We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Mexican” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Lindo Michoacan

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mi Lindo Michoacan
710 N. Townsend Ave., Montrose, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 78 Restaurants in Montrose
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: This is a new restaurant-- open only a couple of months.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a new restaurant-- open only a couple of months.
Montrose, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I'm not familiar with the other Mexican Restaurants in Montrose....This one has fresh ingredients and you can order habanero sauce on the side if you like it spicy....fast, friendly service...This was my second visit and I'll definitely go again...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
western colorado
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a great little place. My lunch was delicious, served quickly, and a perfect proportion. The service was excellent. The interior is rustic and casual, but sometimes that's just what's wanted.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not so good...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We went here expecting some Authentic Mexican food. What we received was bland and not so tasty. The service was nice but the food was not! My husband liked the spicey beans but that was the only nice thing we got from there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“If you really like Mexican food, you've got to give them a try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We love really good Mexican food, and while there are a couple of ok Mexican restaurants in Montrose (and another half dozen that don't quite make it to "ok") we were excited to learn of the opening of Mi Lindo Michoacan. The restaurant is a family affair, owned and operated by Eric Garcia and his extended family. Eric's father-in-law, Raul Avila, was the owner of the former Taqueria Mexican Restaurant on West Main, beloved by Mexican food aficionados in and around Montrose.

So, what makes Mi Lindo so special? Several things. First, the food is authentic. I know virtually every Mexican food restaurant claims their food is "authentic", but the truth is, most are not. In this neck of the woods, many restaurants are "tex-mex". Nothing wrong with tex-mex (I enjoy it), but it's not authentic Mexican food. Second, freshness. Again, many claim to use "all fresh ingredients". At Mi Lindo you don't need someone to sell you on the idea that everything is fresh, you can tell by the taste and texture. Third, flavor. How often have eaten at a Mexican restaurant and actually been able to taste the pepper flavor (not just the heat), the fresh cilantro flavor, the flavor of real Mexican cheese like queso blanco and not processed canned nacho cheese used to excess on virtually everything?

We've had an opportunity to sample only a very small portion of the menu, but I'm confident that as we try more and more are enthusiasm will hold. We really enjoyed the enchiladas, beef, pork, and chicken. This platter, like all others, comes with rice and "special refried beans". I'm not sure what makes them special, but it seems like they take already good refried beans and add a portion of fresh chili sauce of some kind. The result is definitely a "special: refried bean, with an extraordinary taste. The entire last page of the menu is a listing of their tacos (one of things the Taqueria restaurant was famous for). They have about 15 varieties, some of which you will never see in your typical Mexican restaurant in the states. We particularly like the verde pork. You can order as few or as many of one or multiple kinds as you wish-- they are $1.50 each. Which brings up another positive: extremely reasonable prices, like the $1.50 tacos. For you drinkers, Mexican beer is $2.75 a bottle-- try and find that anywhere else. Very, very good Margaritas are $5.00

No, this is not a perfect place. The service, while extremely friendly and accomodating, is also inexperienced. The menu could use some design and layout help (hamburgers are listed under appetizers; the dessert listing is blank) But these are minor nits to pick. If you really like real Mexican food, you need to give Mi Lindo Michoacan a try. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Lindo Michoacan also viewed

 

Been to Mi Lindo Michoacan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Lindo Michoacan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.