We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Base for Exploring Black Canyon of the Gunnison N.P.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Uncompahgre Bed & Breakfast

Uncompahgre Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montrose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Uncompahgre Bed & Breakfast
21049 Uncompahgre Road, Montrose, CO 81401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Montrose B&B and Inns
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Base for Exploring Black Canyon of the Gunnison N.P.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed at this B&B for several nights while using Montrose, CO as a base for hiking in the stunningly beautiful Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park. On the positive side, our room (and its bed) were most comfortable and clean, and the inn itself very quiet despite its proximity to U.S. Route 550. Barb Miller was a pleasant hostess and her breakfasts, while not "gourmet", were hearty and tasty. Our main reservation about Uncompahgre related to Barb's husband Don, who invited himself to join us at breakfast on two occasions to show us the custom hunting knives and walking sticks that he makes and sells. While these items certainly appeared to be well made, we had no real interest in buying them, so his repeated "sales pitch" made us feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huron, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

My stay at the uncompahgre bed and breakfast was perfect. Not only was my room decorated to perfection but I had a wonderful view. My room was decorated with wild cats. It was perfect considering my favorite animal is a tiger. I really felt at home. There rooms are all decorated differently to fit any preference or taste. Speaking of taste, the food was exquisite and tasteful. In the evenings you can walk around the neighborhood on a paved walking path, while enjoying the fresh air and the beauty of God’s country. Thanks for everything. Jackie Pugsley

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

This was a great value for the price. The food and company were wonderful!! Barb and MD very great host and hostess during my stay there. I and my daughter were there for a week and hated having to leave because we were so pampered. The relaxing atmosphere of the fireplace was cozy and warm on the cool evenings. Barb brought us some warm hot chocolate as we watched a movie . It was so quiet and calming to return to after a busy day at the hospital. We plan on many return visits when we return to Montrose. Thank You Barb and MD !!! God Bless You Jan K

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Colorado
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

By the standards of the many good B & B's where we have stayed, this one is mediocre.

Our particular room was large, clean, and comfortable. My complaint there was that the DVDs that were provided for use in the DVD player included a religious right propaganda presentation claiming how Charles Darwin was allegedly responsible for hundreds of thousands of innocent people's deaths. Being educated in science, I don't appreciate this kind of anti-scientific proselytizing in a room that I am paying for.

The common areas were an interesting and generally attractive rehab of an old schoolhouse. There are some interesting antiques, and also some beautiful ornamental canes and reproductions of medieval weapons made by the owner and available for sale, but not "pushed." On the other hand, faded plastic flowers positioned throughout are tacky.

The best B & B's offer breakfasts that are "special." The breakfast here was very basic and only slightly better than the typical "continental breakfast" at a motel.

Although this place is located in a valley that has some beautiful views of the San Juan Mountains to the south, those are blocked by tacky junk on properties surrounding this place. Although the exterior of the former school house has been nicely rehabbed, the yard surrounding it is about as devoid of landscaping as it must have been when it was a playground. Guests had best be content to stay inside and not expect a view. And they will need to drive a several miles north to Montrose to find a restaurant or any other attraction.

At $85 per night, our room was not expensive as B&Bs go, but I would prefer to spend more for more overall ambiance (especially in the yard and neighborhood) without the religious proselytizing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangeville, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

We stayed with Barb and Don at the Uncompahgre Bed and Breakfast for almost a month while visiting our children and grandchildren in this gorgeous part of Western Colorado.
The rooms at this remodeled old school house originally built in the 1920's are large and comfortable. Each room has a theme, if you are into themes, but the most important thing to us was feeling at home. This was became very important to us because my husband came down with a virus while visiting and there is no motel or hotel room that would have beat the comfort of the wonderful room we had reserved. The windows were large so the room was sunny and bright. Barbara catered to our every need with loving concern.....and her dining room (originally had been a combination gym/dining hall and auditorium) was comfortably furnished and cozy with chairs pulled up to a fireplace. Each morning, Barbara would ask us our preference for breakfast....she prepared omelets, waffles, pancakes, crepes and one morning we had eggs benedict. Each meal was accompanied by fresh fruit. We were totally comfortable here and would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone interested in friendly service, country living, mountain views and nice, warm rooms. Barbara even has a laundry for anyone who wishes to take leave of their senses and actually do laundry while on vacation....but because of the length of our stay....we were happy to have that amenity!
Kudos to Barbara for her gift of hospitality!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

In August 2010, we stayed as a family of four at the Uncompahgre B&B, located just outside of Montrose, CO - a restored country school house. Barbara and Don, B&B owners, were relaxed and helpful. Our accomodations were clean and comfortable. Our breakfasts were delicious and were served in the "school's auditorium" which also served at one point as the lunch room. One evening, we decided to buy supermarket ready made food for dinner and quietly had our dinner in the dining room area without at all disturbing our hosts whose residence is upstairs - guest rooms are located downstairs. In summary, the Uncompahgre B&B offers travelers comfort, quiet and excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder, co
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We spent a night here in July on our way back to Denver. We were lucky enough to come across this place after being unable to find accommodation in Ouray. The host was delightful, room very comfortable and quiet and the breakfast excellent - the best quiche I've ever had. Really good value, warm, welcoming. The B&B though quite large, is quaint and interesting, having been an old schoolhouse, lovingly restored and converted to a B&B by the owners. We'd definitely stay there again and have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Uncompahgre Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uncompahgre Bed & Breakfast

Address: 21049 Uncompahgre Road, Montrose, CO 81401
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored historic mansion in quiet countryside near the Uncompahgre River, central to SW Colorado scenic sites: Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park, Grand Mesa, CO Monument, Telluride's gondola ride, Ouray hot springs, trails, fishing, & hunting. Gourmet breakfasts, great coffee, conversation with guests. Laughter is a frequent occurrence. Hostess can set up itinerary; suggest staying at least 3 days. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncompahgre Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Uncompahgre Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list