We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful breakfast and fast, friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starvin Arvins-Montrose

Starvin Arvins-Montrose
1320 South Townsend, Montrose, CO 81401
(970) 249-7787
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 78 Restaurants in Montrose
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Southlake, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast and fast, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We went for breakfast while driving through Montrose and it was better than we expected. The service was friendly and our waiter kept our coffee cups full. He apologized about the coffee being so strong - he said their coffee pot was "acting up", however, we thought the coffee was perfect the way it was. The servings are huge, so you might want to split some items. Starvin Arvin's is a nice diner type restaurant that is clean and has good food. We were happy with our visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
denver
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Would stop here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have to admit I'm a little leery of local diners - I've probably watched too many episodes of Restaurant Impossible. But when we found ourselves in the road passing through Montrose, we stopped here for lunch instead of the usual fast food chain. The kitchen looked clean and the restrooms were clean. Our waitress was pleasant and our family of 4 had a great lunch for less than $30. They even gave us a free (huge) cinnamon roll and dinner rolls to go because we were there at the end of the lunch service and they wouldn't keep until dinner. I would stop there again and definitely have another cinnamon roll!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Our "Go To" place in Montrose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We are locals and visit Arvins almost once a week. Those who have complained about the "greasy spoon" aspect have failed to notice the extensive menu and that they have A CHOICE about whether to eat the diner-type food. Me? I love the Green Supreme. Yep, heart attack on a plate but that green chile is nearly the best I've ever had; tender pork, lots of Green Chile flavor. The service is always good and the folks are friendly. The reason for only 4 stars is that the place really needs a remodel but that won't stop me from eating there. I'm not eating the booths.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Ever Cinnamon Buns!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Every now and then I drop in for one of their HUGE (really huge) cinnamon buns. Served warm and slathered in icing and butter, it's a decadence worth indulging. And for under $3.00, it's worth every penny plus some. The rest of the menu is good, diner-esque in portion, quality and price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice Diner & Breakfast is GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Met our friends there for Breakfast for them & Lunch for us on Aug.1. It was our 2nd visit & their first. All of us got more than ample portions on the items we ordered. In fact my friend ordered a cinnamon roll, turns out it was nearly as big as the dinner sized plate it came on. Plus it was fluffy & nicely covered in a light tasting frosting, not all gooey or sickeningly, overly sweet..

There are three sections for patrons, one has booths with a large Fish tank separating the first booth on the left side from the next room. That next room has some mid room to ceiling book shelves with hundreds of books on them. More seating at tables & booths in that section. Finally is another section we've never been seated in, is a little larger space and I believed there are a few larger tables in there for more than 4.

We were surprised by a gentleman that joked with us while seating a gentleman in the booth next to us. He then asked if our proportions of food were enough, we agreed they were. He proceeded to tell us a few jokes. Then we asked if his name was Arvin & his reply was yes. So turns out he was likely the manager or maybe even the store owner!

Good food, large portions (most need a To-Go box), good value, and nice variety of food choices. Give this place a try!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starvin Arvins-Montrose also viewed

 

Been to Starvin Arvins-Montrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starvin Arvins-Montrose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.