We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Biker Place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Western Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Western Motel to your Saves list
Western Motel
1200 E. Main Street, Montrose, CO 81401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Montrose
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Biker Place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

A friendly clean great place to stay Biker friendly. Wonderful owners. You won't be sorry when you stay here. Within area is Black Canyon of the Gunnison must see. Local restaurants some within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I spent 7 weeks here while our house was being finished. The place isn't spectacular but it is immaculate inside given that it's beginning to show it's age. The owners are some of the nicest folks you'll ever meet. If you're looking to spend a lot of money for fancy digs ... go somewhere else. But ... if you're looking for clean, comfortable, and quiet stay at the Western. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

I booked in here looking for somewhere to crash for the night. The owner went out of her way to find reasons to discount my rate, and despite the less than impressive exterior of the motel, the room was clean and importantly quiet which is all I'm looking for. My bed was one of the most comfortable I've stayed in on this trip to the US (lovely fresh sheets, good support), wi-fi signal was weak but worked, lots of tv channels, decent breakfast for the price. I'd happily recommend this place to anyone traveling through montrose looking for a bed for the night.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

60's on the outside. Inside, was spotless. Everything worked. Family owners are very friendly and helpful. Beds were very comfortable. We were extremely pleased with our stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Old-fashioned motel, but good price and clean. Wifi okay and TV okay. Above average continental breakfast. Nice desk folks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

The room was a bit tired but was clean. The bed had a rubber undersheet which was uncomfortable given how hot the weather was. The aircon was quiet enought to be left on during the night which was a blessing. The fridge and microwave in the room were useful.
The breakfast was basic but adequate.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010 via mobile

This place is about the cheapest but doesn't provide all advertised items. Wireless doesn't stay up for more than a minute at a time - then 2 or 3 to come back. "Deluxe" breakfast was crap. 19" TV kept making hi-pitch noise.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Western Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Motel

Address: 1200 E. Main Street, Montrose, CO 81401
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, family owned and operated property. Our amenities include a seasonal pool and hot tub, a winter sauna, daily continental breakfast,daily maid service, in-room cable television, telephone with free local calls, and WiFi. The majority of our rooms have a mini-fridge and a microwave. Our goal is to make your stay enjoyable. We cater to the budget-minded individual and are biker friendly. Come stay and play in the Western Motel and be a part of our family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Western Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel Montrose
Western Motel Montrose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.