We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The finest restaurant in Montrose” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stone House

The Stone House
1415 Hawk Pkwy, Across from WalMart, Montrose, CO 81401-6440
970-240-8899
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 78 Restaurants in Montrose
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Edinburg, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The finest restaurant in Montrose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We've eaten at the Stone House four times in the last four years. Every time, the service has been excellent, the food delectable, the wine list excellent, and the atmosphere (in the main dining room) lovely. There is a large stone fireplace in the center of the main dining room, which makes winter dining especially memorable. My wife has difficult dietary restrictions--no problem, the wait staff is very helpful and vigilant about every detail in this regard. There is a very nice bar area near the entry. I would not classify the Stone House as a "high-end" restaurant--casual clothes are appropriate--but it is a little pricey. However, our experience here has always been worth it. You have to ask, and perhaps wait a little, to be seated in the main dining room: the side room is not nearly as nice, and they tend to place couples there since there are more smaller tables. It's well worth waiting if you want a more special and satisfying dinner experience. They usually are quite busy, and a reservation is much safer. Since they are busy, have your questions ready for the waitress, since she is taking care of plenty of other people. No matter, you don't want to hurry your evening here anyway.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    54
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, SC
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Six of us ate at the Stone House while in Montrose visiting the Black Canyon of the Gunnison. Three of us had the lamb chops which were superb. The steak eaters looked rather happy with their choices, too. In fact, all the food was excellent and the service was great, too. We would definitely go back if ever in the area again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Need to relax after work - pop in for a drink in front of the fire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I didn't eat this time, just stopped by for a glass of wine in between places to be. The bar is relaxed and friendly and the fireplace is quite inviting. The wine selection is good and the kids love the pot stickers - steamed or fried. Everyone is friendly and the service is fast and efficient.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Best crab legs I ever had!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The crab legs were awesomely good. They were already cut open on the plate so I didn't have to crack them and dig out the meat. The upper part of many crab legs have meat that is watery and not tasty. But at the Stone House, they were as fresh, dry, and tasty as the legs themselves. I can't say enough about how good they were--the best I've ever had. BUT...we paid $35 for half a pound and that is an astonishingly high price for what was basically three pieces. I wouldn't have minded the price half as much if the rest of the experience stood up to the crab legs. The service was decent--most people would have found nothing wrong with it. But, if you want to be a higher class restaurant of the type that can charge $35 for a half pound of crab legs, the service should be better. Our waitress brought something to the table (water glasses?) and said "I'll give you a few minutes and I'll be back." And, boom, she was gone before we could react. What if we'd had a question or wanted something? We'd have had no chance. Did she do anything wrong? No. Did she do it the way I'd have wanted? No. So please don't misunderstand--I'm just trying to be helpful to fellow travelers. We had a decent meal--good but not great, in spite of the beautiful crab legs. No tablecloths. Service kind of ordinary. Prices a bit high. So you figure it out. You want a decent meal, OK. You want fine dining--you'll have to keep looking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious food and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Our dinner at The Stone House is close to be the winner of "Best dining experience of our 3 week holiday". Food was very nice, waitress very attentive and friendly and the atmosphere is relaxing and cosy. A definite recommendation for anyone staying in Montrose. Overall, we think we got value for money and that it isn't pricey.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stone House also viewed

 

Been to The Stone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stone House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.