We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Russell Stover gift shop opens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Russell Stover Candy Factory

Russell Stover Candy Factory
2200 Stover Ave, Montrose, CO 81401
970-249-6681
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 18 Attractions in Montrose
Type: Factory Outlets, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“New Russell Stover gift shop opens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Russell Stover recently opened a beautiful new gift shop at its Montrose, Colo. candy plant. In addition to an imposing entrance, the inviting new facility features an impressive front display case with assorted individual candies and baked goods for sale. The expansive shop also offers a wide variety of boxed chocolate candy to suit any taste and budget. A must-see for visitors and residents alike.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Veta, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“At least I saved some money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I had planned to buy about 100 lbs of chocolate, great gifts for friends & family. I checked the web-site to find the hours it's was open and when I got there it was closed; they're building a new store. With the several months involved in building you would think someone would have updated the web site. I stopped at the Montrose Visitor Center and they had no information as to when the building would be complete or a projected opening date. Russell Stover, you dropped the ball on this, big-time.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Large store to explore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The retail store is in front of the factory and offers a large selection of candies, chocolates and more. There is an ice cream parlor inside as well. Unfortunately, the factory does not offer tours. That would have been a real treat.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A fun place to explore for chocolate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

I have driven by the store and never stopped. This time I did stop and my wife and I both made purchases of some of our favorite candys. Many of the items were at reduced prices.
It was a fun break in our travels that day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I can't believe it took me 22 years to finally stop in here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Sad to say that I passed by Russell Stover for decades when we'd stay with family in Montrose and never stopped! Boy was I missing out - maybe I'm glad I passed it up, because now when I drive by, the candy and ice cream call out to me...buy me, eat me! So glad I finally discovered what was inside that huge warehouse looking building. The ice cream is worth the stop - maybe don't even tempt yourself by going through the whole store, shoot strait for the ice cream.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russell Stover Candy Factory also viewed

 

Been to Russell Stover Candy Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russell Stover Candy Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.