We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hunting experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ripple Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meeker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ripple Creek Lodge
Save
You added Ripple Creek Lodge to your Saves list
39020 County Road 8, Meeker, CO 81641   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hunting experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Took my first elk hunt out of Ripple Creek lodge this fall. It was a great experience and I highly recommend this outfitter. Of note, if you decide to give it a try, it is a really demanding experience. If you aren't prepared to be on a horse for two hours a day in the dark going up and down a mountain and being at close to 10k feet altitude you're going to have it rough. Be in shape or it will hurt. Any bad reviews are people that just aren't prepared for what this is all about. But the cabins are warm, they have hot showers, and they staff makes sure you're fed and comfortable. It's a bit no frills but everyone is friendly and works hard. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I've lived in Colorado my whole life and I've been just about everywhere in this state above 6,000 feet, via road, backcountry trail or water. Places like Ripple Creek Lodge and it's solitary location are tough to find these days. So when I say that I've been visiting Ripple Creek Lodge on a consistent basis for the past 15 years there's probably a good reason. The owners, Dan and Kerri, are truly good people with great attitudes. And they bust their butts to make your trip/stay the best it can possibly be. The lodge and cabins have some serious history to them, they were there long before your parents were born. It's a rustic place in a rustic setting (however, Dan and Kerri have made a lot of significant improvements to the cabins over the last couple years: great upgrades to the bathrooms/showers and HVAC systems as well as interior cabin remodeling). I'll just be honest, the main reason I come here is because there are literally HUNDREDS of rivers, streams or lakes within a short drive, hike or stumble from the lodge. And they're all loaded with healthy hungry above average size trout ready to be had on the fly rod. And for the most part, there's nobody else around. If you don't fly fish, you can hike your [--] off, or if you don't hike, you can hop on one Ripple Creeek Lodge's many horses and go for a trail ride (I recommend saddling up with Debbie if she happens to be there that week - BOBBY!). Or drive ten minutes up to Trappers Lake and take Ripple Creek Lodge's canoe out for a day of awesomeness in one of the most amazing panoramas you'll ever see, seriously. And you won't find the magnitude and diversity of wild flowers anywhere else in CO. Oh, and there's more darn wildlife up there than anywhere you've been before - too bad I'm not a hunter - because they've got the largest elk herd in the state up there. I ran into two bears on the river this year, and they were both very friendly. Friendlier than the moose at least. Anyway, I highly recommend getting up there asap for one heck of a good time. All you need is a good attitude and an enjoyment of the outdoors. And most importantly, remember.........CATCH AND RELEASE!!!

