We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shhhh....don't tell everyone how good it is” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monarch Mountain

Monarch Mountain
#1 Powder Place, Monarch, CO 81227
888-996-7669; 719-539-3573
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Attractions in Monarch
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Snowboarding, Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monarch Mountain, located in South Central Colorado, is what you expect from a real Colorado ski area.Abundant natural snow (350+ inches) and friendly people are two of our strongest attributes. You can walk from your car right to the lifts, prices are reasonable, and the runs flow naturally back to the base area. At Monarch you’ll lose the crowds but not your friends.We have been improving the skiing and riding experience by adding backcountry terrain in Mirkwood Basin for the advanced and putting in two conveyor lifts for our less experienced guests. We are not about Real Estate developments and shopping villages at Monarch. You won’t find time share salesmen in the base area, but you will find friendly employees wanting to share our mountain with you. The only “bling-bling” you’ll see at Monarch is from beaming smiles.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Panama City, Florida
Top Contributor
804 reviews 804 reviews
259 attraction reviews
Reviews in 362 cities Reviews in 362 cities
326 helpful votes 326 helpful votes
“Shhhh....don't tell everyone how good it is”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a fantastic, smaller ski resort that delivers big time fun. Every time I have been here we got dumped on with fresh powder. It is "tucked away" in a less traveled part of Colorado but that adds to the charm and limits the crowds. It is definitely a locals’ type vibe here and the resort runs like a mom-and-pop operation: friendly. We drove from Colorado Springs just because of the wonderful experiences we've had here. I also like that their prices aren't prohibitively expensive for a group or family. Check out their website before buying lift tickets because they offer a multitude of various discounts.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    17
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Family Ski Resort with an awesome staff and great runs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was a great find. Being that it is a "GEMS" resort, it is a smaller resort where the locals go. Our family of 4 ( kids 8, 9 ) had our very first ever lesson. Tony Martinez was our assigned instructor and he was great. He was very knowledgeable and most of all patient and offered plenty of encouragement. He had us on the lifts and skiing the green runs within 2.5 hours. Since we went in April, the last week the resort was open there were no waits on the lifts at all. It almost felt like we had the place to ourselves, even on the weekend. The staff ( and local skiers ) were very friendly and helpful. The rental prices are fair and the lift tickets much more affordable than the tourist ski resorts like Vail, Aspen, Breckenridge, ect.... We were fortunate to have snow on our trip and the skiing was great. Lodging can be found on HWY 50, but mostly in Salida. I would definitely recommend this resort to all, but especially for beginners.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE LOVE for the first time skier.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I just loved this mountain. I had never skied before and I was so thankful for the fact that there wasn't a million people there like some of the more popular, touristy mountains like Vail or Breck. The powder can't be beat and the staff was so so so helpful and pleasant. I had ZERO complaints about my time spent at Monarch. Everything from the drive out there from Salida, to the breathtaking lift views...was so beautiful. Can't wait to get back there!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Family friendly ski area in Colorado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been skiing at Monarch ski area for 5 years now, purchasing the season pass each year as well. They have the friendliest "lifties" and keep the slopes in great shape. It's not a mega resort, gets @ 280-350" of fresh snow every year - nothing artificial about this place and these are the reasons we love it! Parking is free and close up in a paved lot. There is a great lunch room for skiers that want to bring their own lunch. There are even plugs scattered around for those who want to bring a crock pot to heat up some soup or chili while skiing. There is also a full-service cafeteria for those who don't bring their own food. The slopes have a good mix of green, blue and blacks for all levels of skiers. We've been bringing our grandsons here since they were 3 and they love it here as well. Just wish they had a better children's ski program for younger children - that's the only improvement that I can suggest! Otherwise, Monarch is perfect!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great mountain for groups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our church group has enjoyed Monarch Mountain for many years now. We head up there each Presidents Day weekend for three days of fun in the snow. The group sales folks are awesome to deal with and have always taken great care of our group. Their mountain is a great mix of greens, blues and blacks. Fun for all abilities.

This year we were particularly excited to experience the recent expansion of the lodge. Lots of great and useful space for the public to eat and relax.

We can't wait to go back in 2014.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monarch Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Monarch Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monarch Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.