guests. And they all had the same kind of bewildered look that I had three weeks ago. I've never experienced this in any Hampton anywhere else in the country, and here it's been twice. Since the "hot breakfast" is one of the main marketing devices used by Hamptons, I would think that something more than an accidental continental breakfast would be in line. I know nothing is free, and the price of the breakfast is in the room rate; but if this is what I'm paying for, than a voucher for McDonalds would be a lot cheaper. I will be in Montrose again in September; I'm thinking that Holiday Inn Express may get a test.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoninnmontrose, General Manager at Hampton Inn Montrose, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for the "heads up" about the breakfast delay on checking/replacing the hot items, I personally talked to the Breakfast Hostess about your feedback because a lot of guests, just like you, are looking forward to have breakfast timely so they will not be late for work meetings or scheduled appointments and any delay can make a difference on how they experience our wonderful breakfast. Our Breakfast hostesses are also trained to assist you and your breakfast needs on demand, so please do not hesitate in request their atention if you have any special requests.

Thank you very much for your feedback and business.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Montrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Montrose

Address: 1980 N Townsend Ave, Montrose, CO 81401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Montrose
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montrose
#3 Business Hotel in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Montrose 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel: Take a tour of our hotel, your year-round playground…welcome to the Hampton Inn Montrose. Base Camp for adventure… The Hampton Inn Montrose is located just miles from Black Canyon National Park and the picturesque San Juan Mountain Range, our beautiful city offers year-round activities. Explore our stunning nature by taking a guided jeep tour along the scenic bypass, hike or bike our local parks, shop till you drop or set a tee-time to golf among breathtaking views. Our "Hometown" Hampton Inn is conveniently located next to the Montrose Regional Airport and just minutes from downtown Main Street. Business or leisure you will find a way to relax and unwind as you discover the playful, spirited wonders of Montrose. Outdoor enthusiasts will love discovering the scenic mountains, valleys, canyons, mesas, lakes, and rivers in the area. And, of course, you'll enjoy all the great activities offered by such a diverse terrain-from hiking to mountain biking, fishing to skiing. It's a year-round playground! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Montrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Montrose Hotel Montrose
Montrose Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Montrose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.