We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find, wonderful stay, will be back soon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minturn Inn

Save Saved
You added Minturn Inn to your Saves list
Minturn Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Minturn Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   442 Main St., Minturn, CO 81645   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Minturn B&B and Inns
Lafayette, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great find, wonderful stay, will be back soon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Minturn Inn one night while skiing at Beaver Creek and Vail. The location was perfect for skiing either of these resorts, and you easily could make it to Breck or Keystone within 30-45 minutes. The inn is comfortable and inviting, with many different sized rooms to meet your budget and needs. We were upgraded to a bigger room to accommodate the need for a couple single travelers (we booked one of the smaller rooms as we figured we were just sleeping there one night). We stayed in the Camp Hale room, which had rustic log furniture & a skiing/antler theme (the only reason I didn't rate the Inn higher was the mattress was a few years passed its prime, but not a deal breaker...I'm just an extremely-firm mattress kind of guy).

The bathroom had a shower and a separate jetted tub (ample hot water, good water pressure, complimentary soap & shampoo products)...the room had a lovely gas fireplace with a stone hearth, and digital cable. The room was pretty quiet, aside from minor neighborhood noises which were no worse than my suburban neighborhood.

Breakfast was outstanding (7:30am - 10:30am, coffee available starting at 7am)! Great coffee, eggs to order, bacon, toast, local homemade jam, & fresh melon. If you are expected a standard hotel room, this is not the place for you. If you are expecting a cozy, comfortable room where you can relax and not feel like the 34th person that checked in, stay here! The Minturn Inn is a great value in what seems like an endless quest in Summit & Vail Counties to extract every last dollar from your wallet ($25 parking at Vail, for example).

We will be back the next time we are skiing (or fishing, or hiking, or ...)! We didn't really explore Minturn, but now that I know what is there I'll be sure to add in some time to check out the local color.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    12
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed a few nights at the Minturn Inn, just prior to the 4th of July 2012. This was a quiet, serene inn and scrupulously clean. The breakfast was fantastic as well. The manager made sure we were comfortable. This is a nice niche to stay just outside of vail. We were 10 minutes from Mt Holy Cross where we hiked for one day and 15 minutes from vail where we rode the gondola and hiked up on the mountain. This inn is within walking distance of a great BBQ place. I would not recommend the steak place on the corner, cook it your way meat on the grill. Very pricey and the meat was not that great.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique in design. The inn has a comfy cozy feeling to it. The rooms with the private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Minturn Inn is a nice getaway for anyone looking for a rustic feel. The Eagle River is charming and it creates the tranquil atmosphere for your stay at the inn. We stayed in the Half Moon Pass room which did not face the river. The room was very large and nicely decorated. Our experience was that the neighborhood was noisy (the noise from guests' arrivals and departures, dogs barking and traffic noise). So if we would return for a stay at the Minturn Inn, we will want to reserve a room that overlooks the Eagle River. The breakfast was average and we expected more options. The innkeeper, Earin was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Inattentive and uncaring service, mediocre food. No decent food for miles in a depressing, little town. Nice but overpriced rooms by the river ( which is off limits!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minturninn1, Manager at Minturn Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We are truly very sorry your experience at the Minturn Inn was not exceptional. The guest experience is the most important thing we value at the inn and are very disappointed yours was not the best. We would love to make this up to you anyway we can. Please contact us at 1-800-MINTURN and speak with Earin our manager. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, Ca.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Minturn Inn is a welcome alternative to the high priced hotels and motels in Vail, CO! It is about 1/3 the cost and you get a great breakfast! It's right in the middle of Minturn so everything is within walking distance, including the cute, local coffee shop with great homemade cinnamon rolls, and Holy Toledo, the upscale consignment shop is right across the street. (People drive over from Vail to come here!) There are acouple of bars and restaurants to relax at after a day of skiing too! Minturn is about 5 minutes from the Vail Resort in Colorado so is an easy trip to go skiing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We have twice stayed in the back building with a balcony overlooking the eagle river. the rooms are spacious, welcoming, comfortable. The public spaces are very large and restful. Breakfast is customized and the innkeepers a delight with whom to spend time. The town has many good places to eat and you are in the middle of a valley with lots of options for recreation and entertainment. We will be back.

Room Tip: rooms in the rear building on the water are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, az
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Having lived in the Vail Valley for over 11 years, my husband and I still love to ski Vail, but don't want to pay 300-400. per night.
We stayed here recently and just loved it. We would highly recommend it if you don't mind being about 10 minutes avay from Vail proper by car.
If you're dining out I would definitely drive to your destination because the Minturn Country Club (cook your own steaks) was way expensive and The Saloon's food was a huge disappointment.

Room Tip: Spend a little more to get the best rooms on top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Minturn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minturn Inn

Address: 442 Main St., Minturn, CO 81645
Location: United States > Colorado > Minturn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Minturn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Minturn Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Vail and Beaver Creek the Minturn Inn is a charming bed and breakfast. Come enjoy a stay with us as cozy as your own home.Enjoy your mountain retreat in a completely refurbished 1915 hewn log home on the town's historic Main Street or stay in our elegant River Lodge located just behind the Inn on the banks of the Eagle River.Originally constructed in 1915 as a residence for the McBreens, a railroad family, the Minturn Inn is one of the oldest buildings in town. In 1995 we renovated the home into a charming nine-bedroom bed and breakfast with full modern conveniences. Our distinctive accommodations feature hand-crafted log beds adorned with cozy down comforters and quilts, hewn log walls, antler chandeliers, river rock fireplaces and many other memorable touches ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Minturn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minturn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.