Cheers!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My family, friends and I have wanted to visit Ripple Creek Lodge for 4 years and we finally made it. Now, we ALL want this to be an annual trip. We LOVED the location, site, cabins, food, horseback riding, fishing and hospitality. Dan and his crew (Bob, Cody and Ivy) were top notch; extremely friendly and attentive. They mingled with our group during the day, while meals were cooking, during dinner and after dinner as if we all had known each other for years. The food was AMAZING and we really enjoyed that much of the food is cooked out on the open fire. Dan's homemade nachos will leave us shy of restaurant versions from here on out. I would recommend Ripple Creek Lodge to anyone and everyone. Thanks Dan and crew for an incredible trip and we look forward to seeing you next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was our first time visiting (2 nights 3 days stay) and it sure WON’T be the last. Ripple Creek is surrounded by the Flat Tops, rolling hills with tons of amazing wild flowers and country side that most won’t ever get to experience. If you are an outdoor lover looking for a place that sure has a ton of history (cabins built in the 1930s)… this must be a sure stop and stay! The owner Dan, his ranch hands Bob, Cody and Ivy are so genuinely nice, respectful and make sure you are taken care off. We visited in Aug of 2013. They all told us where the great fishing holes were, what to see, some great hikes, and even where the great hunts are during hunting season.
The cabins were built in the 30’s and have had some modern upgrades that make these cabins cute, but still rustic so you still get the feel of camping. **You can’t even drive by this place and not stop to take a picture of the stump and place where of the FAMOUS 2012 U.S. Capitol Christmas Tree came from. What an honor!!!! **
The FOOD- you know how food seems to taste good when you are camping. Well this place… the food was AMAZING! The first night, prepared by the owner Dan, we had the BEST homemade tortilla chips, salsa for an app to get our appetite rolling. (Not sure I’ll ever want to eat store bought chips after having these). Dinner we had BBQ beef brisket, beans, sliced crispy potato chip wedges (cooked on the open fire pit outside- these were so good!) and HOMEMADE vanilla ice cream with strawberries and chocolate syrup. Breakfast the next morning eggs to order, sausage and English muffins. Juice and coffee! We spent the lunches out fishing. The second night, again cooked on the open fire pit in a black cast iron pot that’s been on the property for 20 years… we had jalapeno poppers, the best fried chicken, made from scratch- mashed potatoes, homemade gravy, and desert…. Peach cobbler!!! Breakfast the day we left was biscuits and gravy and eggs to order!!! DOWN RIGHT GOOD COOKING MEALS!
The daily visit by a little fox was awesome. The stories they all told of wildlife, hunts, fishing were neat to sit around the campfire and listen too. We even got to see shooting stars!
Our group of 8 went horseback riding while we were there. Hands down some of the best views and fun! These horses are hard workers going up and down the rocky hills. Bob was our guide and he sure guided us through some amazing rolling hills that you would be sad if you missed seeing. The Flat Tops are gorgeous. The owner Dan even came with us!!! My fiance, our friends and their kid and his girlfriend sure had a weekend to remember (Age group from 40s, 30s, even 19- we all loved it here!). We WILL be back and look forward to even more memories at Ripple Creek Lodge and the amazing hospitality the Owner Dan has to give!

Room Tip: All cabins are clean, cozy and warm! All of them are great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My dad and I went on the Flat Top 40 trip--40+miles of horseback riding, 3 nights camping, and fishing. It was a gorgeous ride and we had a blast. Definitely have experience riding or be comfortable around horses, the ride covered all of the terrain you would expect in the back country of Colorado. Food at the lodge and at the camps was very tastey and filling. The guides were great helping us along the trails and at camp. We weren't able to fish as much as we originally wanted because the weather wasn't cooperating but still got to see plenty of other wildlife--elk, deer, marmots, and we could also hear the howling coyotes.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

If you want a spa and the tinkling of crystal glasses in the lobby don't come here. But if you want a real Colorado experience, you'll love it. Rustic cabins, hearty meals cooked outside and a pleasing host, you will find it here. This is in a beautiful setting and the wranglers will take you where and when you want to ride. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

