We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing, friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minturn Inn

Minturn Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Minturn Inn to your Saves list
Minturn Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   442 Main St., Minturn, CO 81645   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Minturn B&B and Inns
texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing, friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

We loved the inn with its homey atmosphere, and the sound of the rushing river right outside the door was "music to sleep by." The innkeeper was friendly and prepared a hearty breakfast for us earlier than the other guests, as we had to leave earlier than most.
The carpet in the room was somewhat diry, but overall the inn was excellent. The fireplace (gas) in the room had a small pre-set flame, but it still lended a very cozy feeling to our cool summer evening stay. The homes surrounding the inn were a bit rundown and detracted from the ambience.

  • Liked — rushing river outside the door
  • Disliked — run down homes surrounding the inn
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    13
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
31
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NE England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

Enjoyed a wonderful trip to the Minturn Inn. Started off with a standard room with no river view - but it was a lovely room with great ambience. We were upgraded to a superior riverfront room when my husband accidentally broke a washer on a bathroom tap!

The new room was even better, of course, with a giant bed, impressive fireplace, whirlpool bath and a great deal of space. Breakfast was also good with waffles, bacon and fruit plus as much tea, coffee or juice as you could drink. Also, a very warm welcome from the duty manager.

In short - a good alternative to Vail as road trip stop-over. We can also recommend the Saloon for Mexican food and fabulous Margaritas - located a short walk down into the town. Although Minturn is reasonably quiet, it does have a certain charm as well as a stunning mountainside setting. There are also several other decent eating choices - not upscale but good grub. The town felt very relaxing for a short break option.

One word of advice - ring between 8am-5pm for bookings as the staff do not work at the inn later at night. We had to try several times before we realised...

I simply cannot understand the one poor review from two years ago on Trip Advisor as nothing in that review rang any bells!

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

Clean, Neat Room and Inn. Stayed in the Lionshead room and enjoyed the comfortable bed, nice gas fireplaces, jacuzzi tub that really helped after long days of skiing powder, Great views of wildlife off our snow covered deck and the creek. The only negative of this room was the overheating of it. We opened the window the entire time we were there (in January!) because it was so warm, and that was w/out using the fireplace. But that worked just fine to get the room to a comfortable temp.

Basic Hot Breakfast and great coffee each morning, Nice Apres ski w/ wine and cheese every afternoon. Enjoyed talking to the owners and the guests were all very nice as well. The price was average for the area, or just below at $280 for the room (which was a nicer one that they have) and breakfast was included as well as several other amenities we never actually used. (ie: snowshoes, sauna)

The town of Minturn is a great quiet place that makes skiing Vail and Beaver Creek easy and from this inn you can walk to many great resteraunts and walk home enjoying the snowflakes!

  • Liked — Overall Comfort!
  • Disliked — The room was TOO HOT! (but could be remedied)
  • Stayed January 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2007

DH and I stayed here on a Saturday night in the Crosscreek Room in the main lodge. In high season, that room's about $100 cheaper than the river rooms, and for good reason. While it is decorated nicely and has a TV, shower and L'Occitane toiletries, the room is TEENY TINY. Reminds us of London's cheaper hotels. We don't care about having a lot of space though. What really matters - getting a good night's sleep and having a great breakfast - is where the inn fell a bit short. The queen bed was very bouncy, which woke one up whenever the other moved. Plus, the room is right over the street and you can hear every single engine that passes. Also, we awoke to the sounds of the kitchen conversation - I could hear almost every word. I need quiet to sleep, and this was not ideal. Plus, we couldn't find a thermostat and had to crack open a window at 3 a.m. Breakfast wasn't bad, just very basic considering the price of the rooms (sweet rolls would be a good addition). All in all, slightly disappointing. It looks like the river rooms are a completely different experience, though, so consider this a warning for the lodge rooms. Got earplugs?

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilton, CT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2006

Stayed in a "premium" room for about $250 a night. It was so small that there was nothing in the room but a bed and a night stand and a monstrously large fireplace. No room for my luggage, no place for my clothing and gear. (The notion that this room could accomodate a couple is ludicrous). The place is clean and nicely decorated and located in the delightful village of Minturn, but the staff is remote and untrained, particulary with regard to food preparation. Their motto could well be "we serve nothing but the worst our country has to offer." The owners themselves were not in evidence during my two night stay. If you like your scrambled eggs scorched to the bottom of a pan with dusty dry and cheap white bread and some inferior slices of unripe fruit for breakfast then you will love this place. Should you ask for a fried egg instead you may be told, as I was, that the cook doesn't know how to make them. If this is your definition of a fine B&B then the next day's french toast, a dry inedible slab of dead bread, washed down with some of their unbelievably awful coffee will make you equally as happy as the burnt eggs. In my opinion these folks have no business calling their inn a B&B, it's a disgrace and a rip-off. I did write directly to the inn-keeper expressing my dissatisfaction, but consistent with their warm style, they have never made a reply.

Stayed February 2006, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2006

For my wonderful husband's birthday, I searched the internet for HOURS looking for a perfect place to take him. The Minturn Inn, specifically the River Lodge rooms, did not disappoint. This place is absolutely gorgeous! The location is so awesome, along the river, in this quaint little mountain town. We slept with our balcony door open to hear the sound of the rushing water, and left our fireplace on to keep us cozy. The whirlpool tub was wonderful, with plenty of room for 2. The bedding is super plush and comfy. Earin cooked us basic, but very tasty breakfast each morning, and we made some great friends. I also had a relaxing massage, and there is a massage room right in the building, so that was really nice. There are some nice, local-flavor restaurants in Minturn, and plenty of places within a short drive in the Vail Valley area if you want to eat in a nicer place. We really liked The Saloon bar and restaurant in Minturn. It even snowed for us, right on cue! Overall, I absolutely LOVED our time there, and my husband felt so special that he had such a wonderful birthday get-a-way. TOTALLY RECOMMEND!!!

  • Liked — Beautiful room.
  • Disliked — Hard to reach on the phone.
  • Tips/Secrets — GO!!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2006

My husband and I stayed in the Missouri Lakes room, which is in the building across the alley and looks right out onto the Eagle River, for a week in July 2006. The room was clean and very quiet, and the rushing waters of the river is a wonderful sound. The room has a separate shower and 2 person jetted tub which we put to good use after our busy days.

The innkeeping staff was very friendly and helpful about different sites to see in Vail and surrounding areas. We feel this B&B is centrally located; Vail is about 5 miles away, and Breckenridge, Keystone and Copper Mountain are about 30 minutes.

Breakfast wasn't very creative but it was plentiful and good.

This B&B is a keeper!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay in a room that overlooks the Eagle River
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minturn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minturn Inn

Address: 442 Main St., Minturn, CO 81645
Location: United States > Colorado > Minturn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Minturn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Minturn Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Vail and Beaver Creek the Minturn Inn is a charming bed and breakfast. Come enjoy a stay with us as cozy as your own home.Enjoy your mountain retreat in a completely refurbished 1915 hewn log home on the town's historic Main Street or stay in our elegant River Lodge located just behind the Inn on the banks of the Eagle River.Originally constructed in 1915 as a residence for the McBreens, a railroad family, the Minturn Inn is one of the oldest buildings in town. In 1995 we renovated the home into a charming nine-bedroom bed and breakfast with full modern conveniences. Our distinctive accommodations feature hand-crafted log beds adorned with cozy down comforters and quilts, hewn log walls, antler chandeliers, river rock fireplaces and many other memorable touches ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Minturn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minturn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.