We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Beer and Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horsefly Brewing Company

Horsefly Brewing Company
846 E Main Street, Montrose, CO 81401
+1 970-249-6889
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 81 Restaurants in Montrose
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: American, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Good Beer and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Had an excellent double IPA, a hoppy delight. I had a shrimp poboy, plump fried shrimp, bacon, lettuce and tomato, came with skin on fries, very good. Wife had a grilled chicken salad, it looked good and she said it was tasty. The waitress was friendly and efficient and the outdoor dining was shady and comfortable. Parking was easy. We'll be here for a week and I'd go back for the beer alone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    62
    31
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The service and the atmosphere were very good. The food was mediocre. Not many healthy choices. Convenient parking.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lively Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Great place for a beer and a meal. Very busy so service wasn't the quickest, but the servers were trying their best to keep up. Good food, good drinks, good prices. Enjoyed every minute. Would eat there again if in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best brewmaster period !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Horsefly is a must stop for any true beer aficianado. Nigel, the brewmaster is a true craftsman. Their year-round beers are fantastic and he is always working on some seasonal beer as well. I love a well-hopped beer, but enjoy every beer that I have tried there. I tend to stick with the red ale as it is a good compromise for me between hops and not such a high alcohol content. The staff is always happy to bring a sample of a beer to the table if you are not sure which you may prefer.

The food is also very good pub style food. The soft pretzel with beer cheese is a personal go-to favorite when just looking for something to snack on. The burgers are very good. I have also had the fish tacos which were fantastic.

The Horsefly is a fabulous brewpub !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun community brewpub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I enjoy Horsefly for the atmosphere. Fire pit out on the patio, support for local fundraisers. A nice family friendly pub with good value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horsefly Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Horsefly Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horsefly Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.