1st Rifle Season for Elk 2012 (10/12-10/17/2012); GMU 24 with Ripple Creek Lodge Outfitters
2012: 1 elk (3x5 bull) taken during 1st rifle season by all clients (~15 guided hunters in cabins and ~15 hunters over 5 drop camps). Zero guided hunters were successful – that 1 elk was taken out of a drop camp. That’s 1 successful hunter out of ~30 for 3.33% success rate for this outfitter. The success rate for Colorado generally (outfitters & DIY) is 1/7 (14%).
2011: Outfitter reported 100% success by day 3 of 1st rifle season for elk (~70% bulls).
The Hunt:
In late-2011 and mid-2012, I spoke with the owner about guide experience & knowledge. I was told the guides were all “guys I’ve hunted with for years” and they had significant elk hunting experience. Of the 4 guides in camp, 3 were 19-23 years old with ZERO big game hunting experience. Only 1 was an experienced elk hunter and he was assigned to another group.
There were simply no elk in the area. Review the CPW unit maps to see that this eastern end of GMU 24 is not in a summer/winter/migration area.
We had some blinds, but also spent a lot of time under trees, etc. The young guides spent significant time building blinds in the weeks just prior to the season (too recent?). When I did hike/hunt around, I very quickly would bump into other hunters from the same outfitter. And on the first two weekend days, there were many DIY hunters around.
On the eve of day 1, the staff were already encouraging us to shoot cows. I know of only one hunter who actually passed on a cow shot. The staff stated they had about 6 trail cameras which sounded inadequate for the area to me. But the two we picked up on day 4 hadn’t been checked in 2 weeks so having more wouldn’t help if they weren’t being checked regularly.
We were often less than a few hundred yards from our horses and could hear them nay/whinny often. We were able to move over to the next ridge to the west for a couple days, but it was probably too close to CR8 (could hear music/talking). The guide’s lack of experience showed in some of his hunter placements (allowing shots only up to ~25 yds). There were only a few areas where a shot up to about 300 yds was likely to present itself.
3 times throughout the week, our guide left for 6-7 hour periods for various tasks (e.g. packing out one elk due to their side game-packing business, and checking on drop camps). This would be most fairly called a semi-guided hunt, not fully guided. It was a good thing only one elk was taken by a RCL hunter or the guide would have been taken away more often and the shortage of horses more prevalent. The outfitter told us that any elk down after 2pm would stay on the mountain overnight.
While the staff told us that starting in September, ATV/UTV use was disallowed even outside of the wilderness area – that turned out to not be the case. ATV/UTV use was prevalent to the north of CR 8 and hunter success also was better over there. But if you want the classic elk hunt on horseback, you have to stay to the south of CR 8 in the federal wilderness area.
Food was very good overall. Typical high calorie and high fat hunter fare – AYCE of course. Breakfast included granola each AM as the only lighter/healthy option. Some might have also wanted a fresh fruit option. Sack lunch was always the same: 2 deli meat sandwiches (literally 1 medium slice of meat and 1 cheese), 1 bar, 1 chips & 1 bottle water. The owner did much of the cooking himself (with another young cook) as he stays at the lodge mostly to run the multiple lines of business (guided hunts, drop camps & game packing).
The trails are steep and have been wet and sloppy all 6 times I’ve ridden up & down. I found it fun & challenging, but I would not take my young children on those trails under wet conditions for a first horse ride. The horses are the typical trail horses that don’t mind well due to so many novice riders. But with some work over a few days, one could at least get a horse to steer & whoa appropriately as well as avoid eating while a rider is on top (if consistently disciplined). Two of the four horses we experienced were less than ideal. One had a significant limp and was very old & slow. He was then replaced by a very unsteady (& slow) horse whose feet would slip out 6-12 inches to the side on the snow & ice. Both riders who rode him said it was nerve-wracking. But on a dry trail, he would be fine. Overall, the camp suffered from a lack of horses – twice, our horses had to be taken down the hill to be used for other tasks and we were left on the hill without horse or guide. The guide did check with us to ensure we had fire making material – which is both reassuring (as this is something he should want to know), but also disconcerting (as you’re being left alone on the mountain). On day 5 of 1st rifle season, the outfitter did have two more rented horses delivered.
The cabin was very small & spartan– exactly what I would expect from the wilderness hunt I booked. Our cabin even had a resident squirrel who was able to raid food left on the counter due to an addition to the cabin. I was fine with that, as well as the one field mouse that was spotted. Of course, our wives would not have been. Just don’t bring any prima donnas to these cabins. No gas cook top for a coffee percolator. Either bring an AC coffee maker or run to the cabin for AM coffee.
There were multiple returning client groups from Tennessee who spoke very positively of past experiences.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ripple Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripple Creek Lodge

Address: 39020 County Road 8, Meeker, CO 81641
Location: United States > Colorado > Meeker
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Meeker
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located deep in the heart of the White River National Forestat the steps of the Flat Tops Wilderness is Ripple Creek Lodge offering historic cabins, trail rides, guided hunting and fishing adventures ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ripple Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.